Toyota Camry ESport launched in Thailand – sportier new variant with aggressive looks and more power

camry-esport-thailand-0009

In a surprising move, Toyota has just introduced the Camry ESport to the Thailand market. Instead of being a bodykitted version of the standard Camry though – like Corolla Altis ESport Nurburgring Edition – this sportier variant gets a completely different look to the rest of the range.

By different, we really mean different. The new ESport model matches the look of the American– and Australian-market Toyota Camry, with unique body panels all around. And yes, that includes the doors too.

It’s a far curvier look, with an aggressive gaping grille up front that’s befitting of a sports-oriented model. Twin tailpipes and a prominent bootlid spoiler adorn the rear end, which again, bears little to no resemblance to the Camrys that we are familiar with.

Inside, it’s all different too, as the entire dashboard is exclusive to the ESport model. Gone are the faux-wood trim panels, replaced by a sportier treatment that includes aluminium-like silver panels. Weirdly enough, though, it retains the older air-con dials instead of the newer button-type controls introduced in our latest facelifted Camry.

The steering wheel is a three-spoke affair – the same as the rest of the Thai-market Camrys – while the foot pedals now have alloy highlights. The rest of the cabin matches that of the Australian Camry, down to the front sports seats with maroon-ish side bolsters.

Believe it or not, there are changes under the skin too. The 2.5 litre engine option has been tuned up to make 185 hp and 235 Nm of torque, compared to the standard 2.5’s 181 hp and 231 Nm. The six-speed auto’box now has paddle shifters, and even the suspension has been beefed up to fit the overall theme.

As far as makeovers go, this is as extensive as it gets. In Thailand, the Toyota Camry ESport is priced at 1,639,000 baht (RM182,000), a significant premium over the 1,569,000 baht (RM174,000) standard Camry 2.5G. So what do you think, folks – would you want UMW Toyota to offer this option in Malaysia?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• wiwiwiwiw on Jun 12, 2015 at 1:08 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 181
    • karam singh on Jun 12, 2015 at 7:48 am

I thought its power gonna increase like the honda did,
      2.4 odyssey 170hp to 2.4 absolute 200hp, whopping 30hp increase… not only 3-4hp ;(
      its just the bodykits,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
      • Tau takpe. This is scam sporty syok sendiri variant – Camry SSSV

LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
        • Toyota please close shop, nobody wants overpriced cars here, even Honda can do better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 13
          • Keranda King on Jun 12, 2015 at 3:38 pm

Now Sam Loo (ori1) and Same Lorrrr have ZERO sales. They spend their time masturbating at home.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 30
        • Toyota Moving Coffin (Keranda Bergerak) on Jun 12, 2015 at 3:11 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 160
          • 2014 Camry 2.5 - RM98k on Jun 12, 2015 at 4:01 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 141
          • badrul987 on Jun 12, 2015 at 4:14 pm

comment win…!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • japssyoksendiri on Jun 12, 2015 at 8:03 am

So where are p1 bashers?
      They dun want to blame p1 for the exhorbitant prices?
      Come on blame p1 everywhere, including in Thai! LOLj

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
      • 2014 Camry 2.5 - RM98k on Jun 12, 2015 at 4:04 pm

Do yourself a favour. Tell 10 friends what a fraud UMW has been and tell the 10 friends to tell another 10 friends and so on.

I myself have told friends what a fraud UMW is and in total 5 friends have seen the light and realized, for RM150k, a car with only 2 airbags and no VSC is a lemon deal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 28
    • George Abdul on Jun 12, 2015 at 8:35 am

Oh no UMW will try to markup the price more…

Please don’t even launch in Malaysia, even it look angry or expensive.

Lousy UMW !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
      • Keranda King on Jun 12, 2015 at 3:40 pm

UMW has been cheating Malaysians for 30 years. VSC is compulsory in Europe but in Malaysia, purposely taken out to kill more Malaysians to untung lebih.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 19
    • theanswer on Jun 12, 2015 at 9:01 am

expensive..need extra money for full safety spec… a recipe for low sales number.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
      • 2013 Toyota Altis RM65k on Jun 12, 2015 at 3:52 pm

Now, you can go to mudah and see for yourself. 2013 Accident free Altis 1.8 (not 1.6) low mileage being sold for RM68k. After bargaining, seller said he even would let go for RM63.

Wow! New Car RM139k. Just hardly 1 year 10 months old, can buy for RM63k.

