SPYSHOTS: White Nissan Note sighted in Malaysia with registered Wilayah number plate

nissan-note-malaysia-spy-0001

Remember that white Nissan Note that we saw in Bangsar? That one had a trade plate. Today we caught another Nissan Note in the Klang Valley, this time registered with a Wilayah number plate.

Could it be the very same car? Maybe, or maybe not – the Bangsar car was fitted with black steel wheels while this white one looks like it had alloy wheels. This could also very well be a grey import.

Malaysia first got a preview of the Nissan Note at KLIMS 2013, where the Honda Jazz-size tall roof hatchback was displayed together with a preliminary spec sheet. The spec sheet listed a 1.5 iltre HR15DE CVTC engine, producing 102 PS and 139 Nm of torque, mated to a four-speed automatic gearbox.

The last official word was that the Nissan Note was planned to be launched by the end of 2014. The word through the grapevine now is that the launch has been postponed while Tan Chong works on how to get a more competitive price on it. The new Honda Jazz probably has something to do with it, launched recently with attractive pricing and specifications, and the H badge is more popular with the consumers.

Nissan’s next product launches should be the facelifted Nissan Serena S-Hybrid MPV and the new Nissan X-Trail, both set to be locally assembled in Malaysia.

GALLERY: Nissan Note at KLIMS 2013

GALLERY: Nissan Note NISMO

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 27, 2014 at 12:08 am

Woahh.. this is interesting. .

• peynoo on Sep 27, 2014 at 8:54 am

Proton: Price it above Iriz ok.

Tan Chong: Ok, final price RM92K.

Proton: Hmm, so mine is 62K, yours 92K.

Tan Chong: Ya lor, 6 jadi 9 terbalik. Happy now?

Proton: Yes, yes thank you Sir.

Tan Chong: Sigh. (shake his head)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 13
      • MoFaz (Member) on Sep 27, 2014 at 11:13 am

tipuuu.. Honda Jazz is selling at 72-88k. your Note must sell cheaper than Jazz to compete. but, even if it’s slightly cheaper, more people will choose Jazz over Note for design, interior and safety.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
        • rifle on Sep 27, 2014 at 12:52 pm

Nope.. I think the price is within Jazz’s price

• Nissan on Sep 27, 2014 at 11:51 pm

i think most of Nissan range of model is priced lower than H or T brand, so this one should be cheaper than Jazz. Have recently been passenger inside the new Jazz, not really comfortable at the back, much worse than priusC.

• Gargantia on Sep 27, 2014 at 9:17 am

Yes, need more competitor.
      TCM please price it below Almera with a better spec.

• KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 27, 2014 at 10:13 am

Wah! Why 1M4U version always so Fugly! Better buy Axia > ALL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
  • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Sep 27, 2014 at 12:30 am

Why 4-speeder only…? At least 5-speeder or CVT would be better…

• riz (Member) on Sep 27, 2014 at 1:43 am

other countries offer 5speed manual / xtronic CVT
      hope the price are lower than Almera with better spec.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nissan_Note

• 5 speed for what, KL everywhere also jam. Traffic stop everytime.

if you don’t like then go get other cars, no matter what this car sure can sell well one, depends on person’s perspective.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
  • komen berfakta on Sep 27, 2014 at 12:57 am

habis la protong… baru saja nak syok sendiri

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 24
    • riz (Member) on Sep 27, 2014 at 1:48 am

Wheelbase 2,600 mm (102.4 in)
      Length 4,100 mm (161.4 in)
      Width 1,695 mm (66.7 in)
      Height 1,525 mm (60.0 in)
      some info on the note ,,
      http://www.nissanusa.com/cars/versa-note/versions-specs

• MoFaz (Member) on Sep 27, 2014 at 2:03 am

have you ever tried to compare specs between this and Iriz before you say this? and this is actually mini MPV, not a direct competitor to Iriz but Alza

• MoFaz (Member) on Sep 27, 2014 at 2:16 am

sorry, not exactly MPV, but ‘styled’ like MPV rather than compact car to get as much cargo / boot space as possible. just like Jazz. no doubt Jazz will be more popular choice here compared to Note.

