ETCM introduces first four Nissan Leaf ambassadors

Edaran Tan Chong Motor (ETCM) recently introduced the first four Nissan Leaf ambassadors who will be driving and living with the electric car for six weeks. They are Daniel Yap, Jason Goh, Yoong Huey Yee and Rizman Harith Merican.

In this “Journey To Zero Emission” program, the ambassadors will share their daily experience with friends and the public via different mediums such as video clips, write-ups as well as feedback to ETCM on the car’s performance in real world local conditions.

“We have received tremendous response for the Journey To Zero Emission program. Selecting the first four ambassadors proved to be a much more difficult task than we initially thought, simply because of the many high quality submissions that we have received. Do not be discouraged if your application was not selected in the first phase. This program is ongoing and do submit your application fast as you may be the next ambassador!” said Datuk Dr Ang Bon Beng, ETCM’s executive director.

Anyway, if you want to check out the battery powered Leaf, head on down to the following locations:

July 26-29 Queensbay Mall, Penang
August 3-5 Mahkota Parade, Malacca
August 10-12 Sunway Pyramid, Petaling Jaya
September 12-16 1 Utama, Petaling Jaya
October 5-7 Alor Setar Mall, Alor Setar
November 7-11 1 Utama, Petaling Jaya
November 23-25 East Coast Mall, Kuantan
December 26-January 1 1 Utama, Petaling Jaya

We’re not as lucky as the ambassadors, so it was a spin around the block rather than six weeks. Click here for our first impressions.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• nazri on Jul 17, 2012 at 3:17 pm

i thought the ambassadors are celebrities

• Sirimusa on Jul 17, 2012 at 3:25 pm

Finally, a programme in Malaysia that doesn’t begin with “1”! Bravo ETC. I was worried they’d come up with “1 Journey” or some pathetic “1Malaysia for 0 emissions”. Everyone seems to be jumping on this pathetic bandwagon.
    Finally some different and refreshing automotive marketing. Can’t wait for the car to be around.

• qwerty on Jul 17, 2012 at 4:01 pm

Keep politics out of here pls.
      No need to talk it abt since nobody even mentioned it.

• sudonano on Jul 17, 2012 at 4:01 pm

This. car. is. too. cool. WOW. Nissan please start the sales!

• Extrimist on Jul 17, 2012 at 4:09 pm

When will Nissan introduce ambassador for it’s stability control (VDA)?

Malaysia slowly became familiar with ESC, VSC, VSA, ESP and DSC. But not with VDA yet.

“Save our environment first, then our CHILDREN” – by ETCM.

• zubair on Jul 17, 2012 at 4:12 pm

I love Nissan,and waiting for Juke desperately

• carnoisseur on Jul 17, 2012 at 4:19 pm

ive test driven this car . The propulsion power is incredible. My only grouse is the range of 160km . it is a comfortable car no doubt and hopefully the range can be extended .

• Farhat on Jul 17, 2012 at 10:43 pm

i believe that is the reason why E-cars will not sell much in Msia and only pilot programs are available, because in our mindset, a car SHOULD take us to ‘balik kampungs’ with minimal stopping time. But 160KM is fine for a car that only uses electricity, and very little of it. What can you expect?
      Its not for balik kampungs or off road adventures in Taman Negara, its for going to and from work, pick up kids, go grocery shopping.

If we do have 2nd cars that we use that for doing those little choirs and maybe a trip or two to the suburbs, then maybe this car is a great replacement, IF we have the cash to spend on it.

• bloody racist of Tan Chong. Only Chinese selected. Not even a Malay or an Indian. will never buy from Tan Chong after this.

• that merican guy is half chinese. kani na bei

• lithium on Jul 17, 2012 at 10:33 pm

you are racist for saying everything must be proportionate …….why can there be more chinese in this case or any other composition? must everything be divided equally based on population? so NAS when you spend your salary do you make sure you buy everything proportionately 60% malay shops, 20% chinese shops, 10% indian shops and 10% DLL???????? else YOU are no better.

• Omgostic on Jul 17, 2012 at 11:14 pm

havent u seen ALL the competitions? Its always chinese who wins, Malays and Indians rarely. Its not that we DONT enter competitions, its that MOST companies are run by chinese or with chinese CEO, thus they would rather let their own to win rather than others.

• lithium on Jul 18, 2012 at 11:48 am

hmm correct me if i am wrong but last i checked etcm is the only major car dealer in town that is owned by chinese.

competition – is it not by chance or at most some slogan writing crap? stop looking everything at skin colour – that is what’s wrong with malaysia. we are all malaysian!!! no wonder we are falling behind globally, we can’t even see pass out nose. i know everyone (including me) is bias and racist but don’t go overboard.

• ah long on Jul 17, 2012 at 6:31 pm

This is a perfect car for commuters, not for taxi drivers or daily long distance drivers. Person who uses car for travel to work, this is the only car you must to buy. I believe reason for low range (160km) is commuting is the most polluting time than other time. Hybrid is invented for zero emission, not fuel saving.

• Farhat on Jul 17, 2012 at 9:14 pm

Do we have to re-submit our application if we were not chosen as the first four ambassadors???

• Jimmy on Jul 17, 2012 at 10:51 pm

ETCM is poor at marketing/sales. The best selling point of Teana 2.5L is the V6 engine + Xtronic. The ‘V6’ is so small at the tail, cannot be seen. Please look at other cars with V-configuration.

• George Marimuthu on Jul 18, 2012 at 11:21 am

Edaran Tan Chong – Tell me why there isn’t an Indian Driver?
    Please Explain? Couldn’t you pick just one from the thousands of application you received? – Your policies need to be reviewed by Fomca, i will put in a formal complaint.

• The ambassadors are so lucky. If the car is on sale in 2013, ETCM will need to start to establish the charging infrastructure soon.
    Another issue is cost. The LEAF won’t be cheap. Since it is only for commuting from home to work, it cost too much, unless some innovative business model could brought down the purchase price.

• Pervert on Jul 18, 2012 at 4:15 pm

Why BSN lottery draw always some ninja or bumi win ?

I don’t see chinese or indian win.

• Helen on Jul 18, 2012 at 6:08 pm

June 2012
      First prize: LEE SING CHOY (RM100,000)

May 2012
      First prize: MARIAN A/L GNANAPRAGASAM (BMW 520I F10)

April 2012
      2nd Prize (Modenas GT128): CHRISTINA A/P ARUPATHARA, CHU FEE YEN

March 2012
      2nd Prize (RM50,000): LEE FOOT CHON

Feb 2012
      2nd Prize (Gold Bar): YEO PIK HUA, LEE FOONG YEE, RITA SHARMILA DEWI A/P MICHAEL DASS

Jan 2012
      2nd Prize (Modenas GT128): LIM AI MOOI, GNANESWARI A/P VYRAMUTHU, KHAW AI LI

Dec 2011
      1st Prize (MERCEDES BENZ C200 EL): KHOO CHENG HIONG
      2nd Prize (TOYOTA CAMRY 2.0E): WONG POI KUNG, LIM KIM LI
      3rd Prize (Travel Pckge): WONG POI KUNG, LEONG NIYOK YING, VALLIAMAH A/P SUNDARAM, JONG SIEW CHONG, RENGASAMY A/L RATENAM.

• Gegary on Jul 23, 2012 at 10:55 am

Why UMNO only let Malays join? Why MIC only let Indians join? Why borang2 must state Race?

Disband those ultimate racist groups first.

Simply > Racist = discrimination based on race.