Proton wins Malaysian 1.6 Touring Car Championship

Proton clinched the 1.6 Touring Car Category in the 2011 Malaysian Super Series Championship (MSS) over the weekend – Faidzil Alang drove a textbook race in the fifth and final round of the season at the Sepang International Circuit to take the coveted title behind the wheel of a Satria Neo.

His team mate, Syafiq Ali, in a Gen 2, sealed a Proton 1-2 in the 10-lap race as well as the championship, with the two drivers concluding what has been a dominant performance all year long.

“The results today conclude what has been a triumphant year for Proton in motorsports, particularly for the Satria Neo that has excelled in both circuit racing and international rallying,” said Proton Director of Group Marketing and Branding, John Doody Chacko.

“We’ve done very well in the Asia Pacific Rally Championship, winning all the eight major individual titles. We are now we focusing on our R3 Racing team and after completing all five rounds of the MSS, we are now in our final phase of preparation for the Sepang 1000 km or S1K next week, with most of the development work completed,” Proton Motorsports boss Datuk Abdul Razak Dawood added.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• are they really that good? or there is nobody joining this championship?

• sam4129 on Nov 28, 2011 at 1:04 pm

yes absolutely agree, i hope future much more car participate.. i like the gen 2 more but neo really fast! =]

• Rahman Hashim on Nov 28, 2011 at 1:49 pm

Agree, Neo is more agile and sharper than Gen2! Both have their advantages!

• Nissan on Nov 28, 2011 at 4:51 pm

waja vs Neo vs wira vs saga….surely NEO is the winner. Good job!

• NeoBest! on Nov 28, 2011 at 12:20 pm

Hebat ! Sapu habis semua title ! Proton Neo memang hebat champion again ! Tentu respect for Proton akan naik ke langit !

• LOL..satria neo terbaik! gogo proton!

• NeoBest! on Nov 29, 2011 at 1:47 pm

Ini very obvious Proton Neo memang hebat ! All the haters are just jealous..aku faham, kekalahan memang susah diterima tapi Proton Neo is too hot to handle people just face the fact Proton Neo is the champion …. again !

• Maccroman on Nov 28, 2011 at 12:29 pm

Adaa, Haha, I second that. Straight that there was no mention of which car model, driver they are competing with. Before I get flam, I drive a satria neo 1.6 non cps.

• Rahman Hashim on Nov 28, 2011 at 12:37 pm

IMHO they are not the best but they are good.! You should read earlier articles by PT or you are just du.mb.a.ss. For people like you who know to drive only in autogear let alone the terms “heel and toe “or “double clutching” youre missing the boat. What a bad smell f.a.rt you made.

Proton may not be good at par with Toyota in term of interior quality nor engine like fuel saving and the robustness or reliability of Toyota engine but Proton Neo Standard 1.6 and Gen2 Standard will make the Toyota Vios 1.5 “makan asap” if you are engaging in performance driving.

Now we are talikng about racing rallies where Proton triumph over major international establishbrand. Read below from article by PTan:-

Proton celebrates APRC title clean sweep, we’re told to expect a special edition “yellow” Satria Neo soon!
    November 16, 2011 at 7:43 pm By Danny Tan Filed Under Cars, Malaysian Makes, Motorsports, Proton, Proton Satria Neo

They’re not a football team, so no open top bus parade around the city, but Proton proudly paraded their multiple trophies gained from this season’s FIA Asia Pacific Rally Championship (APRC). The six-leg championship ended in China earlier this month, where Alister McRae won the rally to clinch the Driver’s title from teammate Chris Atkinson.

That title was one of eight titles won by Proton in this season’s APRC – a clean sweep underlining total domination. The eight titles are the Overall FIA APRC Manufacturer’s title, FIA APRC Driver’s title, FIA APRC Teams Trophy, FIA Asia Cup Driver’s title and the FIA Pacific Cup Driver’s title. Those were won by the Satria Neo S2000s.

