BMW Group Malaysia first half 2014 sales up 13%

bmw-wta-malaysian-open

Premium brands continue to thrive in Malaysia. Along with German rival Mercedes-Benz, BMW has reported growth in the first half of 2014. In the first six months of the year, BMW Group Malaysia delivered a total of 4,274 vehicles comprising 3,724 BMWs, 296 MINIs and 254 BMW Motorrads.

That’s a 13% year-on-year growth, primarily driven by an increase in sales of the 3 Series and F10 LCI 5 Series. The mainstays contributed over 66% of total sales with 2,056 and 792 units registered respectively.

New models introduced so far this year are the F15 BMW X5 (now CKD locally-assembled), 2 Series Coupe, 4 Series Convertible, 420i Coupe, 4 Series Gran Coupe, M3 Sedan, M4 Coupe and the third-gen MINI. The 3 Series Gran Turismo was reintroduced as a CKD model. Click the links for our launch reports.

There’s momentum on the BMW Motorrad front too, with the introduction of the BMW R nineT, S 1000 R, R 1200 GS Adventure, K 1600 GTL Exclusive and R 1200 RT motorcycles. The F 800 R and F 800 GS are now assembled in Thailand and available here with lower prices, from RM63,800.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• beemer on Aug 12, 2014 at 12:57 pm

Well done beemer…guess the introduction of the competitive entry version 316 & 116 have increased the beemer ownership amongst msian. More Msian can afford to gets the experience of driving a RWD cars

• Folger - Bullshit Sales Figures on Aug 13, 2014 at 10:12 am

These are bullshit sales figures. The figures are far lower than these cause Sime Darby Group buys yearly about 1000 units of BMW 5 and 3 series for their VP1 (5 series) and VP2 (3 series) cars yearly. They buy it for their wholly owned subsidiary Herts Rental who leases the car back to the Sime Darby Group staff.

So, this is not really sales. The parent company is buying from BMW Malaysia (wholly owned by Sime Darby, to be given to Hertz (wholly owned by Sime Darby) to be given as company cars to Sime Darby staff.

That even does not include the many 7 series for the directors. So, it actual fact BMW Malaysia only sells about 1000 BMW cars in Malaysia and NOT 3724.

• BMW Champion of RV Fall on Aug 13, 2014 at 10:47 am

Nobody really buys new BMWs in Malaysia cause their RV drops over RM100,000k in the first year alone. And it is 100% BMW Malaysia’s fault that it has RV that falls like a rock.

Just before year end, around August onwards, BMW will throw their prices. My friend bought a brand new 2013 model (pre reg) BMW 520i in August 2013 with just 2000KM in it for RM260,000 when the actual price is RM370,000. Car is hardly 10 months old.

So, if BMW Malaysia themselves can sell their pre reg or demo cars in the hundreds of units for less than RM110,000, do you know what it does to the 2nd hand market?

It collapses the 2nd hand market. Now you can get 2013 or 2014 BMW in the 2nd hand market (1 year old) for at least RM100,000 less.

Thank you BMW for collapsing the RV of all BMW owners.

So why buy brand new when you can buy a 1 year old car for RM100,000 less?

• Yeah you’re right. I just got a 2014 328i msport through their July mega sales promo.

It’s not a demo car, salesman said they have these discounts occasionally to hit their quota. So 1000km millage registered in June at 288,000 from 309,000

It’s practically their fault getting into this mess i think. You offer massive discounts occasionally and no one will buy an actual full price new bmw. The only thing i lose out on i reckon would be 1.5 months of warranty already wasted.

• Yeah so many sore loser merc salesman, “I can’t swim because my balls are too heavy”.

• LOL…really?I have someone working inside BMW HQ at Putrajaya and I am close to him. He told me malaysian BMW sales figure is ever rising. And of coz, it is including fleet purchase. However, they dont calculate the hertz car rental figure.. Hmm.. wondering where u got these info from? Malaysian luxury car market is getting stronger. But not as strong as Thai. Due to our lousy economy.

• AVH (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 1:01 pm

I did recall on the X5 post that alot were saying the BMW are going to loose their sales in Malaysia.

• sudonano (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 3:27 pm

I think there was a lot of rumours too going around saying that the MBM was gonna beat BMW Group for once, but they didn’t, though they came commendably close.

BMW’s 116i and more so the 316i has been an unexpected success. What was initially just a showroom attractor has become one of their sales contributors. It’s decently specced and priced for the size. Especially if you go for that MYF1RSTBMW programme, the balloon financing does drive sales.

I’m just surprised why Audi has not done Audi Finance yet, but I guess when Audi AG opens up, they will too. And hopefully MBM will push up their Agility programme more. In fact, they should actually start leasing options too, it could push these numbers even further. Imagine for the instalments of a Focus, you can drive away with a 320i on lease.

• Ibrahim on Aug 12, 2014 at 1:11 pm

You’ve got the money, you buy. Not like some people whining like a child blaming AP, blaming PROTON and blaming whatever else. Moreover for some less fortunate there is nine years loan ma!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
    • Same L0rrr on Aug 12, 2014 at 3:36 pm

No wonder Proton need to beg RM1.7bil. The bosses are getting their BMW.

BMW for the rich, Toyota/Honda for the average, Perodua for the basic/practical, Proton… for the syok sendiri smoker (smoking lorry and bicycle).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • Ibrahim on Aug 12, 2014 at 4:57 pm

You don’t have to be rich to pocket out 3k or 4k per month for the installments. Today earning 15k a month does not mean you are rich.

