Honda to limit diesel engine development – report

021112hon-a-1

Honda is reportedly moving to limit its advances with diesel powertrains, following a diminishing demand for such engines in the North American and Chinese markets.

According to CarAdvice, Honda Motor Company CEO and president, Takahiro Hachigo has said that his company will not force the technology on markets that simply have no interest in diesel-powered vehicles. “In Europe as well as in Asia, we are selling diesel engines to a certain extent, but what will happen in the future is really up to what our customers want to see,” he said.

“Looking at the world today — especially in major markets like North America and China — the ratio of diesel (demand) is small. Given this fact, rather than try to develop diesel engines for the global market, I think we would have to consider the requirements of individual regions and come up with diesel engines where required, and the type of engines that are wanted,” he concluded.

hr-v oz

Given the CEO’s statements, it’s clear that Honda isn’t about to neglect markets where its diesel model’s are still widely used. However, the lacking interest apparent in the brand’s “major markets” could see the car maker divert its greater attention towards exploring other technologies for their powertrain developments. And based on what we’ve seen in recent times, it can be argued that the brand is in fact headed in such a direction already.

On top of introducing a new range of turbocharged three- and four-cylinder engines to serve in its key models, the Japanese car maker has also been heavily involved in the development of petrol-electric plug-in hybrid powertrains.

At the on-going Tokyo Motor Show, Honda also revealed its production-ready hydrogen fuel cell vehicle, the Honda FCV, which will go head-to-head with the Toyota Mirai when it goes on sale in Japan come early 2016.

Likewise, a new 10-speed torque converter automatic transmission was also unveiled recently, promising brisk driving and low fuel consumption for future front-wheel drive Honda vehicles it would feature in. It was reported that the gearbox would be capable of supporting powertrains with up to 370 Nm of torque or more.

Clearly, Honda has a lot on its plate at the moment, and is already well into developing various technologies for its latest and next-generation models. Noticeably, none of these initiatives appear to include diesel as a power source.

For the record, there’s no way we can say for sure if the on-going Volkswagen dieselgate saga has influenced Honda’s diversion from diesel tech, but it can’t possibly help at all with consumers, especially those in major markets like the US, potentially losing faith in diesel altogether.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• Honda diesel engines are crap Better buy Proton, gives better fuel economy. To those who think otherwise, not happy, pack your bags and leave. Be grateful you are living in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 33
    • Everybody is moving away from diesel. Even France is banning the use of diesel vehicles. Proton IS forward looking is moving towards, EV instead of temp hybrid tech. RBA still under the rock dunno P1 has this tech and dun wan go to Alami Proton to talk to their R&D engineers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
      • Same L0rrrr on Nov 04, 2015 at 10:36 am

EV your head! To drive that pathetic 200km, you have to charge your car for 4 hours? Usual 4 hours journey to JB would now become 8 hours!

And when does the Iriz EV wanna come back from Mars testing ground? Matt Damon didn’t bring it back along?

• SamLoo on Nov 04, 2015 at 11:05 am

france ban your head la sohai. dont make story up your own foul mouth

• timbuktu on Nov 04, 2015 at 12:14 pm

john and rba john are the same person. Attention seeker. Write with 2 personalities but one low life attention seeker.

• Kerol on Nov 04, 2015 at 3:46 pm

Agreed with u.

• iampro on Nov 04, 2015 at 9:20 am

HONDA MAKES LOUSY DIESEL ENGINES. EVEN KOREANS ARE BETTER. DONT CRAP LA HONDA CEOK

• Same L0rrrr on Nov 04, 2015 at 10:40 am

There is no future for diesel engines. Embrace the Hybrid and hydrogen car. EV is not practical because of short range and long charging time. You won’t go wrong follow Toyota development.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
      • Then Prius plug-in for what? syok sendiri kah? You just stuffed both your foot into your mouth, Sammy boy

• kapchai on Nov 04, 2015 at 9:33 am

Honda petrol engines are the BEST

• Fireblade on Nov 04, 2015 at 9:34 am

Roti John, are you on drugs or sheer delusion ??? The one who should be sent packing is no one but you. This country will only be progresive if we get rid of a retrogade imbecile like you !

• Please excuse RBA john. His overlords paid his in SGdollars to be trooper but this macai took the money and got drunk daily at Scott Garden. So now everyday he is posting nonsense.

• albag on Nov 04, 2015 at 10:31 am

in Malaysia, diesel engine is best… will keep going for generations to come