Proton’s Group N 1600cc 2WD Satria Neos won the Manufacturer’s title in the FIA APRC Rally Cup (2WD category), the FIA APRC Rally Cup Driver’s title and the FIA APRC Junior Cup Driver’s title. Karamjit SIngh, driving the Cusco prepared Neo, won all five events he entered in 2011.

By the way, this is Proton’s first APRC win after seven years, their previous three wins coming in 2001, 2002 and 2004. Proton returned for a full season last year, finishing second in the Manufacturer’s standings.

Now after reading go drive your papa and mama autogear car!

• jay8393 on Nov 28, 2011 at 12:48 pm

Well said sir!

• macroman on Nov 28, 2011 at 1:11 pm

Waaa pak, emosi bgt. Relek bro, just asking. Why u behind this team ah? Waaa heel toe wooooo dun play play. Just asking ma why so emosi nih kalo mmg hebat kann? Cool cool. Its just strange no details on the commpetition maa ho… Got website tht list other drivers and cars its competing against? Am blur on this competition yea, just wanna learn more, dun la so defensive beb…

• fcukproton on Nov 28, 2011 at 1:14 pm

what an idiot! who fcukin drives a car on civilian road for performance u dumbass! the way u describe toyota is the fcukin way a normal road using car should be. whts the use of havin tin milo performance? proton, decreasing the number of road user by death since 1983.

• James May on Nov 28, 2011 at 1:20 pm

DUDE, you sound like those people who write in to Top Gear and ask Jeremy Clarkson to review jap cars with 0 performance.

I CAN’T WAIT for Jeremy Clarkson to troll people like you.

• fcukproton on Nov 28, 2011 at 1:27 pm

fine not a jap car then. i got aggravated when the guy started talking about performance. why be in denial that proton has performance? i know they r trying but y go and bash other auto companies?

• Wiseman on Nov 28, 2011 at 1:26 pm

wey fcukproton…mana ada proton tin milo dah..i pakai neo , pernah honda langgar i terbuka bumper dia..apa cita? n most of them can buy proton sbb tu la banyak eksiden? stupid basher!!!

• Lu langgar org lagi eksen jadi hero ingat kuat head to head langgar kalau berani? Ah Beng satria berlagak men bahayakan jalan!

• baca betul betul, jgn la langsi sgt, honda langgar dia, bukan dia langgar honda tue, stupid mentality of a basher. read carefully next time, so that people dont judge you have very limited thinking capability my friend.

• bobdbilder on Nov 28, 2011 at 5:36 pm

I do. I drive for performance. Some people I know has brought it to 140 whp. It’s a passion for most of us who do buy Neos. When I drive and see R3 stickers be it from a Saga to an Exora, I smile.

To many of us who own a Neo, its an affordable car to buy, live with and modify. And there is an abundance of tuning shops that cater to us. Small outfits that’s run niche business and who in turn contribute to local motorsports.

Its not just a car, its an industry on its own. How many new cars now can claim to be that?

• lol, butthurt to the max.

but you still havent answer my question.

can you answer my question??

are they really that good? or there is nobody joining this championship?

what other teams joined? got civic ek9? eg6? got other car? like…myvi? swift?

lol. butthurt, sakit!!!!!!!

• That is why so many ah Beng drive in city pretend champion neo langgar lah lorry sampai mati bahayakan nyawa org lain.

• thebosssedangbercakap on Nov 28, 2011 at 5:23 pm

am driving an auto and proud of it. =) city boy here not kampung. more traffic.

• kebodohan manusial on Nov 28, 2011 at 11:32 pm

FYI, APRC is just a tier 3 rally event. there 10 other tier 3 rally event under FIA.

Now look elsewhere Proton is advertise their winning of APRC just like winning the WRC or Car of the year Award.

