Mercedes-Benz M’sia keen to maintain prices in 2016 – lobbies for extension of hybrid duty incentives

W222_Mercedes_S-Class_Malaysia_ 001

At a press conference this morning that saw Mercedes-Benz Malaysia (MBM) announce its business performance for the third quarter, slash the prices of its C-Class and confirm that more diesel models are coming here, it had also confirmed that a plan to maintain its current car prices into 2016 is in place, despite the unfavourable value of the ringgit, and a potential change to its hybrid vehicles’ tax-free status when the year ends.

Currently, MBM’s hot-selling S 400h L (formerly known as the S 400 L Hybrid) and E-Class E 300h (E 300 BlueTEC Hybrid) enjoy full duty exemptions under the 2014 National Automotive Policy (NAP). Should no tax-free status extension be awarded to the models by the authorities, their RM583,888 (S 400h) and RM338,888 (E 300h) prices could revert to their original figures, which we understand could be nearly double.

Mark Raine, Mercedes-Benz Malaysia’s vice president for sales and marketing, told members of the media that despite the changing environment MBM finds itself in in Malaysia, there are no price hikes anticipated at the moment.

“Currently, we are lobbying the government to allow us to continue offering our models with the same prices going into 2016. On our side, we have always maintained a support for Malaysia in its positioning to become an EEV hub in the region, and we continue to be optimistic of our chances at maintaining our models’ current prices,” he said.

More recently, the company also announced a price reduction across its locally-assembled W205 C-Class range. The base C 200 Avantgarde is now listed at RM248,888 (RM21,000 reduction), while the new top-spec CKD C 250 AMG Line retails for RM287,888 – RM52,000 less than the earlier CBU model.

This was achieved by the C-Class range qualifying for the Energy Efficient Vehicle (EEV) duty incentives, and is unrelated to the full tax exemptions awarded to locally-assembled hybrid models. Other models to have benefitted from the EEV policy include the locally-assembled Mazda CX-5, Mazda 3, Honda City, Honda Jazz, Perodua Axia and the Great Wall M4.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• Majuperak on Oct 08, 2015 at 5:25 pm

Pity those who took delivery of their CKD vehicles at 269k now it is cheaper by 21k …… CBU buyers have to pay premium for 1st to own plus imported ….. now at 248k is gonna grab sales from F30 BMW 3-series of 320i/320d …. interesting to see the LCI F30 pricing ..

• Gomen won’t do this. Then they lose money. Then how people like Mugabejib going to songlap another RM2.6 billion?

Don’t worry, it will not be extended. They want to protect the UMNO crony AP holders. When they gave the S400 Hybrid for such a good price, all the AP PEKEMA penipu robbes all could not sell their recond S350L.

Remember, the 30 PEKEMA thieves are all UMNO members thus the Government!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
      • Same L0rrrr on Oct 08, 2015 at 8:48 pm

You think government will care if ppl can enjoy hybrid S class at cheaper price? Don’t be naive.
        It is all about money. You can buy this Mercedes or not your own problem, as long as they still can buy whatever Mercedes they like.

• chiller on Oct 08, 2015 at 9:12 pm

Cool story bro

• RBA john finally shown his true colours

• johnjealous on Oct 09, 2015 at 8:49 am

just because u r not one the 30 PEKEMA AP dealers…blame left right and center…

#boohoo #growup #kipidab #dongibap

• Finally i can buy two benz for my hardworking indo maids.

• Finally i can buy 2 benz for my hardworking indo maids.

• kangkung on Oct 08, 2015 at 5:30 pm

Bravo MBM! wunderbar

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Rakyat reaction:
    WTH!? Continue exemption for rich man cars!? Why rich pipu and UMNO cronies need to pay less, while we pay more! Ini diharamkan!!!! Oh wai… LGE might want to change his gas-guzzling S-class to a more environmental friendly S400h after next GE. But with continued exemption he no need spend so much my money. So its okays, I can accept. Dihalalkan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 38
    • johndumbass on Oct 08, 2015 at 7:27 pm

AP system also want to involve LGE? You’re just show you’re a butthurt dumbass that can’t afford a S class even with tax exemption. Go back ride your Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
      • yunying on Oct 08, 2015 at 9:18 pm

Why not? Sakit perut also want to blame gomen. Sounds familiar?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
      • Who’s the dumbass when the article din even have A and P together in one sentence? This is talking about tax exemption for their hybrids. Read the article before commenting. Go back ride your moving coffin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
        • johndumbass on Oct 08, 2015 at 11:15 pm

You’re the dumbass lah. Still want to ask? What does tax exemption got to do with LGE? The article didn’t even mention him. Go back ride your Persona moving coffin

• No more point to argue try to divert attention kah? First you say AP, then I debunked you. Now you say tax exemption, while all along I have mentioned this. PR trooper memang otak kat lutut.