Yes, Sam Loo has been Lying about RV all these years. Toyota RV is even worse than kimchi!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 19
      • Tipu Tipu Camry on Jun 12, 2015 at 4:40 pm

Overseas, Camry has reverse camera as standard. Tyre Pressure Monitoring System as Standard. And many many more.

Malaysia, VSC pun tak ada.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 22
      • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jun 13, 2015 at 10:28 am

Totally agree.

Don’t even step into a UMW Toyota showroom.

Go straight into a KIA for K5 and Hyundai Sime Darby for Sonata or Elantra.

Strongly encourage all sorhai tai lan ngongs to buy these cars new

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • Areyousure on Jun 12, 2015 at 10:12 am

Camry with Scirocco-inspired front bumper? lolx

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • loler on Jun 12, 2015 at 12:50 pm

Toyota SAs are busy thumbing down wiwiwiwiw comment, sales so bad huh? LOLOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 14
        • Bra and Panties on Jun 12, 2015 at 3:48 pm

Now UMW salesman no choice. Have to supplement their income selling bra and panties. This what happens when you play dirty the past few years bad mouth other brands and lie about RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
      • Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 12, 2015 at 4:24 pm

I am so sad with ZERO sales. I am going to depression. I feel like so many people have bukake on my face.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
      • nameless on Jun 16, 2015 at 3:02 pm

Drifting, the only thing toyota did great..

• urzu3 on Jun 12, 2015 at 1:35 am

nice facelift. earlier buyer surely headbutt..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • Gomostaz on Jun 12, 2015 at 1:44 am

Sam loo will be proud

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
    • samtowtruck on Jun 12, 2015 at 8:06 am

What to do, tak laku ma. After this sell bra and panties in Parkson lor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
    • Laopek on Jun 12, 2015 at 8:27 am

Camry ESport = For boring AhPek uncle trying hard to look cool and modern.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 13
    • Why proud on Jun 12, 2015 at 9:10 am

Why? He is only a talk coxk sales man.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jun 13, 2015 at 10:45 am

Sam would only be proud if all you sorhai tai lan ngongs head down to the KIA showroom & get yourself a K5 or a Hyundai showroom for Elantra and/or Sonata.

Need to prime the used car market 12 months on, new kimchi sales have nosedived since GST

• RavenAii (Member) on Jun 12, 2015 at 2:16 am

If this ever comes to Malaysia, it would be the second facelift. Even with the first facelift, I see more Camry XV40 compared to Camry XV50. I mean you could count how many XV50’s are on the roads.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
    • tinmilo on Jun 12, 2015 at 10:17 am

well, the first facelift was only 2 months back, and the market is a little slow now… so not surprise to see less car on the road.
      It is a very rare sight to see a facelift 2.0G, mostly are hybrids.

• Yes front is nice, but the interior is plain. The back is just a previous sonata.

• keep this for Thailand.

Malaysia Camry 2.5Hybrid is luxury and classy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 20
  • The rear really ugly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • sammy on Jun 12, 2015 at 6:51 am

I like our version better.
    This one looks too American.
    Besides, the target market is uncle. And younger buyers won’t touch camry, neither many could afford.
    Having said that. I am not surprise this will be the 2.5G version if the hybrid stops production.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • TheDean on Jun 12, 2015 at 7:53 am

4 more hp and torque? FOUR?!? That’s an increase of 2%. Wow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • I would buy this.

Honestly the Camry Hybrid got tons of pros, but one of the big cons is the reduced boot size due to the battery location.

Whereas for the pre-facelift 2.5V, sorry that design is a joke really.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jun 14, 2015 at 11:56 pm

Pls consider buying the new Sonata, K5 for D segment

Get the Elantra if you intend to get a C Segment

• Hah it has that lexus spindle grill look, or at least attempts to look like it

• When it arrive in Msia, it sure to cost above RM200k… at this price one would prefer to buy a BM, Merc or Volvo…

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 12, 2015 at 8:58 am

I am still very happy with my 2009 2.4V Camry.

And in terms of RV, still can sell for around RM85k after 6 years

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 14
  • Vincent Chrng on Jun 12, 2015 at 9:06 am

By looking at current toyota Camry sales, it is clear that cambry no longer the best selling D segment sedan. Hencce, UMW have to bring in this Esport, which is more agressive in look, to gain back market share.

• Aero (Member) on Jun 12, 2015 at 9:08 am

Woah. I don’t think many are aware of what this latest move by Toyota Motor Thailand (TMT) implies.