• mizzuddin945 on Nov 29, 2011 at 12:13 pm

we give credits where deserved… and we critics for sake of improvement…

we don’t simply bash and generalize everything… we don’t jump to any conclusion as we are not in the same shoe…

the way we talks and the point we bring up do reflects

• alfie60 on Nov 28, 2011 at 1:26 pm

Menang Brighton award,menang Rally award,menang Touring championship,menang malaysian Book of record for fuel,menang Frost & Sullivan award tapi company untung $5 million aje dan sale of kereta only laku in Malaysia!!!

Either all these award are useless or people living outside Malaysia dont believe this shitty hype by this SKU(syarikat kurang upaya) statement.

• taboogena on Nov 28, 2011 at 1:38 pm

what ever you say…. i’ve got my bonus this month…. no other company give early bonus to their staff…… hahaha

• autojohndoe on Nov 28, 2011 at 2:01 pm

hehe… shitty again…

• sukasuki on Nov 28, 2011 at 3:26 pm

to alfie60

orang cakap, jika seseorg itu x bersyukur, Tuhan akan tutup pintu rezeki dia.

so it really suits u.

no wonder u never satisfy with whatever u have.

• thebosssedangbercakap on Nov 28, 2011 at 5:24 pm

well said.

• they are big boys now, ok la, lets get altis to sell at rm60000, and get vios to sell at saga price, and get city to sell at satria neo price, ok? deal?

btw, my inspira 2.0 cvt autogear smokes your rubbish slow satria neo.

what? your satria neo is modified? ok, after i modified my inspira to evox i still smoke you.

so ? shut up.

you think u’re ferrari or subaru? even subaru/mitsu pulled out from rally. you poor company go play rally?

you just make sure your bread and butter saga/persona is good in FC and good in quality enough.

we dont need a rally company that needs EPF support.

EPF, simpanan duit hari TUA anda.

• Savvy4efte on Nov 28, 2011 at 1:54 pm

Yo dawg, who were the competitors?

• Faddd on Nov 28, 2011 at 2:43 pm

Neo MSS, “Y you look so good……..!”

gorgeous gorgeous decals/graphics man……love it so much..!

• DArkerMarker on Nov 28, 2011 at 3:13 pm

how many car joined?
    What are the other make/brand of the car that joined? were they invited. or the race is strictly proton cars only??

If only 5 car race. All are proton……
    Top 3 winners oso proton lor….unless all proton car rosak tepi jalan, cannot fin race.

Can we have the full race result please?
    if wanna bash, please bash with full information at hand, please….

• John Hoo on Nov 28, 2011 at 3:31 pm

Before every Proton fanboy in the country gets all hot under their collars, I’d like to remind everyone that most Malaysian’s gripes with Proton have very little to do with how much performance they can get from their cars.

It’s all to do with how long the damn car will last before falling apart. Great, they won races. In racing, unless it’s to do with a 24 hour enduro, the car only need last for half a day.

In selling a car, it needs to last for years and years without causing significant money lost or downtime (because real people have jobs they need to go to).

• albag on Nov 28, 2011 at 4:38 pm

nothing to cheer about… it’s a MALAYSIAN competition won by a MALAYSIAN CARMAKER… it’s juz self-satisfactory element there…

• Gavin on Nov 28, 2011 at 7:13 pm

Good more encouragment for idiots in neo and gen2 to behave like hooligans turning the roads into race tracks

