Next-generation Mazda 6: first official photos released!

After a few videos (Teaser 1, Teaser 2, Teaser 3) from Mazda teasing its all-new Mazda 6, the Hiroshima-based company has released the first official image of its next D-segment contender, which will make its debut at the Moscow Motor Show next month.

As the photos show, the car will of course wear the new Mazda face, and it looks good. Looks familiar because we already have the CX-5 SUV, but this is a sleeker rendition.

Get used to it, as this new Kodo face will be repeated across the range, replacing the organic and flowing Nagare look as seen on today’s Mazda 3 and 5. All of us here prefer the new direction. You?

The new 6, which is based on the Takeri concept, will be the first model equipped with Mazda’s brake energy regeneration system, i-ELOOP. The debutant at the Moscow Motor Show will be a Russian specification sedan equipped with a direct-injection SkyActiv-G 2.0 petrol engine and six-speed SkyActiv–Drive automatic transmission.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Black Dog on Jul 25, 2012 at 12:44 pm

From Nagare to Kodo then Takeri and also Skyactive?

Mazda sure knows how to use words to entice.

• Thx god Mazda is the only one that the best looking Japanese car ! T,H pls wake up and see ur date design compared with Korean,European and USA !

• Lim Kopi on Jul 28, 2012 at 3:04 am

Agreed, if both T and H continues being complacent, they will definitely be hit hard by sheer competition of not only Mazda but even Korean rivals!

• mindfaucet on Jul 25, 2012 at 12:44 pm

great looks!

• Hanif on Jul 25, 2012 at 12:45 pm

Nice, looks not much japanese.

• Alpha on Jul 25, 2012 at 6:44 pm

The front looks like a hybrid of the new CLS-class and the F30 3er.And that’s a good thing.

• jay8393 on Jul 25, 2012 at 12:45 pm

Awesome design!

• BMW BEST on Jul 25, 2012 at 12:47 pm

OMG so niceeeeeeeee!!!But Mazda 6 so expensive…wait for Mazda 3 as well hehe!

• ProTip on Jul 25, 2012 at 1:12 pm

Mazda 6 expensive? How so? Do you mean paper specs-wise?

• BMW BEST on Jul 25, 2012 at 4:06 pm

All right,no offense.Seem like for you this is not expensive or even a piece of cake.But for me it is expensive,I didn’t say it not deserved for that price but that one is just my thinking.

• _xXx_ on Jul 25, 2012 at 6:12 pm

Plz wait 4 years. You will be given 25k rebate.

• Dr Mamak on Jul 25, 2012 at 1:05 pm

Kawaii! i’d take this over any korean crap.

• underskinned on Jul 25, 2012 at 1:08 pm

Seriously cool design, with a hint of Mercedes CLS front grille.

• Critique on Jul 25, 2012 at 1:16 pm

Hey good looking!!

• plasma on Jul 25, 2012 at 1:35 pm

somehow the grill looks like preve

• RyanL. on Jul 25, 2012 at 2:34 pm

Enough with the preve in almost every new car posts laaaa.

• BMW BEST on Jul 25, 2012 at 4:08 pm

Yaya,Preve all the way,all car manufacters always took Proton’s design and this whole car is rebadged Preve,ok?

• Mario Gomez on Jul 25, 2012 at 4:25 pm

stop mentioning about the fucking Preve,this even nicer then my K5

• Motorer on Jul 25, 2012 at 9:58 pm

I have not looked at the side profile yet but it seems too soon for a full new revamp (compare that to Toyota who are still using engines from the last century). I said this cuz the current Mazda 3 is basically an aggresive refresh of the previous generation. Same with the Golf MK6.

• Expatriate VN on Jul 25, 2012 at 4:27 pm

The back like look like tiger eye, the front light look like cock eye, bla, bla, bla, like there is no better thing to say.

• jefferson on Jul 25, 2012 at 5:22 pm

this preve that preve…you think designning a car is that simple, why don’t you do it? oh wait…maybe nobody even wants to hire you cos all you can do is mention preve all day long!

• I don’t hate preve but your comment was kinda…dumb?

• nice sarcasm. i like xD

• probably PeeOne is paying RM2 for every sentence with the word “prayve” to certain cyber troopers
      Nope. Not gonna spell the correct name here.

• rear kinda looked like Sonata?

