Volkswagen Georgetown opens on Jln Sungai Pinang

vw-georgetown

Volkswagen Georgetown opened its doors to the public over the weekend. Operated by Penang-based Goh Brothers Motor, the launch of VW Georgetown brings the total number of Volkswagen dealerships in Malaysia to 28. Appointed as a VW dealer in 2007, Goh Brothers now has five outlets in the northern region.

The two-storey, 20,000 sq ft facility on Jalan Sungai Pinang is a 3S centre providing sales, service and spare parts. It has comfortable lounges, parking bays, a merchandise corner, free WiFi and drinks plus reading materials, including Think Blue booklets, of course.

“An investment such as this is crucial for Volkswagen’s brand growth and we are confident that Goh Brothers Motor’s 50 years of experience in the automotive industry will strong contribution to Volkswagen. We are pleased to continue our long term partnership with them and we wish them the best of success in Georgetown,” said Dr Zeno Kerschbaumer, MD of Volkswagen Group Malaysia.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• VW lunatic on Oct 28, 2013 at 4:12 pm

the more you open ,
    the more you suffer .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 17
    • MalaysiaBoleh on Oct 28, 2013 at 9:04 pm

Don’t worry about whats written here … Its written by Peugeot and Ford salesmen bitter about excess stock in their yard. How do I know? Their salesmen told me so, when I went to survey their cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
      • MalaysiaBoleh on Oct 28, 2013 at 9:06 pm

By the way, i work with a survey research company

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
        • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 29, 2013 at 9:43 am

VW is one problematic car. Their DSG is the single biggest auto scandal in the history of cars. No point opening more service centres when each customer got to wait minimum 3 months for their DSG to be replaced. Then another 3 months to replace their “already replaced” DSG.

So in a year, you drive your car only about 90 days. The rest of the time, the car in the workshop replacing DSGs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
          • Toyotasucks on Oct 29, 2013 at 10:10 am

Are you sure DSG is the biggest scandal in auto industry?

If you follow the news Toyota has the most number of scandals and lawsuits in the world now due to poor quality and problematic electronics and mechanicals. Even the Camry got downgraded in the US recently because it failed the important US crash test.

• Das Auta.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 18
  • _xXx_ on Oct 28, 2013 at 4:52 pm

wow, it looks haunted ler…due to recent price hike or the fast changing transmission???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 14
  • dino years on Oct 28, 2013 at 5:00 pm

Trying to flood the island with broken dsgs?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 18
    • Chris on Oct 28, 2013 at 5:31 pm

Haven’t seen any broken down VWs on the island yet.

Plus, with the cheaper Polo Sedan, I think I’d rather see that on the road rather than the new Vios.

Wait.. I rather not see cars on the road… too many cars D:

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 18
      • monday on Oct 28, 2013 at 5:58 pm

Wait till you get xxxked by the warranty claim from das auta…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
    • frenzyaustin on Oct 28, 2013 at 5:57 pm

I saw a lot of Golf MK7 in Penang already. They are the uneducated buyers. A price of a D-Seg car to buy a C-Seg car seriously? A Mazda 6 is nearly better in every way. Better looking, bigger size, more power, better handling except they really need a hatchback.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 15
      • amokio on Oct 28, 2013 at 9:20 pm

Do you mean educated people only drive Preve? or smart guys drive Inspira??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
      • austin guy, although i agree with you that the golf is pretty steep on the price relative to other makes of the same category, but i do not condone your actions of labeling them as uneducated. people buy car for various reasons, and they are personal. since you do not know them, calling them uneducated is really uncalled for and shows the lack of education from your side.

pls respect other people’s choices. you and i may not pick the golf, but there are others who will even if you through them the mazda 6 and bla bla bla.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • eric ooi on Oct 28, 2013 at 11:21 pm

come’on it’s their money, let them spend on whatever they’re interested, everyone taste was different, good or bad, just respect their decision….

• frenzyaustin on Oct 29, 2013 at 2:33 pm

When people buy Golf: come’on it’s their money, let them spend on whatever they’re interested.

When people buy Vios: GOD!!!! IDIOTIC BEHAVIOUR!!!! VIOS ARE JUNK AND STUPID BUY THEM!!!!

• Bob_B78 on Oct 28, 2013 at 11:25 pm

Don’t just simply insult other ppl intelligence just because they bought Golf over Mazda 6, especially when you don’t own any D-segment car.

• frenzyaustin on Oct 29, 2013 at 7:30 am

I doesn’t meant to insult them on their intelligence. What I meant is they need to seek more advice while buying a car. Most people mindset is VW = premium car because German badge, but they don’t know they overpaid their car.

• Chris on Oct 29, 2013 at 9:38 am

What about people who wants something that feels nicer than the average Japanese/Korean cars, but want something more compact?

Penang isn’t very big you know. Some people might want an easier car to drive or park, or just a smaller car so it doesn’t block other people when parking at a narrow road.

I can’t remember the number of times I saw a Mazda 6 can’t totally fit inside QBM’s parking spot, same goes to some other big cars. While not for everyone, the Golf is a valid choice for some people.