• wah, civic ek9, eg6, pity malaysian, always talk about old cars. If manufacturers want to race, they will use newer car lor. Unless for ah beng team, not enough money to buy new one,stuck for the old one.
    Yup, if i not mistaken, there r only 6@7 cars enter for the category, and it is all protons but only 2 from r3, others from other racing team club.
    N u must be laughing n stating, oh, thats why they r winning, no competition. No others want to enter, so stop blaming.
    Before u laughing, do a reading n reseach first. Have u ever heard asian max 1600 race where prtn clinch 1-2 title for drivers n won the manufacturer title? It is the same r3 neo but with diff body colour. They competing with toyota vios, toyota yaris, honda city, honda jazz, suzuki swift, pug 207 n etc. And they r competing not with malaysian drivers, but asean drivers who represent toyota, honda, suzuki,pug n etc.
    If u mention they r winning becoz no competition in mss, they already proved that before they can beat others in sepang, thailand n indonesia circuit.
    By the way, did i mention honda send in civic ek9 or eg6, nope coz that already ancient cars. Thats why even in aprc, mitsu not sent their evo 3, but evo 10 instead.
    Haiya malaysian, the power of dream, always dreaming, now we r talking about fd n fn n upcoming civic 2012, u still stuck with ur ek n eg. 3rd class mentality, always left behind.

• Well said, Mat!

• V-power on Nov 29, 2011 at 1:26 pm

Mr. Mat, with due respect…you are labelling a civic EG & EK ‘3rd-class mentality’ and ‘ah-beng’ and bashing other makes…I can safely assume you r a flag-bearing Proton fanboy.

I’ve been to Sepang during an MME event a few years back. At the time they were running a Satria GTi one-make race (1800cc, for those not in the know…). The ‘ancient’ EG’s & EK’s on the other hand were competing in the Super Touring category against 2-liter & above machines (Nissan, Toyota, Mitsubishi, etc.)

I timed both races just to get an indication of their respective timings. And as expected I got an average lap time of between 2min 35 – 40sec for the GTI’s & around 2min 15 – 20sec for the Honda’s. These 1600cc B16A-powered civics are 10 – 15 sec quicker than the 1800cc 4G93 Mitsu-engines (which are also extensively race-prepped mind you).

The 4G93 race engine is capable of producing (170+ bhp) than stock (138 bhp). While a stock Campro CPS can produce 135 bhp, with engine upgrades it can produce only get about 145+ bhp (Satria Neo R3 Lotus Racing – which only 25 units are produced). So while the Campro CPS is a NEWER engine, it’s limited in terms of engine upgrade capability, because Mitsu engine like Honda’s, have decades-long proven reputation, while Campro’s reliability is still unproven because it’s still a NEW product by Proton.

So forgive me if I find myself HIGHLY sceptical about your claims that a 1.6 ‘plain vanilla’ Campro CPS engine can outrace an Integra Type-R 1.8 (if you have ANY proof then I’ll be more than happy to tuck into a humble pie.)

And bear in mind, the R3 is FULLY-FUNDED and extensively prepared by a professional outfit like Proton R3 Motorsport and naturally expect RESULTS. While most of the other competitors (even if they are any other makes in the race) are workshops/independent racers who compete for the thrill of the challenge. It’s not even a level playing field to begin with…

And just because a car is 15 – 20 year old but still capable of winning races, they are sidelined because of some ridiculous rules (which are put in place for the benefit of P1 if rumours are to be believed…). So congratulations to Proton for winning the 1.6 Super Touring category. But then, with notable ‘old-timers’ (Civic EG, EK, CRX…Toyota 4AG/Levins…Mazda B8/BPT…just to name a few) glaringly absent on the track to whup the high & mighty R3’s **s, we now know who’s the one running scared, by putting these silly regulations in place…*tsk*

• V-power on Nov 29, 2011 at 5:45 pm

Sorry, the event I went to in Sepang was the Asian Festival of Speed (AFOS) not M’sian Super Series (MSS) as stated…my bad. Nonetheless, the competition is harder and more intense than the MSS as it features the best teams from all over Asia…