• plasma on Jul 25, 2012 at 3:09 pm

sonata + kizashi

• agreed…

• Hyundai De La Junk on Jul 25, 2012 at 3:33 pm

Because Junk Sonata is copying Mazda Takeri Concept in the first place, understand !!

• Yybbnn on Jul 26, 2012 at 7:58 am

Any evidence? To show SONATA copy this MAzda 6?

• you are wrong, idiot, should be every single piece car design is taking our very well loved Toyota as reference

• yybbnn on Jul 25, 2012 at 4:27 pm

Totally agree. In fact, CX5 also have similar feel of Tucson, especially on the tail side.

• farghmee on Jul 25, 2012 at 1:36 pm

exterior: nice, softer strokes :)

• Redwings on Jul 25, 2012 at 4:22 pm

We know who copy who… Takeri concept was released before sonata came in…

• mantoi on Jul 25, 2012 at 1:37 pm

awesome design! only can touch ‘u’ at showroom only…my ‘nett pay’ still do ‘us’ apart

• Masked Ryder on Jul 25, 2012 at 1:40 pm

Drooling !!

• nurmisnan on Jul 25, 2012 at 1:45 pm

Hoho… i loike red

• polo saga on Jul 25, 2012 at 2:02 pm

wow, awesome!!!!

• Wahhh! Very nice!

• qwerty on Jul 25, 2012 at 2:23 pm

This is definitely nicer. The CX-5 face reminds me of the pigs from the Angry Birds game.

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 25, 2012 at 2:24 pm

Nice.

The 6 has always been the more dynamic and the pretty one in the sea of dull executive sedans.

This is certainly a good thing that shows even the conservative Japanese can rise above and realise that there normal sedan buyers deserve something more interesting.

Looks to me save Toyota, Honda and VW’s (Passat) everyone is jumping head first into good looking offering across the range with Peugeot, Citroen, and the Koreans being a lot more avant-garde in their styling.

• Josh Ling on Jul 25, 2012 at 2:32 pm

Fierce looking. It definitely looks sleek, but the current generation is not really a bad looker either. I think i like both.

p/s: I think we will not be seeing anymore Mazda3 smiley icon in the future eh? kinda miss it…..lol…..

• Hantu on Jul 25, 2012 at 2:34 pm

nice behind. everything looks nice to me except the smiley grille at the front.

• Nice! Just wonder where to put the front plate number heheh

• dreaming of maserati on Jul 25, 2012 at 2:44 pm

front looks awesome …but the rear part really looks 80% like the YF sonata!

• kay_wy on Jul 25, 2012 at 2:51 pm

Nice looking car, never doubt with the Mazda design, hope this car is not pair with the 19″ wheel :)

• BeemerFreak on Jul 25, 2012 at 2:53 pm

Beautiful car from the only Japanese manufacturer left who cares about style and engineering

• Finally a Japanese company had a great design to come out for the D segment category cars. I expect nothing less from Mazda. Thumbs up and keep up the good work Mazda.

• Sgt Scoop on Jul 25, 2012 at 3:03 pm

AGGGHHH! It looks like they’ve done this for a dare. The creator of Timon will be looking for compensation. What is it with Madza and putting stupid faces on their cars?

• marbeles

• oko028 on Jul 25, 2012 at 3:11 pm

this one will make Camry & Accord look a jerk…

• shamsul on Jul 25, 2012 at 3:16 pm

i thought it looks like sonata

• alpha999 on Jul 25, 2012 at 3:17 pm

simply awesome, muscular and hunky

• retard on Jul 25, 2012 at 3:31 pm

bbb but but this one is old woman car oo… aso car.

• droll on Jul 25, 2012 at 3:34 pm

beautiful!! very nice smooth flowing lines. mazda is on a design roll lately. kudos to the team.

• ss427 on Jul 25, 2012 at 3:44 pm

Ahhh…looks like Mazda is the ONLY Japs manufacturer left that still remembers how to style a car… Toyota, Nissan and Honda…sigh… :( !@#$%^

Looks really good from these pics. Hopefully the 2L Skyactive engine is further uptuned for the Mazda 6. The unit used in the current CX5 feels underpowered even though it offers 155hp and DI and super high compression ratios.