• OMG…The new Jazz is ugly expecially the rear…puihhh…like mini volvo…Note look nicer….

• torque on Sep 27, 2014 at 1:01 am

Oh goodness, please bring it in. When I visit KLIMS 2013 n take a look closely at this vehicle, I’m seriously wishes to buy it. Absolutely loved the space Nissan could offer in a very “small” package.

• CompactCarHeatUp on Sep 27, 2014 at 1:18 am

It a sign of competition heat up after PCC launch but maybe in premium price range

• tok bomoh on Sep 27, 2014 at 10:26 am

Iriz 1.3L version likely big sales, but the 1.6L people will find it rather expensive and better top up to buy basic Almera, Attrage or Vios J.

Sales cannibalising wise, Iriz will affect entire Proton’s other models from Saga to basic Preve, which in turn will not really increase Proton total group sales. Just a shift of volume to Iriz in expense of other model sales.

As for Myvi surely affected by Iriz, but Axia will help cushion the impact so there is less nett effect on Perodua total group sales.

Both Proton and Perodua will maintain their sales volume but it depends on entire competition as well. Now Nissan Note will join the fray and go against Jazz, Vios, City. It is competition at new level we’ve seen for a long time.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 27, 2014 at 1:27 am

don really care about the car…but after a ridiculous amount of proton iriz news…its nice to read about something else

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 5
    • ajo haterzs on Sep 27, 2014 at 6:40 am

betul betul betul…..too much of iriz news……betul betul betul

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
      • igloo on Sep 27, 2014 at 3:53 pm

Kalau berita Merz / AMG tiap2 hari lagi tak guna. Bukan you all mampu nak beli pun.

How do I know? I know la, hahahaha!!!!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 28, 2014 at 12:38 am

mampu tak mampu…tak penting. yg penting ada variety. w124 ke w211 ke… semua benz… yg penting paultan.org ada news yang berlainan… kebelakangan ni hanya berita proton… bosan tau… back topic… mari kita tunggu nissan note

• igloo on Sep 28, 2014 at 3:20 pm

W124 is way behind today’s standard, you can throw it into garbage yard ady.

• igloo on Sep 27, 2014 at 3:55 pm

Merz baru ya, bukan W124, itu langgar sikit je dah berkecai, hahahahaha!

• I can’t understand why Nissan should bring this since Juke and competitively priced New 7 seater X-trail deserve their attention.

Between Jazz and this model is no brainer- buyers will opt for the better badge, Jazz. Jazz with 363l boot volume also cheap at RM72K.

If Yaris offered alongside Vios with correct pricing the Toyota model also easily beat Note or Nissan for that matter.

• ProtonGSC on Sep 27, 2014 at 10:14 am

That’s the problem with UMW, never do marketing research before launching new car.

Now fooling themself with sales drop.

• nabill (Member) on Sep 27, 2014 at 10:07 am

Borrring… It offers nothing new to the market… Nothing special, nothing ground breaking, to compete with the jazz, u gotta have sting special bcos the jazz name been here since 2003…

• it’s time NISSAN get up to par with safety standard. We want ESC ( Electronic Stability Control) in Nissan Note.

Nissan cars in other countries can have ESC, why can’t Malaysian have it, is our life so cheap here?

• BLT_Club on Sep 27, 2014 at 3:19 pm

I’d would buy a Note (Nissan nor Samsong). But the juke? In a heartbeat….

• NormanTheGreat (Member) on Sep 27, 2014 at 6:14 pm

What we getting here is not JDM spec but more to Asean spec..Im suprised by the quality of Malaysian Yaris compared to Russian Yaris..Same goes for Proton Persona UK,Their finishing is way better than local ones

• Japanese are truly running out of ideas in design.. Isn’t this similar to the Jazz first edition back in 2002-2003 ?