New BMW X1 teased, M’sia debut set for this weekend

2015-bmw-x1-malaysia-teaser-1

Revealed to the world back in June, it looks like its time for the second-generation BMW X1 to make its local debut, as BMW Malaysia begins a teaser campaign for the compact SUV, inviting members of the public to check out the car for yourselves this weekend.

The first public appearance of the new F48 BMW X1 will take place at the Quad @ TREC, a specially built-up area to host outdoor activities along Jalan Tun Razak, located between Zouk and Electric Boulevard. And as mentioned, the new X1 SUV will be showcased there on October 10 and 11.

The two teaser images don’t reveal too much of the car, apart from SUV’s new front end design, where the new headlamps and repositioned (lowered) fog lamps are apparent. Look closely, and you can also see the top of the new front bumper that was introduced on the compact SUV.

2015-bmw-x1-malaysia-teaser-2

The second-gen BMW X1 is also the brand’s third model to be underpinned by the new UKL 1 architecture, a front-wheel drive platform that’s common to the RM219k 2 Series Active Tourer and the RM280k 2 Series Gran Tourer. In short, the new X1’s underpinnings also offers a taller ride, more interior spaciousness, and improved ride comfort.

This also means that for the first time, the compact BMW SUV can be had as a front-wheel drive model, should you opt against having the xDrive all-wheel drive system. This will of course depend on BMW Malaysia’s choice specifications for our market.

As discovered during our international test drive of the new X1, the SUV’s exterior design is what we’d consider to be far more appealing than its predecessor, offering a bolder yet more youthful approach in design, without sacrificing the purposefulness and stature of a true SUV.

We also know that the interior of the car has been vastly improved in comparison with what the previous model had to offer. As we discovered in Munich, there’s a barrage of new high-quality materials to be found, not to mention the slightly redesigned layout of the dash and availability of new trim and upholstery colour options.

Again, as much as we can and have already told you about the new X1, all that you’ll be able to look forward to this week onwards depends on how BMW Malaysia chooses to specify its local line-up for our market. What we can tell you is that this is one properly handsome compact SUV, and is expected to give the Mercedes-Benz GLA a good run for its money.

Currently, BMW Malaysia offers just two variants of the first-generation X1 for sale here, with prices starting from RM237,800 for the sDrive20i, and RM267,800 for the xDrive20d.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• Onanodus on Oct 06, 2015 at 1:08 pm

Chris, the first-gen X1 on sale in Malaysia in 20d form has xDrive.

• I think the most important factor beside the specs will be the asking price… Given the unfavorable USD against RM, I wonder if the price can maintain the same or even lower?

• karam singh on Oct 06, 2015 at 1:26 pm

I prefer Merc GLA looks more,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
  • xxXxxXxx on Oct 06, 2015 at 1:45 pm

No AWD? tsk tsk tsk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Sam lorrr gonggg on Oct 06, 2015 at 1:47 pm

ayooo no rv maaa,better buy toyota fortuner,sure u won’t regret

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • heybadigol (Member) on Oct 06, 2015 at 1:49 pm

Must be odd thinking that the old X1 it replaces is actually the more exciting car to drive. Anyways, BMW must make money, so they have to sell a car for the masses. Hence, a FWD architecture, which results in a much larger interior packaging. Most buyers will probably never notice its FWD, as long as that propeller badge is on the hood, the steering wheel, the tyres and the rear.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • sudonano (Member) on Oct 06, 2015 at 2:03 pm

The new X1 is indeed a very smart looking car, by far the best of the 3 FWD BMWs so far.

What I am more curious is how they would specify this. For one, I really hope they would do the 25i and 20i, as well as the 20d, and all with xDrive. For me xDrive makes a BMW SUV.

It would be interesting to see how BMW would go against the GLA and the Q3, especially the Q3 1.4 TFSi. One thing is for sure, they do have the ball in their court as the X1 is the best looking among the 3.

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 06, 2015 at 2:25 pm

I dont think they will for the petrol one. The X3, X5 and X6 all had single engine variants too so I think it will be the same but I’m sure BMW will figure out something especially when the RM is crap now and sales aren’t as good as before. The X1 is actually launching on the 9 but only to invited guests and u won’t believe the venue they picked!

• This is disease car. No RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
      • DJ Deen on Oct 06, 2015 at 6:51 pm

Happening place for the young at heart.
        U not up to it Seancorr ?
        Guess that’s why the venue was chosen
        as well as the target crowd.
        If it was a X5 or 7 series then perhaps somewhere more exclusive / “mature” ?

• BMW makes a very good looking
    sedans and sport car.But their suvs look very ackward though(except the x5)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • Better than the GLA!

• The Archbishop of Banterbury on Oct 06, 2015 at 4:34 pm

(not X1-related)
    what’s the purpose behind the SUV-coupe thing? better drag coefficient?

• Enthusiast on Oct 07, 2015 at 5:38 pm

Well, my wife’s 2011 X11.8i skd is already leaking engine oil (twice) and power steering fluid (heavily) even though fully maintained by Auto-Bavaria Malaysia for the past <4.5years and 41Kkms to date. More like 'Sheer Repair Pressure'' right after the 3-years BSRI. My guess is quality/reliability issues with some of the components that failed compared to other marques that I have owned prior.