The tailight designs looks like Elantra ah my friends… not the Sonata.. hehe :D Ohhh the Japs are copying the Koreans these days…

Ok Hyundai Junk Bro, fire away! LOL

• skypirate on Jul 25, 2012 at 5:17 pm

rumored to come with a base 2.5L skyactiv-g as the base model, while the 2.2 skyactiv-d twin turbo diesel as the range topper.

• IMO, Nissan makes reliable cars.
      Unfortunately, Nissan employed idiots as designers and the Management actually approved these ugly designs for production. Gosh.
      Talking about N coz their cars looks the worst among M,T,H & N.
      Any car makers, if the cars looks beautiful and priced decently and with decent quality materials, no need too many fancy tech, I am sure the model will still sell well in MY.

• Redwings on Jul 26, 2012 at 7:12 pm

I will go for the 2.2 skyactiv-d twin turbo diesel if they are bring in this specs.. When are we Euro4 or Euro5?

• Best looking Japanese sedan!!! Really like the aggressive front. IMO, looks more balanced than the CX5. Will they release a new RX-8 based on this?

• 4g63tdsm on Jul 25, 2012 at 10:29 pm

Who cares about the Rx8. We want a new rx7 preferably with a rotary turbo.

Show Toyota how to do up a nice sports car.

• Anti_Fuel_Price on Jul 25, 2012 at 3:58 pm

WAKE UP T & H, ini baru so call “design”. Yours just “ALTER” then put NEW MODEL!!!

• far better looking than camry, accord, Taena

• Is it just me or is that cool looking Xenon headlights resemble that reactor core from Iron Man’s chest? NICE!

• ben yap on Jul 25, 2012 at 4:14 pm

I prefer the dugong (toyota vios) look. that’s why it sells so well.

• Jimmy on Jul 25, 2012 at 5:52 pm

Now you get your feed(my attention): attention seeking behaviour.

• taboogen on Jul 25, 2012 at 4:18 pm

front nose like lancer… rear like sonata…sushi eating kimchi now..

• Faizul on Jul 25, 2012 at 4:18 pm

great..not differs much from the concept car…now for the interior shot..

• If its inferior is anything similar to CX-5, its gonna be disappointingly bland in comparison with the how the exterior looks

• interior i meant…

• another weak point with Mazda is the NVH… that’s the reason why i didnt buy the previous gen. Hopefully there is stark improvement on this area this time round.

• Ryan.C on Jul 25, 2012 at 4:19 pm

Honda, Toyota..
    Please have a look on Mazda!
    Then look back your own design, u will know the ‘different’

• goodma on Jul 25, 2012 at 7:04 pm

toyota:” i know, i rather save on my design fees and yet I still sold a lot what!”

Honda:” Can’t you see my New Civic design? looks a lot like our hot selling City what!?”

• Reality on Jul 25, 2012 at 4:23 pm

Compare this with the nothing new camry? Shut up and take my money!

• Shaman on Jul 25, 2012 at 4:25 pm

Nice face and back. Like the way the front bonnet is flanked by the strong shoulders. Any details on when this is going to be on sale in Malaysia? Any other spec details?

• Expatriate VN on Jul 25, 2012 at 4:28 pm

Seriously I like the exterior design but the brand a little bit “cold”!

• Wisdom on Jul 25, 2012 at 4:31 pm

Really kodo-k like front view…

• dolah on Jul 25, 2012 at 4:43 pm

i can only admire this car from afar..
    Pocket not deep enough..pity me

• seriousdude on Jul 25, 2012 at 4:53 pm

cant wait for new mazda 3

• matlimmutu on Jul 25, 2012 at 4:57 pm

this one is nice. cx-5 is not.

• alibaba on Jul 25, 2012 at 5:30 pm

Rear looks 99% like sonata…

• mkhee on Jul 25, 2012 at 5:42 pm

Awesome design! Honda and Toyota should learn from them on how to design nice looking cars.

• jolly_idiot on Jul 25, 2012 at 5:43 pm

This we call design for future car. What happened to Toyota & Honda designer? All dead on radioactive?

• jolly_idiot on Jul 25, 2012 at 5:51 pm

The headlights look like autobot eyes

• maskcooler on Jul 25, 2012 at 5:52 pm

it really looks good:)

• Bongcs on Jul 25, 2012 at 5:54 pm

last time was the RX7

now was the MAZDA 6

• Jimmy on Jul 25, 2012 at 5:56 pm

Why do we want to compary this with Camry? Is Camry a great car? The moment we see a Camry owner, we know that he or she is rich/brave/has taste, ya?

