Mazda CX-9 facelift launched – RM288k to RM328k

Mazda CX-9 Facelift-7

Bermaz has introduced the new-look 2013 Mazda CX-9 in Malaysia – Hiroshima’s refreshed SUV, which made its global debut last year at the Australian International Motor Show in Sydney, arrives in the same 4WD and 2WD configurations as before.

The flagship model was launched in 2007 and received a very minor rework back in 2009, but the current update bears more significant changes. The front and rear of the seven-seater gets the Kodo treatment, while the interior has been enhanced with improved materials and trim.

Kit includes a 10-speaker Bose audio system, bi-xenon headlamps, tri-zone air-conditioning and a reverse camera, and the CX-9 now sits on new design 20-inch wheels, wrapped with 245/50 tyres.

Riding on the same Ford-based CD3 platform as it was when it was launched, there are no SkyActiv-related changes, the 5.09 metre-long vehicle continuing on with the MZI 3.7 litre V6 and six-speed Activematic transmission as previously found. Power output figures are 274 hp at 6,250 rpm and 367 Nm at 4,250 rpm.

Elsewhere, the CX-9 now comes with a raft of i-Activsense features such as Forward Obstruction Warning (FOW), Lane Departure Warning (LDW) and High Beam Control (HBC) and Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM).

Six exterior shades are available, these being Dolphin Grey Mica, Zeal Red Mica, Meteor Grey Mica, Brilliant Black, Crystal White Pearl Metallic and Aluminium Metallic. As for pricing, the 2013 Mazda CX-9 2WD is priced at RM288,404, while the 4WD version goes for RM328,404, both on-the-road without insurance, each being RM6k more than their predecessors.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• SpectraKia on Nov 13, 2013 at 1:06 pm

No matter how hard they try to work on the headlights this car cant be saved anymore unless they change the fromt side panel.

One look and you can feel/see like this car has identity crisis xD

• ramun on Nov 13, 2013 at 1:11 pm

I feel sorry for our automotive industry. Bermaz launch new CX9 ahead of KLIMS 13.

• No Logic on Nov 13, 2013 at 1:37 pm

So sad to see how SUVs are so exorbitant. Even so for mere Japanese cars. The almighty Cayenne in the US is USD$48,000. In terms of pay, a kuli or an office boy that just delivers mail and photocopy will earn that in a year in the US. So, a middle class man can afford a high class SUV easily.

In Malaysia, your Cayenne is RM600,000. Even a doctor will find it hard to come up with RM600,000 a year.

Why is the Mazda, which is a mere Japanese car costing RM328k. Tak masuk akal. So illogical.

Anyway, this Mazda CX9 in the US is 29,785. How on earth can it be sold for RM328k in Malaysia is beyond logic!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 2
  • Retep on Nov 13, 2013 at 2:01 pm

328k!

3.7 litre engine!

!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • Ahmad bin Said on Nov 13, 2013 at 2:10 pm

Wonder why there’s no SkyActiv. Mahal la dey!

• jolly_idiot on Nov 13, 2013 at 2:29 pm

No doubt it’s a good car, but it’s aging.

• why no skyactiv? this dinosaur has been sucking too much fuel that skyactiv cannot help?

• It doesnt blend with the kodo face. The previous face was nicer.

• rocky balboa on Nov 13, 2013 at 3:01 pm

For RM328k I would rather get bmw 328i, anytime. Sorry Mazda! !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
  • Fahmi on Nov 13, 2013 at 3:10 pm

AWD for RM40K?? Not worth it, in FWD form it is still a very good, large family crossover SUV, I’ll pick this over Alphard V6 and Elgrand V6, both too boxy for me…

• diuniamachaohai on Nov 13, 2013 at 3:15 pm

Still a better car than that Sushi Estima sold by those UMW robbers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Black Dog on Nov 13, 2013 at 3:19 pm

Price-wise, I think Bermaz getting over-confident. This is no Evoque, just a Mazda. Zero desirability.

• Sharu on Nov 13, 2013 at 4:45 pm

Waiting for Isuzu MU-X…..

• Jilbaber on Nov 13, 2013 at 5:03 pm

the interior doesn’t reflect a >RM200k valued car at all ! Especially the center panel..look cheapskate

• dannylee77 on Nov 13, 2013 at 10:49 pm

Looking at The Price , I think Hyundai Santa Fe is a Better Buy ….

• and SF is more powerful & frugal too!

• Fahmi on Nov 14, 2013 at 1:21 pm

If only there are six airbags instead of two only… I don’t know why Hyundai can be so greedy like UMW…

• Given the price, spec, class, seating capacity, disappointing as even the aging XC90 is a better proposition.

• CX 9er on Nov 14, 2013 at 4:16 pm

I am using 2009 CX9 (but not in Malaysia off course).
    1. No need for 4WD because most of the time you will be driving on 2WD only. Apparently for this car you can’t control the 4WD. It will switch automatically when driving condition require 4WD. But I bet 99% of us will not bring it off road, so most likely 99% of your time will be on 2WD.

2. The car drink petrol. A full tank about 70 liters goes about 320KM on average driving. So do your math.

3. In my opinion, this car strikes the right balance between all the SUV.
    a. Space – larger than Santa Fe and many of the 7 seater SUVs.
    b. Drive – like sedan, complement the truck like Pajero, Prado and many “SUV” in the market.
    c. Size – not to boxy like Velfire, Alphard, Oddessy and many van like car and yet it provides 7 ample space for 7 seater. BTW, it is a SUV, not a van, make a hell of a difference.
    d. Price & Luxury – acceptable and cheaper than Cayanne or Lexus RX, plus it has 7 seats. Only comparison is X5 or Lexus LX, but price of X5 and LX is too much.

The only problem in Malaysia is that the price is too much. In many parts of the world, this car is doing very well as it has the balance of all the SUV and 7 seaters.

• Janet on Nov 16, 2013 at 8:27 pm

Thanks CX 9er for the feedback….
    Hope to see this kind of comment/feedback more @ Paultan…instead of us cursing each other all the times.

• Charlie on Nov 18, 2013 at 9:50 am

OMG, my house cost only 260k !! this car cost 280k !!

• MalaysianOwnerOfCx9 on Nov 23, 2013 at 11:01 am

I owned a CX9 since 2008, I can tell this car is roomy and performance wise. This car can do 0-100 less than 8secs like the Q7 3.0Tfsi (go YouTube search for 0-100 video). Interior is not advance like Q7 with MMI or those but at least it has great Bose surround sound system. I also drive this car in my land which requires Awd and i have not dealt with any problems yet. Do test drive this car at the nearest showroom before you judge it with bad comment :)

• eeeriz on Nov 03, 2015 at 2:10 pm

I know this is an old thread, but I would to concur with CX 9er and MalaysianOwnerOfCx9 on CX-9 overall. I am an existing owner of 2008 CX-9 and love the car to the bits. Though there are some shortcomings, but as a SUV, it never disappoint me anytime. I did timed 0-60mph, and it was 7.5 sec. Mind you this a 7 year old car and still behave like a new one. The only setback is the fuel consumption. Hope the future CX-9 will get a smaller but turbocharged engine.

• jeffboy on Jan 25, 2016 at 12:07 am

u timed 0-60 mph 7.5 seconds. Is ur cx9 front wheel drive or all wheel drive?

• I just move to qatar and decided to buy the mazda cx9, i test drive it and it is very easy handling, the price is just 119 thousand qatar riyal which is about rm110k, very cheap compared to the price in malaysia.