BMW M6 Gran Coupe officially launched – RM999,800

BMW M6 Gran Coupe

Taking the fight to the recently-launched Aston Martin Rapide S is the BMW M6 Gran Coupe, which has officially entered the Malaysian scene, joining the M6 Coupe in the local line-up.

Under that long bonnet lurks a direct-injected 4.4 litre twin-turbo V8. Equipped with Valvetronic and Double Vanos, the powerplant produces 560 hp between 5,000 and 6,000 rpm and 680 Nm of torque between 1,500 and 5,750 rpm.

Drive is sent to the back via a seven-speed M twin-clutch ‘box with Drivelogic (offering launch control and Low Speed Assistance functions), allowing the 1.95-tonne vehicle to get from 0-100 km/h in a little over four seconds and onwards to a 305 km/h top speed.

BMW M6 Gran Coupe

In spite of all the grunt, BMW claims a respectable average fuel consumption of under 10 litres per 100 km on the EU cycle, and CO2 emissions of 232 grams per km.

In charge of dynamics are an electronically-controlled limited-slip diff and Dynamic Damper Control (which offers Comfort, Sport and Sport+ settings), while M carbon ceramic brakes with gold-painted callipers are shielded by 20-inch M five twin-spoke alloys, wrapped in 265/35 tyres up front and 295/30 out back.

The BMW M6 Gran Coupe comes with a carbon fibre-reinforced plastic (CFRP) roof that is recessed down the middle to improve airflow. Other notable exterior elements include its flared wheelarches, quad tailpipes, adaptive LED headlamps with Corona rings and CFRP rear diffuser. The doors can soft close, too.

BMW M6 Gran Coupe

Step inside and M-specific instrument dials peek at you through a three-spoke leather steering wheel with shift paddles, while the headlining above you is trimmed in leather and Alcantara. There are M front sports seats and Merino leather upholstery throughout, and the back seats fold to increase boot volume to 1,265 litres, up from 460 litres.

The iDrive system features customisable settings for the M-specific head-up display, and drivers can save and access their preferred set-up via two M Drive buttons located on the steering wheel.

The BMW M6 Gran Coupe is priced at a cool RM999,800, on-the-road without insurance, making it RM11k dearer than its two-door sister. We’ve actually already had a go in the hot four-door 6er – read our driving impressions here.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• pirlo on Jun 26, 2013 at 10:06 am

beemer for a million? damn.

• SteveJobsDrKubur on Jun 26, 2013 at 10:07 am

Even Polo Sedan RM99,800 i felt so expensive ><

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • Penang playboy on Jun 26, 2013 at 10:12 am

Nice!! I like and I would love to buy it right now. Few questions:
    1) Can it use ROn 95 ( Ron 97 is expensive lar)
    2) How much is the maintenance? My budget is not above RM300 per service.
    3) Got free gift? I was hoping for a free Vcool tint, RM1000 rebate and car mat(s). If can throw in additional bodykit, I will sure buy.
    Thanks a lot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 10
    • bmwenthusiast on Jun 26, 2013 at 11:53 am

If you bother with the maintenance cost and fuel,just get yourself a proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
      • Jimmy on Jun 26, 2013 at 1:54 pm

He is sort of like sarcastiq, joking only.
        I smiled when I read his comment, ‘innovative’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • akula on Jun 26, 2013 at 11:58 am

go buy PREVE…..will answer all your question.

• Ryan.C on Jun 26, 2013 at 12:31 pm

i think he can’t afford to get preve also.
      Base on his question, can see his standard.

• Gegary on Jun 26, 2013 at 1:45 pm

The annual road tax is RM8,430.00 for 4.4litre. Cantik or not? Or just be like crony, bribe and get Labuan tax for RM1,457.00

• haha, I am from labuan and currently study in sarawak… Everytime i renew my sarawak car roadtax is 50% cheaper if do it in labuan. It is legal .

• jinjangman on Jun 26, 2013 at 10:12 am

this is one sexy beast!

• What the heck……1 mill for a beemer. I’d rather buy a w222 merc S-klasse.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • vwowner on Jun 26, 2013 at 11:32 am

What is the price range gonna be for the new S Class when it comes to Malaysia….can anybody gives a good guess….i am not good at it

• Keep dream on it leerr, even std version already RM1m so AMG version should be M6 GC rival but AMG version never lower than Rm1.2m…

• Std S-class is around RM 680k. AMG will be seeling around RM1.3-1.4m. Besides, this M6 is suppose to be competed with Merc CLS 63 AMG. Not S-class.

• When W222 launched next year, definitely it will flood malaysian road within months. Even thou this is just a 6-er, but its a monster 6 and at the same time beautiful. Therefore, you can be exclusive while driving this. Dont think u can get those feeling ehile driving S-class.

• sepucps on Jun 26, 2013 at 11:00 am

left hand drive?

• Josh Ling on Jun 26, 2013 at 12:05 pm

ya, wanna ask the same question too. why the launch model is a left hand drive?