BTW, Mazda 6 is the best looking D segment car at this moment, not only among Jap makes.

• Leseid Obrut on Jul 25, 2012 at 6:01 pm

hands down, this is easily one of the sexiest mid-size sedans around…let’s see how the interior looks like… =D

• 4g63tdsm on Jul 25, 2012 at 10:40 pm

I’m not hoping too much for the interior. Mazda’s interior design is one of form follows function. Purposefully practical. Even the Rx8 had a fairly normal looking interior…beside the 2 tone color.

Probably in between the accord’s button fest and the Teanna’s over simplistic and clean layout (read : boring).

• nighttrain on Jul 25, 2012 at 6:27 pm

Four door sports sedan..

• shawal on Jul 25, 2012 at 6:27 pm

i-eloop …wit ur daughter ..blame the car hahahaha

looks good
    i’d test drive one just for the heck ov’it….

• MBX Boy on Jul 25, 2012 at 7:31 pm

Mazda’s certainly on the right track when it comes to design. I personally feel that this Mazda6 looks even better than their Takeri concept car…. anddddd I’m so happy the smiley faces design is over.

• Looks better than Sonata. Awesome design.

• Looks awesome..

• Maserati on Jul 25, 2012 at 8:37 pm

Looks awesome! This will destroy the already rubbish korean cars! Goodbye sonata and k5!

• the front muscle-body-like resembles the toyota mark x and the rear looks like elantra but mazda redefines how a car should look like..not a moving washing machine!

• NISSpengAN on Jul 25, 2012 at 9:15 pm

Camry,Accord and teana must dig their own grave if this launch in malaysia sure will get impact for those 3 rival.

• This pawns Akord and Camli one handed.

• The truly NEW model from Japan. Only two driver car from Japan, Subaru or Mazda, the rest Accountant’s Car.

We should support Mazda. Bermaz, please emulated VGM business model.

• amirad on Jul 25, 2012 at 9:48 pm

One of the few Jap makes besides Lexus, Infiniti and Acura that can still grab our attention. But the rule of thumb always shows that car with a wow factor looks usually doesn’t age well. I hope I’m wrong.

• Good point but I do believe Mazda cars today with wow factor and still age very well. Just look at the present Mazda 6. Heck if you compare the present Mazda 6 with the ‘new’ Camry and the Sonata, Mazda 6 looks like a newest model to me.

• amirad on Jul 27, 2012 at 10:06 am

Have to agree with you on this . The current mazda 6 2.5l white colour is the best looker. Anytime beats the latest Camry, Teana, Accord and Passat B7.

• rifraf on Jul 25, 2012 at 10:20 pm

I have been waiting about a year to buy large Jap saloon, new Camry came, and I thought no way. Teana too narrow inside, also re-sale not good. But this Mazda rocks. Have to wait 6 more months for new Accord then decide la.

• Suarez on Jul 25, 2012 at 10:28 pm

BRAVO MAZDA. To those who bought the new CAMRY, pls don’t feel proud about yourself driving a new car indeed you’re driving and old technology car wit a new face in it.

• MrPoppyplants on Jul 25, 2012 at 10:36 pm

Thanks to Mazda designers and visionaries, not all hope is lost on Japanese car makers!

• Suarez on Jul 25, 2012 at 10:38 pm

Agreed!! The CAMRY design look so cheap, it seems that they don’t pay enough for the designer to design. When i look at the back of the new CAMRY it feels like the body chasis taken from the 2001 camry body.They both look the same accept for the new tail light.

• RedBeanBun on Jul 25, 2012 at 10:44 pm

Awesome!! Cant wait to see the interior design. The cx-5 interior looks so classy and not plastic cheap, and hope this Mazda6 will inherit that.

This is potential car of the year in USA for sure. Camry, Accord you have challenger now!

• jaijoe on Jul 25, 2012 at 11:04 pm

my goodness so pretty… must get one…

• anonymous on Jul 25, 2012 at 11:24 pm

i love the concealed B Pillar

• spyrers on Jul 25, 2012 at 11:38 pm

Wow.. this is beautiful and surprisingly, very close to the Takeri concept car. Now, if PKR takes over, we will all be able to get this car at RM120k or less next year!