• johndumbass on Oct 09, 2015 at 12:57 pm

You are the one that said want to protect the UMNO crony AP holders. You and your UMNO cronies are the real otak lutut

• Zoom Zoom on Oct 08, 2015 at 6:02 pm

Well done MB! We will see who can maintain prices in 2016 and boycott those greedy companies that increase their price! The power of consumers..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • dugongx on Oct 10, 2015 at 3:24 am

Only 2 exxtremely greedy auto companies in bolehland are increasing prices. Bloodsucking UMW and Perutdua. Please everyone boycott these 2 bloodsuckers.

• Gov reaction:
    Cannot extend lah. Who will buy Proton then? We need protection for our local cars or else we can’t songlap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
    • Tried to troll as me but phail. Dun have any creativity and want to copy but still the RBAness reeks outs. Double phail. Try better next time RBA john!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
      • The Archbishop of Banterbury on Oct 08, 2015 at 6:39 pm

register a Gravatar & put a profile picture (so a pic will appear) to distinguish yourself from RBA john.

• Nahh! I kinda enjoy trolling a troll, especially those RBA ones. Just that Im disappointed. When they have no more to say, they try to copy my wit but still fails.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • Mercedes Malaysia, please don’t sapu under the carpet…
    one of your hybrid just caught fire recently along federal highway. Please tell us why is that…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • pomen on Oct 08, 2015 at 9:21 pm

haiyaaaa…only one unit caught on fire you want to kepoh already…other brand also caught fire la…

• mercsucky on Oct 08, 2015 at 9:22 pm

Whoa Merc Hybrid tech got free cremation service!

• Each UMW toyota comes with free coffin. Ho dai mai, you noe…

• protong on Oct 09, 2015 at 2:30 am

Better than Proton cremation coffin, you know?

• Proton no longer known as coffin only UMW toyotas…kikikiki

• protoon on Oct 09, 2015 at 2:03 pm

Proton are actually ramping up productions of coffin like Saga

• shawal on Oct 08, 2015 at 6:58 pm

yes jibby u bald eagle ….
    let us the common man own a honda accord hybrid~!

• Syed Mohammed on Oct 08, 2015 at 8:40 pm

Why is MBM enjoying this full tax exemptions under 2014 NAP ?
    where else the other manufacturers were denied ? What is so special about MBM as compared to other manufacturers?
    Even BMW i8 and the proven Toyota Prius
    do not enjoy such privileges.
    MITI has some explaining to do cos this
    only benefitted the super rice

• Ootai on Oct 08, 2015 at 10:03 pm

Give EEV and hybrid duty exemption (to all brands & makes) up till 2018. Last golden handshake.

• EEV & hybrid exemption status are applicable for all makes provided they setup assembly here and with either EEV and/or hybrid vehicles.
      It depends on the makers to bring it in.

• Nazaruddin on Oct 09, 2015 at 2:51 am

MBM talk only CKD in Msia but in actual fact the whole motoring industry knows that it is a CBU. Wanna talk EEV status, MITI still dragging its feet so MBM don’t deserve to be accorded special treatment & an extension for this exemption.
        MBM is assembled in Pekan so guess
        “someone” played a role in this.

• While Im not privy to the level of CKD for their hybrids, do you have any proof to backup your allegations?
          There are different levels of CKD (some can be called SKD actually) but whatever, they still provide jobs to do the final assembly.

• Letstorque on Oct 09, 2015 at 9:32 am

It is assembled in Pekan. So it is CKD.
          What do you mean it is CBU?

Even engine assembly and body painting done in Pekan.

Some cars that assembled in Pekan are almost manufactured in Pekan.
          Swift for example.

Stamping of body panel are done in Pekan. Up to upholstery and interior fittings.

Most of the parts, yes, coming from outside Malaysia. But for Swift, can say 90% assembled in Pekan.
          As for CKD Merc, I think more than 60% of the assembly jobs are done in Pekan.
          MBM have their own storage facility, engine shop, body shop.
          They only thing that MBM dont have is their own paint shop which MBM share with Suzuki and VW

• Ananz on Oct 09, 2015 at 9:52 am

Ever wonder why so little manufacturers want to set up the facilities to manufacture hybrids and EEV here?? Such facilities are not built in a day. They take up to a year to set up and requires a big investment. So you know the EEV and hybrid tax exemption expires in Dec 2015 and its not sure if there will be and extension for next year. It is a big risk to investors since our NAP policy may change on the fly every year.

• why bmw cant reduce their prices for cars assembled in inokom kulim? c class in not a hybrid but the price is reduced now.why 3 series dont? can anyone explain this? Paultan crews?

• Becoz except for DRB affiliates and MBM, all others are trying to help PR and Bersih to stoke more hatred to Gov. So if you persoalkan, means you are BN lapdog.

• kim sung on Oct 09, 2015 at 10:33 am

any chance MBM bringing in CKD estate C class?

• i dont think MBM to bring and ckd the estate as the demand is low in malaysia..if they bring maybe in cbu