VIDEO: New Mazda range ad hints of what’s to come

Mazda Australia has revealed a new 45-second commercial depicting its range of fresh new models. Although us Malaysians are not quite there yet, official distributor Bermaz is poised to add the missing links – the new CX-3 B-segment crossover and MX-5 roadster – in the fourth quarter of the year, so this is sort of a sneak peek at what we can expect.

Though not explicitly pointed out in the video, the ad clearly references Mazda’s jinba ittai (horse and rider as one) concept – it starts off with a man riding on his equine companion, before being transported into the bucket seats of the MX-5. He speeds off into the distance, wearing a great big grin all the way; as we all would, wouldn’t we?

And then he’s joined by the rest of the fleet – CX-3, CX-5 and CX-9 crossovers to his left, Mazda 2, 3 and 6 to his right; all resplendent in gorgeous Soul Red Metallic. It’s a striking, confident display of what is arguably Hiroshima’s strongest product lineup yet.

One thing to note, however, for us – even after our range is completed by the end of the year, we still wouldn’t quite be able to pull off an ad like this, for one simple reason – both the Mazda 3 and CX-5 are no longer available in Soul Red. That’s just too bad…

Mazda MX-5

Mazda CX-3

Sell your car, get paid in 24 hours

Renew your car insurance with us, 10% discount!

Use the promo code 'PAULTAN' when you checkout for 10% discount!

Renew Car Insurance

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Captur on Jul 31, 2015 at 6:12 pm

Big dilemma for me. Now I have to decide if I want Captur or CX-3. Both also look nice leh based on review.

Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • Obviously (Member) on Jul 31, 2015 at 9:38 pm

CX-3.

Thumb up 8 Thumb down 0
      • Captur on Jul 31, 2015 at 11:22 pm

But I wanna look young leh. Let me test drive CX-3 first la when it arrives. Still think CX-3 is the better one. Have to change my name soon. LOL

Thumb up 6 Thumb down 2
        • Obviously (Member) on Aug 01, 2015 at 3:12 pm

Mmmm, that one downvote was not from me. Was probably from a CX-3 enthusiast that took offense at your implication that CX-3 drivers look old. :P

I think CX-3 doesn’t look so old. IMO, it’s rather youthful with a mature confidence.

Thumb up 2 Thumb down 0
      • tiang on Aug 01, 2015 at 9:06 am

interior and exterior wise, cx3 menang stengah tiang lor…ha

Thumb up 1 Thumb down 0
  • Matchy on Jul 31, 2015 at 6:24 pm

It is kinda weird that they discontinue the soul red when it is CKD-ed.

Thumb up 4 Thumb down 0
    • Obviously (Member) on Jul 31, 2015 at 9:40 pm

It isn’t weird once you do a little digging. This is why:

http://www.mazda.com/en/innovation/mazda-stories/engineers/soulred/

Thumb up 4 Thumb down 0
      • Captur on Jul 31, 2015 at 11:25 pm

Have to petition to Mazda to export their TAKUMINURI to Malaysia so can produce Soul Red colour then for CKD.

Thumb up 5 Thumb down 0
  • Optima on Jul 31, 2015 at 6:55 pm

Range? What range? All I see is ONE identical design stamped to all cars.

Thumb up 8 Thumb down 21
  • so what size would u like, S, M or L?

same car, different sizes (except for mx-5 la).

Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • Better Than All Different And All Dull on Jul 31, 2015 at 8:38 pm

At least one thing is for certain – we know what to expect from each Mazda car. I can’t say the same for other Asian makes.

Thumb up 10 Thumb down 0
  • jolly_idiot (Member) on Jul 31, 2015 at 9:24 pm

Pity they left our the RX8

Thumb up 1 Thumb down 1
  • Captur currently displayed at BSC and CX3 will be displayed in November but only deliver about CNY 2016…means only November i can only decide which one Captur or CX3…

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 1
    • Captur on Jul 31, 2015 at 11:27 pm

Big Dilemma for me too. I guess I can wait till the CX-3 to arrive and test drive then only do a comparison. For me now my mind say Captur but my heart say CX-3. Lol

Thumb up 5 Thumb down 0
  • Wanna look young means car must power too, Captur 0-100 10.9 second while CX3 8.9 second…torque 190 vs 203, BHP 120 vs 155, looks like CX3 younger hehe..

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • Jürg Hölzle on Aug 01, 2015 at 4:59 pm

I am waiting for the new CX-7 (and CX-9). My family is growing and the CX-5 becomes too small…

Hoping, soul-red would be available for more models in Thailand, too.

Thumb up 1 Thumb down 0
  • To all Honda,Toyota & Nissan fans…EAT THIS!!!
    By all this models on market…they don’t even what hit them that FAST!!!

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 2