• Summicron on Jul 26, 2012 at 2:06 am

… just waiting anxiously to see the side profile. If 80% of Takeri concept makes it into the final Mazda6 production design, it wipes the floor with current gen Accord, Camry and even Sonata.

• babygrand on Jul 26, 2012 at 3:02 am

Mazda 6 i am falling in love with you but i have to work harder in order to rape u once u arrive in this so called BN boleh land. Wish me luck & thanks.

• Ahura on Jul 26, 2012 at 7:54 am

my family owned 3 mazdas. Mazda 3 2004 model, mazda 6 2010 model and mazda CX9. to own another mazda, i still doubt it. the mazda 3 starts to develop problem after 3 yrs. first with the wheel, bring it over to SC, they said it just need to be aligned. done that, problem came back after few weeks, bring it over again, still the same, bla bla bla.. then came the engine noise problem, check check check they cannot find the problem. the mazda 6, recently it’s is having gearbox problem, now waiting for replacement. so we are hoping our cx9 wont be developing any problem soon. i like all mazda design but after experiencing all these problem, i have my doubt.. no offence, just sharing info.

• carlover on Jul 26, 2012 at 7:58 am

Hopefully Mazda could do something great on the 2.5L skyactive engine, turbo would be better…CX-5 2.0 engine is underpowered.
    Existing Mazda 6 engine noise too much intrudes into cabin.
    Just tested ford mondeo 2.0 240ps, it surprise me with the 2.0 turbo engine.. and the build is great..

• Land Cruizzers on Jul 26, 2012 at 9:19 am

Rear looks exactly like a sonaata…bahhh
    While the front grille looks nice,the headlamps resembled the F30 BMW 3series. Kudos Masuda!

• orange on Jul 26, 2012 at 10:08 am

Evidence of Hyundai design superiority, even japs want a piece of it…

• Expensive Jap on Jul 26, 2012 at 10:20 am

Previously the latest Lexus copied the back of Sonata. Now the latest Mazda follows their footsteps to copy the back of Sonata. What’s with Sonata’s back design that everyone is copying now? Kia getting similiar Audi design I can understand due to their ex-designers but Sonata’s back design?!

• wokyoh on Jul 26, 2012 at 12:53 pm

Next time don’t produce concept car

• Chow 1 on Jul 26, 2012 at 3:36 pm

This is a real car.

• wokyoh on Jul 26, 2012 at 4:43 pm

I drive Toyota (Ipsum) but I hate Toyota current design. Vios, Altis, Avanza (new), Camry (new)..BUT maintenance very CHEAP & reliabality VERY good. Mazda have the best design & handling.

• htc1xer on Jul 27, 2012 at 12:17 am

I still think my infiniti looks nicer..

• Azri Zoomer on Jul 27, 2012 at 12:39 am

I love driving my 2010 Mazda6. Awesome n surely a head turner where ever i go.
    Must start saving for this.

• Supertram on Jul 27, 2012 at 6:23 am

this make new civic look much more worse even the new camry look dated now. why T n H drifted so far in design dept?

• atifjeelan on Jul 27, 2012 at 4:01 pm

the rear tail looks similla lika my current Hyundai Elantra 2008

• Sam Loo on Jul 28, 2012 at 1:16 pm

Front view, going back to the 1980’s single headlights design?

• dvuval on Jul 28, 2012 at 7:14 pm

my vios is better looking than this

• nikita on Jul 28, 2012 at 10:56 pm

waiting for so long after takeri concept, finally the new gen mazda 6 is in production, great job mazda produce more sporty car than the rest competitors. From here you are the road teaser, kill all cars on the road…. Mazda you are the best! Hope the new Mazda 3 will have something new and different compare with previous.

• damage digital on Jul 30, 2012 at 4:00 pm

please dont compare this to your korean ass,mazda did this since their legendary RX7 FD.do some homework korean faggot.

• Hukaka on Aug 02, 2012 at 5:19 pm

great looking car but 2.0will it be a bit under power?

• Davincci on Aug 03, 2012 at 4:21 pm

Lets see hows the price…

• swee swee on Aug 05, 2012 at 9:40 pm

i wonder if proton can also design such a nice looking car like Mazda….