F56 MINI Cooper & Cooper S hatch – pix appear online

mini-firstpix-1

Although the car has not actually been officially revealed, the first pix of the new F56 MINI hatchback have made their way onto onto BangkokPost‘s website.

Pictured here is a yellow Cooper S hatchback, which is expected to have a 192 hp 2.0 litre inline-four engine under the hood – a much bigger engine than the second-gen Cooper S it replaces. Zero to 100 km/h times improve from 7.2 seconds currently to 6.7 seconds.

mini-firstpix-2

The Cooper has a three-cylinder 1.5 litre engine making 136 hp. It’s no longer normally-aspirated, but turbocharged like the Cooper S. Turbo power means significantly more torque, which translates into significantly better acceleration – 0 to 100 km/h times are expected to improve from about 10.4 seconds currently to 7.8 seconds.

We’ll be back with more details on the new F56 MINI hatchback when the full details are revealed.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• blackbox on Nov 18, 2013 at 1:26 pm

I think there are really something wrong with the prince engine And BMW not using it anymore. Reliability problems?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • sudonano on Nov 18, 2013 at 4:19 pm

Actually no. It is because the contract for BMW to use the Prince engine ends in 2015, which is in 2 years and will no longer be renewed. Hence, they have made their own turbo 1.5 unit.

Personally i like it. Just waiting to see if a 5 door hatch will be true.

• sam69 on Nov 18, 2013 at 1:34 pm

meh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • hmm… i think the new mini must be designd by the same person that penned the porsche 911 since the beginning… i hardly spot the difference from the old one…

• Julian Lee on Nov 18, 2013 at 2:00 pm

no more floating rear lampu… boo… BMW better

• GTRbetter on Nov 18, 2013 at 2:46 pm

New car look Japanese, big eyes and also big mouth… resembling a Japanese mosquito coil holder, fishy looking face. Not far off from a CRZ from the front…

• D.I.Y on Nov 18, 2013 at 3:58 pm

Yaya.. but in term power and handling so much far away from japanese.

• I can see the differences, but this could easily pass as a facelift instead of a new model.

• I don’t like the tail lights. They’ve gone back to the 2007 model tail lights …

• PauKaya on Nov 19, 2013 at 1:51 am

ex-mini sized MINI

• MINI is a good base to play Spot-the-Different contest.

• steven jardim on Dec 18, 2013 at 1:48 am

ilove my mini copper s I cannot wait for mini f56