Lexus ES bookings open – priced from RM260k

Lexus_ES_250_MalaysiaClick to enlarge.

UMW Toyota Motor has announced that order-taking has officially begun for the Lexus ES in Malaysia. ES 250, ES 250 Luxury and ES 300h variants are available, priced at RM259,800, RM279,800 and RM353,000 respectively, excluding insurance.

The ES 250 and ES 250 Luxury are powered by a 2.5 litre Dual VVT-i twin-cam four-cylinder engine that produces 181 hp at 6,000 rpm and 235 Nm of torque at 4,100 rpm. With the aid of a Super ECT- and AI Shift-equipped six-speed auto, the Lexus ES 250 does the century sprint in under ten seconds and can exceed 200 km/h.

Lexus_ES_prices_MalaysiaClick to enlarge.

The Lexus ES 300h sees a 2.5 litre single VVT-i twin-cam Atkinson cycle four-cylinder unit (158 hp at 5,700 rpm and 213 Nm of twist at 4,500 rpm) joining hands with a 105 kW electric motor that’s fed by a 650V nickel-metal hydride battery for a combined 202 hp output. Equipped with an eCVT system, the ES 300h does 0-100 km/h in 8.5 seconds before maxing out at 180 km/h. Its boot holds 425 litres of luggage (65 litres down from the ES 250).

See the local brochure here, and full technical specs of the Malaysian car here. Click here for more info on the sixth-gen Lexus ES and a treasure trove of pictures.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Jonathan Ali on Sep 04, 2013 at 12:04 pm

omg can exceed 200km/hr?? very fast car..

• Aaron on Sep 04, 2013 at 5:10 pm

For 260k, I rather get a beemer or Audi A4 rather than a so called more luxurious Japanese Toyota. Seriously. At least Beemer and Audi has much powerful powertrain, and you are paying for a German brand. My two cents.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 16
    • shit la u, lots car can go >200km/hr la idiot.
      this 2.5v engine is definately the same as camry 2.5. so why pay so premium price? just tat exterior is better, interior is larger, a bit more advance tech in the car. but there are more other option than this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
  • Moron will buy Lexus !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 35
  • shawal on Sep 04, 2013 at 12:15 pm

for d common man , its d pick of d bunch , spacious , practical, fully specced , and very reliable , its fwd so u hv ample of room in thr back ,
    For d uncommon man … and is250 f sport is d dream car to have …well wait n see if lexus does rolls out IS200t f sport next year..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
  • I would like to ask is this car interior space same with merc E class and 5 series ?

• ES is actually longer than the GS, E class, a6 and 5 Series.. Rear leg room is much bigger than all the mentioned with a flat floor for the rear middle seat .

• How does 158hp + 105kW = 202hp?

I am confused.

• 105kW = 140hp

158hp + 140hp = 298hp

how come = 202hp only?

• jolly_idiot on Sep 04, 2013 at 7:55 pm

Simple. Either they over rated the motor or engine output.

Otherwise, both things work together not perfectly but to sacrifice power.

Either way, I cannot afford it too.

• Bullshit! One can’t just simply add up the outputs of both the combustion engine and the motor to calculate the total output.

this is because the two have different output at different rpm. Get it?

• I thought for electric motors, it is ‘self regulating’ like a CVT. It is able to produce a constant output (in kW) and the thing that changes as rpm changes is the torque.

So the electric motor = flat hp curve. It is the torque that changes with rpm, not hp.

• merc fanboi on Sep 04, 2013 at 4:18 pm

here we go again. Toyota forever stuck with 2.5litre NA engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • torquealot on Sep 04, 2013 at 4:33 pm

For RM260K, I rather get an new Camry 2.5V or new Accord 2.4Vti-L for RM172K and save RM88k for my second car, a new Vios or a City !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
    • dugong on Sep 04, 2013 at 11:47 pm

From your statement, sorry you are telling us that you can not afford this car. please call Sam Loo for appointment to get your Camry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 64
    • Sam Loo on Sep 13, 2013 at 10:23 pm

I would recommend the used K5 or Sonata instead.

9-14 month old vehicle, immaculate condition, between 12,000kms and 19,000kms.

Depending on colour, the cheapest is RM80k selling on the road without insurance

• lamanblog on Sep 04, 2013 at 4:41 pm

for RM260k, I rather go makan puas2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • Cheap for the badge but engine is disappointing

• jolly_idiot on Sep 04, 2013 at 7:46 pm

It’s not a toyota.

• haha, for 260k, i rather get audi a6 hybrid, below 300k. i believe totally different feel and class.

• Sam Loo on Sep 13, 2013 at 10:24 pm

You will feel totally different in class driving a sui kwan Euro coz you will have the tow truck operators number on speedial 2 of your mobile phone

• torquealot on Sep 06, 2013 at 12:43 pm

Dugong, seems to me that someone of your level can’t really appreciate the concept “value for money”. By the way, i can easily afford a car far more luxury than Lexus.
    p/s: You really are a Dugong, don’t you ?

• jessica NG on Sep 10, 2013 at 10:00 am

i think the es250 is rightly priced due to it is between camry and is250. due to it is using a 2.5 l 4 cylinder engine due to that toyota save alot of money

• coolooc on Sep 30, 2013 at 2:10 pm

is always easier to comment on this and that, wait till u can affortd to drive one then start talking