Volkswagen Scirocco – third-gen gets a facelift

volkswagen-scirocco-facelift-0008

Some cars – coupes in particular – can get through their entire lives without ever needing a facelift done to them. At six years old with nary an aesthetic modification done to it, the Volkswagen Scirocco looked set to become one of these cars. But with a replacement rumoured to still be three or four years away, VW has bitten the bullet and given the chopped Golf a subtle nip and tuck.

How subtle? Exterior changes are limited to new bi-xenon headlights with LED daytime running lights, a new grille with a larger opening, reprofiled bumpers and tailgate and new LED tail lights. All these changes apply to both the regular model as well as the high-performance R and help the Scirocco – the progenitor of Volkswagen’s current design language – keep up with the corporate look. New 17- to 19-inch wheels are available.

volkswagen-scirocco-facelift-0026

Inside the Scirocco gets treated to new air-con vents, a revised centre console, new gearknobs and a new covered storage compartment behind the gearlever. Also new are a flat-bottomed steering wheel and an instrument cluster, both of which were taken from the Mk7 Golf GTI.

The main change in the interior are a set of auxiliary gauges atop the centre console, which Volkswagen say harks back to the original Scirocco. Other new features include a new Dynaudio Excite audio system and ParkAssist, as well as stop/start and battery regeneration systems on all models under 220 PS.

volkswagen-scirocco-facelift-0001

Four new or improved petrol engines and two revised diesels can be found under the bonnet of the new Scirocco, all of them showing performance and fuel economy increases. A new base-tune 2.0 TSI engine replaces the top-spec 1.4 TSI of the old car, bringing along 20 more PS for a total of 180 PS. Elsewhere, there is a revised 220 PS 2.0 TSI from the Mk7 Golf GTI, while the R model has been tuned to 280 PS, an increase of 15 PS.

The facelifted Volkswagen Scirocco will debut at next month’s Geneva Motor Show. To this writer’s eyes at least, the updates make the car look a little less sleek and the design is now less cohesive as a whole. What do you think?

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• the current scirocco is sexier than this new design…nope, not liking it at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
    • AutoFrenz on Feb 17, 2014 at 8:40 pm

Now it looks like a frog…the previous one like a toad…a penyet toad…which is a good sign no?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
    • Can get hundred of facelifts also but the DSG is DSG. It will be the same. The DSG cannot be used in Malaysia at all because VW Germany already admit in 2013 that ALL their DSG, even the 2013 models, cannot be used in hot countries and countires with traffic jam.

So to all DSG owners in Malaysia, to avoid breakdowns, drive your junk in the night only!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
      • Deidre on Feb 19, 2014 at 9:36 am

They did not admit that their 2013 model was affected. By the way, they have rectified the problem which affects dry clutch DSG’s until the year 2011, not just by VW, but also Honda, BMW and other cars. So stop being a hypocrite and saying things which you might be sued for.

• Lazy designers but anyway some of them still cant afford it.

• Albert on Feb 17, 2014 at 5:09 pm

come mon, this car need a new design instead of a facelift

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Aceonz on Feb 17, 2014 at 6:08 pm

yea…we need more mature look

• akula on Feb 17, 2014 at 6:48 pm

Mature look? Can you explain how it is? You want car look like truck or what? I hate comment from stupid people thinking they so “pandai”. This car target for young people, not for UNCLE like you laa…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 16
        • Aceonz on Feb 17, 2014 at 7:55 pm

im 26 , not enough young ke ?how can you judge “pandai” from just a few words ? childish enug…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
          • akula on Feb 17, 2014 at 8:15 pm

Go buy Camry laa…
            Young only in your age, but, “uncle” in your heart..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
          • Neutral on Feb 18, 2014 at 8:32 am

Everybody has their right to comment based on individual thought & perspective. Bashing on the “person” is unwarranted.

• Najib Razak on Feb 18, 2014 at 10:27 am

Who do you think you are calling people stupid? Who gives you the rights to say so? God?

• Peter lim on Feb 18, 2014 at 10:37 am

Scirocco more suit 22 to 25 ! 26 consider a45

• Timothy on Feb 17, 2014 at 5:26 pm

For better or for worse, this car looks closer now to the Mark 7 Golf.

• Hasan on Feb 17, 2014 at 5:28 pm

Looks okay on the silver car rear. The R Rear is horrible. The ori design is looking outdated already from rear.

• DarrenLee on Feb 17, 2014 at 5:29 pm

I like the new design better. The old one made the car blob sided from certain angles.

• yucks!!!

• Preve better!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 35
  • Seriously VW’s designed are way too bored nowadays. BORINGG!! Next car please… :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
  • Seriously VW’s designed are way too bored nowadays. BORINGG!! Next car please… :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • The dashboard looks like something from Mitsubishi Mirage/Attrage. =.=

• John Nash on Feb 17, 2014 at 6:46 pm

Well atleast there is a change on the engine and interior.
    I like how the shape of the LED DRL.
    Looks stunning.
    I just might swap my current Scirocco to this one! If it come to our market later lah.

Our local car maker?
    Redesign bumper, bumper, bumper.
    Oh,the tailamp and headlight too.

Justsayin

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • mrpera on Feb 17, 2014 at 7:25 pm

Why from agressive design to a conservative one? Cant it be more agressive?

• budlee on Feb 18, 2014 at 9:48 am

“A new basetune TSI engine” LOL

they really are slowly killing the 1.4 TSI. Slow? More like painful death for a close relative.

• paucharsiew on Feb 18, 2014 at 10:12 am

vw, that’s a pretty poor photoshop

• mr.ass on Feb 18, 2014 at 12:32 pm

prefer the old Scirocco R’s Steering

• nabill on Feb 18, 2014 at 12:54 pm

Ive driven da 1.4 tsi many times n its awesome… But the interior is jus like any vw car… No difrentiation at all… When ur driving it its jus like a golf/jetta bt once u get out thn u feel da awesome design… And after 30k mileage its super reliable n solid…

• the previous 1 or this 1, still ugly..

• Rocco rocco on Feb 18, 2014 at 6:34 pm

Finally the rear emblum can flip to give an access for rev. camera.

• ordinary joe on Feb 18, 2014 at 8:20 pm

Why cant they just make the rear rocco seat fit 3 people? I know most people will say get a golf if u wanna fit 5 people.. but is it wrong if u want a sexy coupe that will fit 5?

• motorhead on Feb 18, 2014 at 9:33 pm

What’s wrong with frog? I like frogs.. even though VW not in my radar (not until they improve customer service)

• NurburgringDriver on Mar 03, 2014 at 11:06 pm

Its stunning! Both the R and non-R model. I like the facelift of this car it’s really stunning. Just don’t get why people say its ugly…

• caasiuat on Apr 08, 2015 at 10:44 pm

I have one scirocco 2.0Tsi DSG and I wanna increase the number to three,with old R and the new R ,once a head Turner always a head Turner…