Nissan Juke Nismo Concept – another juke box hero

Click to enlarge.

Nissan’s Nismo performance arm will be unveiling its latest creation in Tokyo – the Juke Nismo is the company’s take on what a premium sports version of the compact crossover would look like.

No, it’s certainly not as radical as the 480 hp Juke-R, but the Nismo version is lower, wider and has a tougher stance than the bog standard Juke, so Nissan says. The dress-it-up bit is achieved with the help of a Nismo body kit, 19-inch alloys and an exterior finished in signature Nismo colours of pearl white with red highlights.

New parts include revised lower bumpers front and rear, wider fenders and sill side skirts, and the grille pattern has been changed while the tailgate spoiler has been modified by the addition of side elements to control airflow more efficiently. The side mirrors have also been reworked on this one.

Click to enlarge.

The Nismo treatment of course extends to the chassis, which has been lowered and stiffened, while the 1.6 litre direct injection turbo gasoline engine has been uprated to deliver more power and performance – no numbers were mentioned though.

Inside, the parts that interact with the driver’s sense of sight, sound, look and feel, such as the steering wheel, pedals, gauges, shifter knob and door trims, have been redesigned to provide greater involvement when driving.

Elsewhere, special leather-trimmed bucket seats have been added, while the tachometer’s dial and needle are illuminated in red. Additionally, previously reflective surfaces have been given a matte treatment, while the centre console gets a metallic coating.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• damn, never though that a juke could look this good!

• Masked Ryder on Nov 29, 2011 at 4:45 pm

Prefer Juke-R this Nismo Juke too Blant !
    I do hope TCM will bring in Dualis rather than this “Weird” Creature, it would end up in a very niche market.
    Current X-Trails is really getting outdated & the sales figure speaks for itself.

• ae101 on Nov 29, 2011 at 5:10 pm

Overall is nice. But still the foggy looks funny though. If ah beng here put 8k hid on all the lights sure front driver cursing kaw kaw with international sign!

• theforgotten911 on Nov 29, 2011 at 5:46 pm

hmm…the juke-r shud have the front bumper similar with this…look better instead of holes in the bumper in the original version…anyway, didn’t expect the juke can be so sporty….

• lazyf on Nov 29, 2011 at 9:30 pm

its not a joke…is a Juke…

• Jimmy on Nov 29, 2011 at 9:48 pm

Juke Malaysia to be priced at RM128 888.

• ThePolygon on Nov 30, 2011 at 9:10 am

Wuu :( The passion is there but the money is not there :(. Guess I can’t afford these things.

• rally_fan on Nov 30, 2011 at 12:04 pm

depending on your perspective of what passion is.. you could spend rm10000-15000 to buy a bmw e30 which still has that classic yuppy chic + lightweight rear-wheel drive fun.. and with another 10k thrown in, you can refurbish, and have some additional performance to go with that, including the ability to hang the tail out in an oversteer drift that you cant do in many a modern car.

now thats passion to me ;)

• Car freak on Jun 21, 2012 at 8:22 pm

How do you know

• catdog on Nov 29, 2011 at 10:29 pm

Overall looks vy nice n sporty…but the front lamp position a bit unusual

• an651 on Nov 30, 2011 at 12:19 am

I never like Juke for its weird look. but after radical move by nismo… feel love like a love song~

• May I kno wer u got the figures from..

• Supertram on Dec 03, 2011 at 3:49 pm

Designer team came out with 2 front designs n decided it good enuf to use both? what a .. Juke!
    lol