Volkswagen Taigun SUV previewed via patent filings

VW Taigun Patent-01
Last October, Volkswagen wheeled out the VW Taigun compact SUV concept at the Sao Paulo motor show in Brazil. Not a misspelling of Tiguan, the Taigun concept previewed a small crossover that will be the baby of Wolfsburg’s SUV range. Here are some images purported to be leaked patent filings in China, showing a production Volkswagen Taigun.

If we are indeed looking at the production VW Taigun, which is said to sit on the compact Up! platform, it appears that little has changed from the Sao Paulo concept car. You can compare both sets of pics – patent filings and concept car – below. A VW rival to hatchback-based SUVs like the Peugeot 2008, Ford Ecosport and Renault Captur anyone?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Syarikat Abuya dan adik iparnya on May 03, 2013 at 9:49 am

Should be named taiko

• VW Warranty Sham on May 03, 2013 at 2:40 pm

they should also patent the faulty DSG gearboxes. China has recalled nearly 400,000 cars because the DSG fails like crazy. When is Malaysia going to do so?

http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2013-03-20/volkswagen-recalls-384-181-vehicles-in-china-for-gearbox-faults.html

• Ah Beng Kia on May 03, 2013 at 4:33 pm

They should patent their DSG also

Drivetrain Selalu Gagal

• Is the best way that u can do is trade ur car for other coz ur issue will never end.

• Green on May 03, 2013 at 10:05 am

Need patent meh? just upgrade from old suzuki vitara concept.

• loplopl on May 03, 2013 at 10:22 am

the Chinese might think twice to buy this car as the name Taigun (Tagun) means Tergolek.. Nice ugly car match with lousy name..

• Abg Long on May 03, 2013 at 10:46 am

i tot new suzuki..

• is this even necessary ?
    i mean, the tiguan is already so small.
    rear seats are a TIGHT FIT for 3 adults. same like the cx5. and i wonder how small this taigun is.

• NihonJidosha on May 03, 2013 at 7:53 pm

It based on VW Up! Means it’s like a Myvi with SUV kits.