• Same L0rrr on Aug 12, 2014 at 7:16 pm

Yes you are right.

Today, earning 15k a month does not mean you are rich. But earning less than RM10k a month means you are poor (No sarcastic). Agreed?

Things are so expensive, thus ppl looking for relatively cheap and reliable car, which end up Perodua and Toyota are the top seller.

Can smoke other car? Lotus handling? Not Malaysian driver’s top consideration.

• There are so many people who own BMWs or Mercs but when you go to their house you see that they use cheap furniture and cheap plates including cheap melamine wares. Not rich ma ! ! Terrace houses in cheap place some more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
        • das auto on Aug 12, 2014 at 5:34 pm

Well, not everyone feels spending heavily on furniture or plates is worth the money. I know most multi millionaires stay in 3-5 million bungalows and own shop lots but use average furniture only. While those that stay in 900k luxury condos buy high end 40k sofa sets and mattresses. To each his own. Nothing wrong if ppl spend on the things they like.

Of course if you are just renting in a cheap flat while driving a brand new BMW, that is pretty extreme.

• So its the same for someone that use proton not to be considered poor. There are many people who use proton but contribute 3k or 5k for their church or their religious school.

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 1:59 pm

Who said malaysian are poor. Obviously alot are rich in many ways.

• Kangkung on Aug 12, 2014 at 3:03 pm

Yes. Malaysian are rich.Thanks to government
      Buying Kangkung car @ Chicken price.
      We eat Kangkung, cronies eat chicken.
      We buy Myvi @ Civic price
      We buy Preve @ Camry price
      We buy Civic @ Beemer price
      These tax are paid which is more than fuel subsidy.

When AP abolished? Mana Janji Mr.Chicken?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
      • samelorstpd on Aug 12, 2014 at 8:57 pm

Nah, according to Same Lorr, who is driving Proton is poor and syok sendiri.

Same Lorrr stupid comment in 3..2..1..

• Nine years installments allow affordability. Some people complain some more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • Sam Loo (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 2:30 pm

Sam Loo doesn’t criticize BMW so much, but Sam Loo wants to ask you all this question – why buy a BMW which cost so much when you can buy a Camry and get an equivalent or better RV?

Even my 4 yr old son can tell me which one is the better choice. He has the new Camry as his iPad wallpaper. Makes me so proud. Sometimes he switches it to a Hilux just to make me buy him an ice cream.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • das auto on Aug 12, 2014 at 5:54 pm

Camry no class brader…look like ah pek only. Don’t get me started about the Hilux. Indon construction worker’s ride.
      Camry only can attract ah soh and aunty age 40-50 while BMW can attract all chicks…
      So your 4 yr old don’t understand lor. Hahahah

• samelorstpd on Aug 12, 2014 at 8:59 pm

Camry is for show off only, nothing to shout about. Even Preve turbo can smoke it upside down inside out.
      The real rich man drives NEW BMW

Understand?

• Depends what your priorities are I guess. I wanted a fun car but not full out sports/coupe car. BMW f30 matched my needs right now (would love to consider audi and merc but their A4 and C-class are end of life already and i don’t want to wait)

Drove a cx-5 previously and now i’ve passed that to the wifey. So i think that’s the right balance between fun and praticalness.

• sam loo111 on Aug 12, 2014 at 2:51 pm

so Zhang jian bought many of these ? hence sales higher ?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 6:20 pm

that fler buy second hand one…why i know …cos he is my macai…told him should get mercedes…if not

• gbfail on Aug 12, 2014 at 9:00 pm

Another Sam Loo in the making (syok sendiri man)

• Sam Loo (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 10:55 am

Sam Loo doesn’t syok sendiri. Sam Loo talk facts.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:33 pm

sam loo no longer sell toyota…now he come jalan 2/22 join me sell mercedes

• 328GT on Aug 12, 2014 at 6:02 pm

Well done BMW!!! One the proud owner of 328GT. But…CBU unit. You guys know what i mean.haha!

• v12turbo on Aug 12, 2014 at 9:03 pm

Saw 528 hogging fastest lane on winding road.
      Bad handling or the driver must be slowpoke.

• alonso on Aug 12, 2014 at 9:25 pm

328GT.. Haha. Congrats, i can understand. Well its never a good idea to rush whenever a new model is introduced esp bmw. The same thing when they launched th 328 msport. You should know how they drop the price only few months later just to clear stock, of course with the reason for year end discount.

Bmw, king of discount. So be patient, dont rush

• Das Auto on Aug 12, 2014 at 11:14 pm

You mean Lexus is the King of discounts? Walk into the showroom then you will know what I mean. No sohai is buying those overpriced junk. So now they throw massive ginormous discounts to clear last year stock. I have been told that there is even 2012 stock for lexus LS. Sales have been dropping badly while merc n bimmer and even audi continue to eat up their already pathetic puny share. Now with ct200h not moving any sale, they can pack up soon n balik USA join those american muscle fugly junks.

• W204 C63 AMG on Aug 12, 2014 at 9:26 pm

Fleet sales play a huge part too. They are offering 10% discount on the F30 3 series for the company that I work with.

• W204 C63 AMG on Aug 12, 2014 at 9:31 pm

Sorry, I should rephrase, 10% for employees up to a certain ranking, and God knows how much they are giving to companies.