For the last few generations, the ASEAN market got their own Camry, different from the North American ones. In some countries, you can get both the ASEAN and North American market Camry models, like Australia and the GCC countries. The Europeans on the other hand got the Avensis. Honda has a similar marketing strategy with their Accord / Accord Euro. The whole idea behind having unique models of the same nameplate/platform for each region is localisation and meeting consumer tastes.

So why did TMT introduce the North American/ Australian-market Camry ? My guess is exclusivity within the Camry nameplate and not much else. If I’m not mistaken, TMT must be importing the Camry ESport from Toyota’s Australian plant (and not North America). From some searching, I found that, apparently, all ESport models are built by TMT, so maybe the Camry ESport is a CKD import instead ? It’s not economically viable for TMT to build a full body-stamping assembling line for a low-volume model like this Camry ESport, but who knows. Australia and Thailand have recently signed a FTA, so two-way CBU imports between both countries are no hassle. I’d say this is a smart move on TMT’s side, it will help them sell more Camrys for sure.

However, I HIGHLY DOUBT that UMW Toyota will make a similar move because Malaysia and Australia have yet to sign a FTA which removes all import taxes on cars. However, if it’s true that TMT is assembling this version of the Camry, then maybe UMW Toyota could bring it in from Thailand instead of Australia, the ASEAN CEPT tax is far, FAR lower. Under RM200k should be possible. With their flagging sales, I think UMW Toyota needs as many new models as they can, especially the (Euro/Australian-market, not the disgusting Vios-based ASEAN-market) Yaris (to challenge the Jazz).

• Energy Analyst on Jun 12, 2015 at 10:49 am

for the love of god, i hope you are wrong about UMW not making similar move— just imagine : no more eye sore with the current Camry on the road, that is a good and wishful thought for many, I think

Unlike Vios and Altis, Camry’s sold here in Malaysia, is really out of tune with the new design language which is not bad @Vios & Altis, NOW this Camry looks appealing: almost hints of Lexus

• sammy on Jun 12, 2015 at 11:36 am

I did hear the the Camry plant in Australia wont be there for long. It is schedule to close down.
      Still,the Aussies may still wants their Camry…
      So maybe this is Thailand’s proactiveness in sniffing out the opportunity and start building different variant of Camry. They truly are planning to be the production hub of the world.
      I have never seen a market being served 2 variants of the same model before.

Looking back at our market is really sad. Don’t talk about the look, even our Camry Hybrid model is underspec compared to the thai, despite being duty free.

• Nasi ayam on Jun 12, 2015 at 9:29 am

Now the d segment dominated by the beloved accord from alor gajah melaka. Unless u slash ur price to 150k

• wtf! 4hp and 4nm call tuning? lousy cheat money

• Mc Kangkung on Jun 12, 2015 at 9:30 am

Knowing UMW, when this camry ever comes to Malaysia……everything reduced, removed and downgraded to almost nothing….

However, the price will be increased, no doubt.
    If UMW is “generous”, they will throw in TRD or SPORTIVO stickers for free with the car…

At this rate and business conduct by UMW, they will tutup kedai soon….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Coolken on Jun 12, 2015 at 9:39 am

This is the Australian version of Camry, not a second facelift.. Thinks our facelift looks more elegant and executive. This one just look sporty…

• kfchoy on Jun 12, 2015 at 11:41 am

The most beautiful and timeless Camry to date is the 2010 2.4V, its taillamps design really sexy and fashionable;nothing compares..

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 13, 2015 at 7:00 pm

The most entertaining moment of a used kimchi trader is the moment when I show the sorhais the Hilux

• Kontikinte on Jun 12, 2015 at 9:43 am

I’m sold although prefer heart with turbocharger but this is great work Toyota but sadly I’m not in the market for atleast 2-3 yrs. huh!

• sepul on Jun 12, 2015 at 9:54 am

Sporty mid size sedan and people will look for BMW 3 series or Lexus IS.

Niche buyers go for Subaru Legacy or Accord Euro via grey skies.

• yeah?

• oldies on Jun 12, 2015 at 10:01 am

When looking on the Steering Wheel, I thought it was from a cheaper variant of vios or…. the avanza? no class for a car over rm150k.

• Gracke on Jun 12, 2015 at 10:16 am

How many months can last longer with this facelift…??

• Orion on Jun 12, 2015 at 10:58 am

Look like kapal layar and probably move like one too. Appeal to samloo types only, if RV stays on the sane side.

