Honda production hydrogen fuel cell vehicle, Odyssey Hybrid to debut at 2015 Tokyo Motor Show

Print

Honda has announced its lineup for the 2015 Tokyo Motor Show, and it appears the house that Soichiro built will be swinging in strong on its home turf, with a bevy of sports cars, visions of future mobility and its first production hydrogen-powered fuel cell vehicle.

Essentially the showroom version of the concept shown in Los Angeles last year, the FCV (a proper name will be revealed at the show) looks significantly toned down from the show car, both inside and out. The essence of the Toyota Mirai rival hasn’t changed however – notably, the entire hydrogen powertrain, including the fuel cell stack, fits under the bonnet, freeing space for a full five-seat interior, one more than the Mirai.

Print

While no concrete technical specifications have been released just yet, the FCV Concept featured a 70 MPa high-pressure hydrogen tank, which can be refilled in about three minutes, or around the same as a regular fuel fill-up. Claimed range on a tankful of hydrogen is in excess of 700 km, and Honda promises an “exhilarating drive” thanks to high-output motors.

Additionally, the production FCV will also be available with an external power feeding inverter when it goes on sale in Japan sometime in the first quarter of 2016, effectively turning it into a tiny mobile power plant. This will make the car handy for certain occasions, and could be essential in the event of a disaster, a distinct boon in the wake of 2011’s catastrophic Tohoku earthquake and tsunami.

Tokyo will also see the debut of the Odyssey Hybrid, the MPV utilising a Sport Hybrid Intelligent Multi-Mode Drive (iMMD) powertrain – likely the same 141 hp/165 Nm 2.0 litre i-VTEC petrol engine, twin electric motors and 1.3 kWh lithium-ion battery used in the Accord Hybrid, delivering a total system output of 196 hp and 307 Nm.

Also making their Japanese premieres are the NSX and the Civic Type R, as well as the Project 2&4 bike/car fusion concept that was seen at the 2015 Frankfurt Motor Show. Speaking of show cars, Honda will also bring two urban mobility concepts – the pod-like Wander Stand and the Wander Walker four-wheeled scooter.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Malaysia Failed State on Sep 30, 2015 at 1:14 pm

Malaysia dont need to see hybrid or electric cars. Cause even our haze also the monkeys inPutrajaya cannot solved, what more having cars that promote cleaner air.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
    • hailthepurist on Sep 30, 2015 at 5:25 pm

they promote public transport..but shitty one.

• Same L0rrrr on Oct 01, 2015 at 11:58 am

Malaysians don’t buy hybrid/electric cars for environmental protection. So stop bullshitting.
        They buy it for fuel saving. When RM keep dropping, fuel price hiking and our fuel reach RM3/l. You will beg me to get you a used hybrid.
        Why new hybrid so expensive here? Thanks to your beloved Proton.

• Bodoh punya mamat. If your neighbour(Indon) throw their dog shit into your house(MY) and they give you middlefinger when you complain, can you still do anything about it kah? Complain to the polis(UN) wont do anything.

• pakcik on Sep 30, 2015 at 7:12 pm

I sense Renault’s fascia

• shawals on Sep 30, 2015 at 7:37 pm

just name it clarity ….mk 2 …lol…
    gorgeous in and out….

anyway, I’m hoping honda’s press statement that will definitely grab headlines would be ” combined power output for the nsx is yet to be finalized, but rest assured 550 bhp is from the v6 motor alone…