• Bob_B78 on Oct 29, 2013 at 9:48 am

Actually, there are something in golf that is better than mazda 6. For example, FC is better, acceleration is better, parking easier(smaller car), Euro NCAP is slightly better.
            U mentioned about overpaid, but actually did you noticed that japanese C-segment fully loaded car is way better spec and faster than d-segment 2.0l car. Price different is around 20k. So when you buy a 2.0l d segment japanese car, have you considered that you are overpaying for a slightly bigger car with less features?

• frenzyaustin on Oct 29, 2013 at 2:30 pm

For Camry, yes, I agree it’s overpaid, and also Vios too. I do agree people might seek for Golf for it’s compact, that’s why I said nearly better in every way. If I’m the buyer, I might go for Focus hatchback. Both are German engineered car, only one of them carries American badge. And the price premium over the Focus isn’t worth for the quality difference. It’s ok for 10K difference but near 30K difference make no sense at all. Well, considering the fc, why buy a car with such a money and consider fc is better? You can’t save more than RM30K of fuel compare to your competitor in 6 years.

• GOLF MK7 only similar price to Mazda 6 2.0 , not the 2.5 , it only has bigger size, far more less power. My bro chosen the 2.5 cause he tested the 2.0 and it is sluggish. So please dun simply call other uneducated.

• VolkSHITgen,
    Das Failure

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 19
    • frenzyaustin on Oct 28, 2013 at 9:05 pm

German Engineering, fail in hot country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
      • Not really, dsg7 failed in china too.

• austin guy, you are making assumptions. how do you know it’s the climate that’s causing the dsg failures? is china hotter than malaysia? why does china has so many more dsg failures?

i hope you are not an armchair critic who just pluck ideas from the air and blasts them out.

• frenzyaustin on Oct 29, 2013 at 2:40 pm

Volkswagen admit that their DSG problem is due to hot and wet climate, extreme stop-start traffic and pollution. DSG is like a beta for a extremely good gearbox.
          http://www.caradvice.com.au/235101/volkswagen-australia-recalls-25000-cars-over-dsg-defect/
          http://www.caradvice.com.au/231339/volkswagen-gearbox-recall-expands-to-japan-91000-cars-affected/
          http://www.caradvice.com.au/221377/volkswagen-china-recall-384000-vehicles-600m/

• There are 2 different issues here. The mechatronics failure is due to heat and VW has already launched a recall to address it for all VW produced 2011 and before. This is not really the problem faced by most M’sian VW owners. The problem complained the most here is the judderring issue at D2. This is due to clutch plate and has nothing to do with the mechatronics and weather.

• My VW on Oct 28, 2013 at 8:58 pm

This service center’s service is very bad. I hate to service there but no choice due to warranty.

I’ll never buy a VW again for sure. Car? Not bad. BUT
    Service? I’ll just say, “I can’t believe it!”

• you can try service at juru or at sg tiram where the new hicom branch just opened.

• another dealer for faulty garbage

• passerby on Oct 28, 2013 at 11:41 pm

haha! i bet you all didn’t know so much about goh brothers don’t you? this volkswagen is just their little business to wash black money… penang people will know their family business nature…

• alldisc on Oct 29, 2013 at 11:22 am

i believe goh brothers is making huge profit from business activities involving 2 Toyota dealerships (Telagamas) and Lexus dealer in Penang…

they will not make money with VW, but all costs are covered by the Toyota outlets

• passerby, pls spill the beans instead of just enticing people for nothing. if you want to share, just share it. we would like to know.

• hate Goh Brothers on Oct 29, 2013 at 1:30 am

VW Is good car except it got poor resale value, Easy break down dsg gearbox n engine, long waiting period for sparepart, easy get void warranty started 3rd above, unresolved problems that required visit workshop few times. Poor after sales service especially from Penang GOH BROTHERS VW dealer. IF ALL THESE PROBLEMS not concern for u, then VW STILL GOOD CAR LO.

• pls share 1 or 2 of the worst experience you have. we would like to know.

• no to bad dealer on Oct 29, 2013 at 1:47 am

Dr.Zeno, you playing fire by given new dealership to goh brothers. Their service is damn poor. Worst dealership ever in car industry, can’t keep promises, lying to customer, just put up survey to all goh brothers customers especially after sales, ask for scoring and i guarantee they fail the scoring.

• bad dealership on Oct 29, 2013 at 1:48 am

Dr.Zeno, you playing fire by given new dealership to goh brothers. Their service is damn poor. Worst dealership ever in car industry, can’t keep promises, lying to customer, just put up survey to all goh brothers customers especially after sales, ask for scoring and i guarantee they fail the scoring.

• hate Goh Brothers on Oct 31, 2013 at 12:24 pm

case 1: My Car send in for claim part “wheelliner” mid of 2012, no update & keep saying no news until my car meet accident on early march 2013. Ask then to order bumber bracket, saying part ordered take 2 weeks togather with reorder wheel liner claim part. 2 week after, they said sparepart department forgot to order need to wait for additional 2 week…..and i think they never claim the wheel liner for me since started until i ake noise to VGM.

Case 2: My friend CC caliper claim, need to visit once service center 6 times in a role from Taiping to Penang. Found out caliper claim ready on 2 visit but not install and replace with lubricant oil told my friend part being replaced. Until my friend ask them print out job sheet document to check what they did and found the problems. Make noise to VGM then they replace the claim caliper only problem solved.

Case 3..4..5 and lot lot more…all from same dealer VW Goh Brothers dealer….Is first time we suport and oso last time buying VW…