Mazda begins production of the Mazda6

Mazda has started building the next-gen Mazda6 10 years after the first generation rolled off the line in 2002. It also marks the 30th anniversary of the Hofu Plant, in the Nishinoura district, where the new Mazda6 is being made. Mazda targets to produce approximately 120,000 units per year.

The day also saw the first car coming off the line – a 2.0 litre Skyactiv-G Mazda6 wagon bound for Europe. It makes sense because other than its home country, Europe will see the launch of Mazda’s latest before the year ends. Other parts of the world will start to receive theirs in 2013, starting with USA. Worldwide premier of the Mazda6 will be held in Russia during the Moscow International Automobile Salon 2012, in August. You can find more official photos of the Mazda6 here.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• You are most welcome to Malaysia, Mazda 6..

• And I’m starting to queue up now…

• carnoisseur on Aug 02, 2012 at 3:21 pm

Nice

• amirad on Aug 02, 2012 at 3:29 pm

Mouth wateringly delicious. Hope the interior is just as good. Mazda surely ups the ante.

• mindfaucet on Aug 02, 2012 at 3:30 pm

surely have to wait at least for 6 months prior order to get your new mazda 6

• sarcastickiller on Aug 02, 2012 at 3:36 pm

hope dis car reaches malaysia by feb 2013. enuf waitin so long…. im goin 4 it !!!!

• Chris Ng (Member) on Aug 02, 2012 at 3:38 pm

personally, I don’t think USA will get their cars in Jan ’13. So the chances for us getting the Mazda6 by Feb ’13 is pretty slim.

• Wisdom on Aug 02, 2012 at 4:45 pm

This car will be here before end of this year..

• Badut Rempit aka Samseng Jalanan on Aug 02, 2012 at 5:50 pm

Nice. Same color with my kapcai.

• It’s a 2 litre, and if the price is fixed ard 150k, it will be the right pricing and it is gonna hurt H & T :) But if it exceeds 160k, most will stick to H & T because Mazda is still considered a ‘lang moon’ (cold) car in any event, no matter how good it is. Also bearing in mind that buyers of this bracket are cost-conscious people.

• hway de Cruz on Aug 03, 2012 at 9:02 am

when new G comes after 13GE, this car will be without excise duty, probably around 95k

• open door on Aug 02, 2012 at 3:59 pm

if only mazda here bring in diesel!!!! :(

• orange on Aug 02, 2012 at 5:24 pm

so Hyundai Sonata wannabe

• So nowadays all other cars can’t have curves or they will become” Hyundai sonata wannabe”? Have u seen the full pictures of the car both inside out to come to this conclusion? If u haven’t, then you are a person who sees a woman’s back and think she’s your wife.( bcoz they all have curves).

• Way better looking than Sonata. More fierce and manly than Sonata.

• amazinggrace on Aug 03, 2012 at 12:01 am

u need a new pair of eyes, or a brain, not sure which. Call the nearest hospital please.

• It is Sonata that is so Mazda 6 wannabe, the present Mazda 6 that is. Just look at the Elantra design compare with Mazda 6, only different is they add more ‘wrinkle’ to Elantra that looks like a deformed Mazda 6.

• tikus on Aug 02, 2012 at 6:20 pm

Pls upgrade to 5 years warranty pls..

• civicEK on Aug 02, 2012 at 6:45 pm

when will they unveil their mazda 3..

• Much better than Camry, Accord, Teana and Sonata.

• royrogers on Aug 02, 2012 at 7:37 pm

Current Mazda 6 2.5 is clearing stock at 159k! This is OTR price with insurance and huge touchscreen GPS!

• chocolate)head on Aug 02, 2012 at 8:02 pm

Very boring design, no surprise at all..

• Expatriate VN on Aug 02, 2012 at 11:47 pm

“Not my cup of tea”!

• mitzz on Aug 03, 2012 at 9:08 am

No need to compare with Kamchi/Korean cars la. Mazda is the only Japanese car maker who dare to design car to be different. They are a niche, small volume and quality car maker. The only thing that stop me from buying Mazda 6 is because there is only 1 unit in Sandakan……..but this time I will reconsider it……..I’ve heard from friends that Mazda cars & Suv handling is execellent….the CX5 2.0 with 19 in Rim I think its a bit under powered for an SUV….may be I am wrong

• _xXx_ on Aug 03, 2012 at 9:08 am

bermaz plz call me 3-4 years later. I want your 25k discount…

• Killer on Aug 03, 2012 at 1:38 pm

I believe bermaz is taking pre-booking orders for this car already…give a call to mazda to find out…its about 1k for the pre-book

• Konnector on Aug 03, 2012 at 2:28 pm

Some pictures of mazda6.

http://jp.autoblog.com/2012/08/02/production-of-new-atenza-begins-at-hofu-plant/

http://kyushu.yomiuri.co.jp/zoom/20120803-OYS9I00441.htm

http://www.asahi.com/car/gallery_e/view_photo.html?news-pg/OSK201208020080.jpg

• Chow 1 on Aug 03, 2012 at 3:10 pm

Mazda3 now looks better than Honda Civic. Hope the new Mazda3 is also coming out!

• cruzer on Aug 03, 2012 at 4:58 pm

you can see the actual side profile but it is for mazda6 wagon for europe market –
    http://www.autoblog.com/2012/08/02/first-official-mazda6-wagon-pic-revealed-as-plant-comes-online/
    I believe the sedan version will be more sportier.

• Bongcs on Aug 04, 2012 at 10:26 pm

178 k

• mad aly on Aug 06, 2012 at 8:27 am

bermaz surely will price it more than accord and camry.. Stupid Cronies !!

• cruzer on Aug 07, 2012 at 9:55 am

to mad aly: no body force you to buy, if cannot afford, please keep quite.

• the design is really nice . i wonder when it will be launched in malaysia and also the price