• n mr adaa, if u follow the race, it is actually in mme previously where r3 neo won many times. If i not mistaken is B class, where they have to compete even with 1.8 vtec integra (ur dream car).
    Still remember when they interview tgku djan few years back to comments on the win, he said that there are some are not satisfied with neo r3 winning the race n accuse that neo r3 is using diff engine capacity.
    It seems for me that they r not satisfied with neo r3 1.6 plain vanilla campro can beat their beloved intergra 1.8 big(doch) vtec.
    So, tgku djan only said, that is impossible to change to higher cc block since campro only can receive max 1.6l block only.
    The secret, race not about engine only,its about man n machine.
    By the way, i feel ashame when u even mention myvi enter the race…aiyoo…if abg toyota pun kalah, xkan nk bg malu anto myvi plak, kang byk dnf.
    Swift klh, city klh, jazz klh, yaris klh,vios klh. Dh terbukti dlm asian max 1600. Still dunno why the race is not in the list this year. Are they the T, H, S are scared their A** being kick by a lame n low level brand P(not the other p) coz asian max 1600 is about racing the car that has been on asian road, in 3 circcuit malaysia, thai n indonesia where tyota n honda has a really big fan over there n even factory, scared the result of the race will drop their waterface.

• im not hating toyotas, hondas n suzukis or even nissans, it just that malaysian never accept any winning by our own car company.

• vtec just kick in yo! on Nov 29, 2011 at 11:32 am

hating or not..fiesta fanboy always wanna troll japs & proton yoh!
      honda till i die :D..anyway kudos to proton..cheers~

• If Fiesta join this competition there is no way Proton Neo or even Neo R3 could win.

• u know what r3 team will say if fiesta want to join the race next year? Bring it on. Why not enter this year? Chickening…??? Always if…if…if…dont just talk the talk, walk the walk.
      It doesnt matter, even f1 race winning by prtn, malaysian will said, bolehlah, toyota xda(chickening out by using lame excuse, due to cost,withdraw from f1(eventhough their profit is damn high)but never heard they winning f1 before, just back benchers).
      Malaysian, truly asian, 3rd class mentality. Please change to a better one. Never heard any japanese bashing or bombarding toyota n honda coz never win f1 nowadays but they keep cheering for them, unlike malaysian, when our one team loosing, bash, winning, bash. Stupid brain.

• zzzzzz on Nov 29, 2011 at 11:59 am

sape yg xmampu beli toyota,nissan,honda ckp lebih plak..da proton je mampu die beli pastu xpuas ati lak ckp mcm sal toyota,nissan,honda etc..hahaha typical malaysian excuses

• mr zzzzzz, siapa xmampu???brape jek rega ek n eg tuh?bkn mahal pun. Org lain mampu,tp xperlulah nk ckp. Xkan income dkt 10k xmampu pkai honda,toyota n nissan???bukan xmampu,tp xnak, byk menda lain lg bgs nak invest. Klu bleh beli kete rega 50k, sama jek ngan kete 80k, wat per nak beli, xworth. Len la klu gaji 100k sbulan,xtau nk buang duit kemana.
    Terpulang pada masing2, ikutlah nk beli ape2pun, tp jgn kata org yg pkai prtn xmampu pkai honda toyota@nissan. Ada or pkai beemer,merc, tp ada jek prtn kat umoh.
    Ko tuh br jek bleh pkai kete jepun yg murahpun nk berlagok. Klu kaya ngat pkailah porsche ke,cayyene ke. Stakat kete jepun, civic ke,altis ke,camry ke,accord ke, ingat org laen xmampu beli ke. They choose not to buy.
    Ko nk pkai,pkailah, tp jgn sesedap mulut hina org pkai prtn. Klu kete jek lawo buat aper,umah flat ajek,xgune. Bkn bleh wat harta kete tuh.
    Sorry emo,cume xsuka mentaliti org malaysia camni, btl2 xlulus upsr.

• Aalto on Nov 30, 2011 at 12:35 pm

Semua gaduh mcm ada share dalam company jer….haha…taniah kepada proton team sebab menang MSS, setelah lama ketandusan kemenangan dalam MSS…..tiba2 tahun ni power….agak2nya kenapa selama ni takleh nak menang….huhu