VIDEO: BMW i3 teardown – learning what makes it tick

bmw i3 malaysia 7

Here’s a different take on the BMW i3Green Car Reports has come up with a story highlighting Munich’s first electric car being disassembled to learn what makes it tick.

The teardown was carried out by US firm Munro & Associates earlier in the year, and the firm has come up with videos focusing on the vehicle’s carbon-fibre reinforced plastic (CFRP), interior as well as the battery pack assembly.

While most of the details gained from the reverse engineering are meant to be sold on as information to interested parties, there’s still a bit of info to be gleaned from the videos.

For example, the use of kenaf fibre on the car is already well known, but the stuff isn’t just found on the door panels – the teardown revealed that the material is also used as the substrate for the instrument panel. And the disassembly process showed that the adhesive used to attach the body structure is stronger than the CFRP itself.

The BMW i3 is powered by an electric motor offering 170 hp and 250 Nm and has an operating range of 130-160 km. We’ve tried out the little EV, but unlike the BMW i8, this one won’t be sold here (of course, that was also said about the latter).

BMW i3

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• BMW i3, built on a tough and durable ladder frame platform.

Similar to Avanza,Innova,Pajero sport, Everest and Fortuner.

• jambantoyota on May 07, 2015 at 11:10 pm

Kid came here comparing ferrari with jamban camry.
      Go back and drive your junk Toyota. Having 4 tyres dun mean they are in same class and quality.

• jambanproton on May 09, 2015 at 2:49 pm

Kid came here comparing BMW with jamban Iriz.
        Go back and drive your junk Proton. Having 4 tyres dun mean they are in same class and quality.

• The Chinese are going to have a field day

• Areyousure on May 07, 2015 at 6:24 pm

This is something really good for town drive :)

• i3=myvi on May 07, 2015 at 11:26 pm

It’s basically a myvi with BMW badge, nothing more.

• clever guy on May 08, 2015 at 9:16 am

Hmm.. last time i checked, Myvi does not have sophisticated electric engine, so I do not see how it is similar to Myvi.

• DrCooper on May 08, 2015 at 10:25 am

Oh my god…I’ve always thought Kenaf fiber potential for car body after seeing what the fiber strength capabilities on holding a structure of cracking bridge…and they already did it !