• istvan on Jun 26, 2013 at 11:12 am

“comes with a carbon fibre-reinforced plastic (CFRP) roof that is recessed down the middle to improve airflow”
    i read in one of reputable automotive magazine saying that the recessed down roof is just for esthetic value. which one correct? Jonathan, could you check it?

• frenzyaustin on Jun 26, 2013 at 11:30 am

Wonderful car, if they drop another 111k more, RM888,800, good number with a good car.

• RM888,800? Yup, buy Jaguar XFR. Its exactly at this price tag u suggested. That is if u can afford, can actually go for Jag XFR. Exclusive, elegant, and at the same time head turning.

• Wow…. Smoke machine…. Love the wheels

• Beautiful car with reasonable price. Better than AM rapide S.

• jackchaivc on Jun 26, 2013 at 11:51 am

I am buying this.It is the best upgrade for my current bmw z5.

• FAT Cat on Jun 26, 2013 at 12:11 pm

Can a adult seat in the middle of the rear seat ? If can, how on earth can someone getting a leg over the centre console with out kicking it ,
    and what if it’s a female passenger that wears a skirt. With the real air con vent soo near to the middle passenger blowing directly to that
    area ( you know what I meant ) for sure will get freeze balls.

• deaverdesa on Jun 26, 2013 at 12:47 pm

for 999,800 baik beli gtr!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • Thomas on Jun 26, 2013 at 12:59 pm

We already paid our petrol subsidies in advance! Unlike the oversea, even we don’t use our car, we still have to pay the petrol!

• Dilbert on Jun 26, 2013 at 1:11 pm

Wah, so cheap hey

• Gavin on Jun 26, 2013 at 1:25 pm

sex.

• Sorry to say that nissan gtr is much faster than this I reckon

Care about german engineered???

• Damn... on Jun 26, 2013 at 2:46 pm

How can you compare this with gtr? Brainless people. GTR no class, interior macam sial. Plus it’s a Nissan. This monster right here is born with the letter ‘M’.

• I had to admit that the M6 is much more class compare to gtr

but how bout speed
        I reckon this may can outdo a gtr not quite easily

• Damn.... on Jun 26, 2013 at 6:45 pm

Bro, in Malaysia, AES camera is the fastest. Not even the Godzilla can match its speed. Well to be honest, boleh land is all about class. Owning a BMW and Merc shows you are a somebody. Both brands mentioned are so great that on highway, the car infront would automatically give way.

• Godzilla T-R on Jun 26, 2013 at 4:27 pm

Nissan GT-R is pure fast car, faster than any of it’s rival. Buyers only care about speed and not any luxury. M6 is for those rich who want speed but also tons of luxury to enjoy. Totally different to compare. As a GT-R die hard fans, I feel shame as Godly GT-R has a godly idiotic fans like you. While bias on a car, try to learn to respect and appreciate the others.

• Mr Mac on Jun 28, 2013 at 7:52 pm

who is stupid and immature enough to hantam the M6 300kmH with 4 passengers compared to GTR seating only 1 passenger?

• dugong on Jul 01, 2013 at 10:12 pm

Nissan GTR interior no class la. cheap material like almera. how to compare???

• Alson P on Jun 26, 2013 at 1:36 pm

Ooo: 20-inch M five twin-spoke alloys rim looks nice…

• Wait for second hand better. sure will drop to RM400.000

• Johnny on Jun 26, 2013 at 2:31 pm

Super duper overpriced man! Nissan Teana Better.

• Confused on Jun 26, 2013 at 2:42 pm

Jonathan James Tan! Why is it a left handed drive?????

• Jason on Jun 26, 2013 at 5:01 pm

Yeah I was wondering too

• Stop asking stupid question. Cant u see the car bearing German plates? Obviously this is a sample being brought from Germany. This is due to scarcity of M6z therefore they are bringing sample from Germany. But, if u get to order one. Definitely its a RIght hand drive instead of wrong hand drive.

• Blackjkx on Jun 26, 2013 at 3:07 pm

One wondeful living

• Ahmadfaris93 on Jun 26, 2013 at 4:04 pm

Are they selling only left hand drive here or is just for the launch but they’ll sell the right-hand drive after that ?

• GT-Rider on Jun 26, 2013 at 9:26 pm

Clearly for uncles who want to be perceived as sporty. Usually they give me way, no problem, if they don’t also no problem, they will eat my smoke instantly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • This are CLS 63 AMG & RS7 rival. Rapide S should be Quattroporte & Panamera rival…

• Guys, dont worry i the car driving position is at the wrong side. Coz this is just a sample being brought from Germany. Of coz, when its being delivered here. Definitely the driving position will be on the right side.

• This car has a left hand drive because it is among a buch of M cars bring brought in from Germany by BMW M malaysia to have a track event on Sepang. It will be ridiculous if they purposely bring in a right hand drive separately.

• Mr Mac on Jun 28, 2013 at 7:50 pm

to fight with aston martin rapide? hahaha..what a joke…

• henry on Jul 02, 2013 at 8:17 am

What a gorgeous beauty…I will take this anytime over a hot virgin supermodel…