• jin-jin on Jun 12, 2015 at 11:03 am

I would definitely love this model to be in Malaysia with Hybrid option…

• Ongtk on Jun 12, 2015 at 11:10 am

The recently launched Camry Hybrid seems popular right now. Can see many units on the road. But if it has this variant looks, I will definitely get one!

• AhBengCamry on Jun 12, 2015 at 11:14 am

At least this Esport rear light not so Ah Beng like the current Hybrid & 2.0G too square. Still no to me…

• mesinrumput on Jun 12, 2015 at 11:25 am

UMW is GLC. impossible to close shop. got money from asn asb asw some more.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jun 12, 2015 at 11:31 am

This variant is the one for North America and Australia.

The standard Camry is Malaysia, Taiwan, China, Thailand and Singapore is the Australian Aurion but comes with the 2.5V Specs and tranny

• Same L0rrrr on Jun 12, 2015 at 2:09 pm

I sold 300 camry hybrid by myself in just 3 months. My Altis in hand another 77 units. Dont be jeoulous.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 24
  • sabahan on Jun 12, 2015 at 11:50 am

WOW!!! 4ps and 4Nm increase!!!

yawn…..

• Ray (Member) on Jun 12, 2015 at 12:39 pm

TBH I would actually consider this if UMW pushes this out, provided that specs and trim levels are retained and not ripped off.

Having seen one in metal before, I have to admit that the American/Australian model looks rather good (first for a Camry, in fact). And the fact that it comes with a relatively new powertrain + Toyota’s renowned comfort levels, this would be great D-segment in my honest opinion.

Cons: interior feels a bit dated, doesn’t drive as well as competitors. But if you want a comfortable D-segment to ferry your wife and kids around, this would be a sensible choice apart from the 2.5 hybrid.

• Our CKD camry is not like the Japan Camry la. If Japan 5 stars, here, it will be 3 stars.

UMW use cheap besi. The crumple zone is so bad. This is expected. If they can take VSC out and all other safety features out, you can see how dishonest they are.

• VWfan on Jun 12, 2015 at 3:33 pm

Later proton also will consider this as accordana replacement..hahaha

• 2013 Toyota Altis RM65k on Jun 12, 2015 at 3:58 pm

Now everybody boikot Toyota because it is out in the open that UMW salesman come here and lie and lie and lie. They lie so much about RV and they lie so much about Korean cars.

Now, boomerang effect. Toyota sales are NEAR ZERO

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jun 13, 2015 at 10:23 am

Sam encourages all to but a new kimchi.

More specifically, Sonata, Elantra or the K5.

For the rest, they can no longer be traded in

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Joe Whiner on Jun 13, 2015 at 6:37 pm

Toyota Camry Sports, now that’s what I call an Oxymoron just like a poor politician.

• panjang on Jun 14, 2015 at 9:55 am

the writer’s title is very misleading esp on the ‘more power’ part.
    i was expecting 20-30hp increase but the increase can easily be achieved by installing an aftermarket air filter which cost less than rm200.

what worst is that we cant even feel the different.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jun 14, 2015 at 12:05 pm

Another 2 sorhais came in with Elantra 2013 & 2012 models.

Sam rejected them up front coz there is no longer any market for Elantra > 18 months old

• therealmaserati on Jun 14, 2015 at 8:24 pm

Duno y so many ppl bashing toyota. Haha..

U monkeys should try out the new camry first before u talk with your cxxx at ur head.

The camry makes Korean cars feel like they are engineered by engineers who graduated frm monkey universities.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jun 14, 2015 at 10:41 pm

When a kimchi owner realises that the rotten cabbage they bought will be worth RM100k less within a year, what would their natural reaction be?

Off course they will belittle the car with the highest resale value in that segment

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jun 15, 2015 at 12:01 am

That is why I keep on encouraging all you guys to buy Elantra for C-Segment, K5 and Sonata for D-Segment. Need a steady supply of used kimchis 12 months later

Stay away from Toyota and Honda showrooms.

• steven on Jun 15, 2015 at 9:33 pm

all good cars. I’m always surprised people get so defensive and hateful on car brands or makes. Dumb. Buy what you like or works for you & within your capability.

• i don’t like the current camry model. it’s just being too square and it’s lost to accord. I can’t wait for the car to arrive. It’s one of the top mid size car in the US market and it’s speak itself. !! But then, let wait for the spec and hopeful UMW will be generous and keep in with the US spec