Mercedes-Benz Malaysia says 2,000 E 300 BlueTEC Hybrids delivered, 7,000 CKD units produced in 2015

2015-mercedes-benz-malaysia-mark-raine- 001

At a recent press conference, Mercedes-Benz Malaysia’s vice president of marketing, Mark Raine, announced that up to 2,000 units of the locally-assembled E-Class E 300 BlueTEC Hybrid have been successfully delivered to Malaysian customers throughout 2015 alone.

The diesel-hybrid E-Class in question made its local debut earlier this year at the price of RM348,888, which instantly made it the most affordable brand-new E-Class available in the country, thanks to the government’s excise duty exemptions for CKD hybrids.

Later in April and in conjunction with the nation’s implementation of the goods and services tax (GST), the well-equipped E 300 BlueTEC Hybrid was on the receiving end of a significant RM10,000 price reduction, lowering its price point further to RM338,888.

Since then, Mercedes-Benz Malaysia announced in June that the hot-selling E 300 BlueTEC Hybrid is available for purchase under its Agility Financing Plan, which would have encouraged sales of the hybrid vehicle even further.

E 300 Bluetec Hybrid KL-BKK 2

In May, we were invited to take part in an eco-drive challenge with the E 300 BlueTEC Hybrid, seeing if we could manage driving from Kuala Lumpur to Bangkok on a single tank of diesel. Our esteemed colleague Anthony was the man at the wheel, and you can read all about his adventure here.

Moving away from the E 300 BlueTEC Hybrid, Raine also commented that the company’s production facility in Pekan, Pahang, which currently assembles several variants of the C-, E- and S-Class models, has managed to produce approximately 7,000 passenger vehicles throughout 2015.

Clearly, Mercedes-Benz Malaysia is enjoying a highly-successful and record-breaking year thus far, having sold a total of 8,196 vehicles as of September 2015, surpassing its total sales volume throughout 2014 by up to 70% (4,817 sold in 2014) at the point of its third quarter performance update.

The company’s new president and CEO, Dr. Claus Weidner, said then, “we are moving from strength to strength and have certainly topped historical sales figures for Mercedes-Benz Malaysia.The three consecutive four-digit sales figures in the third quarter of 2015 is a welcomed addition to our string of record quarters.”

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• Same L0rrrr on Nov 04, 2015 at 3:24 pm

Affected by dieselgate? Don’t worry, this is Malaysia. Your kids got asthma your kids problem, I sell car earn money my own business.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • MBM Overpriced E250 on Nov 04, 2015 at 3:46 pm

This is MBM clearing their old stock of E300 Hybrid and E250 cause new model coming in. Even the existing E250 also, they buang the 2.0 petrol and put the diesel hybird engine to clear stock cause so many empty badan of E class in the stock yard.

So MBM has done nothing really to reduce prices. Their E250 is still RM428k. Despite CKD, the price is way too high.

Why MBM cannot bring in their E400 Hybrid that they sell in the US for USD55k? Come to Malaysia it will benefit from Hybrid tax advantage and MBM can sell this car below RM299k.

Will MBM do this? they dare not. The E400 hybrid is a better engine and they will have to sell it below RM290k.

MBM, pls stop cheating Malaysians. Our cars are so much more expensive than global MB prices and yet, it is CKd Made in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
      • Sir, in our country, everyone know the taxes on car is ridiculously highly if you compared to Toyota or BMW, Mercedes is offering a cheaper price to the consumers.

If you cannot afford one, do not simply condemn and ruined their reputation furthermore, you use what basis to prove that which engine is more suitable and how you can market the price like you mentioned above in the region of below RM299k.

Mercedes still recorded 70% increased in their sales which compared to 2014, their customers still happy to get “cheated” by them.
        Cheers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
      • TSKTSK on Nov 05, 2015 at 1:56 pm

I was a little bit shock to read your comments.

But I guess is ok, because I think MBM doesn’t need your validation in what they are doing. Judging by their sales, they are doing extremely well… Nobody feels cheated. Infact, some buyers can’t get their cars soon enough and are tired of waiting.
        If they bring their cars to 55K like you said? You will be queing for 5 years.

• Ah Jeep on Nov 04, 2015 at 4:04 pm

I am trying to make rakyat suffer by increasing the cost of living stage by stage. Still Malaysian can able to cope with it. Looks like I’m going to significantly increase the GST rate. Tax more on foreign brands. Since CKD hybrid incentive has ended this year. That price will go up for sure. But I believe rakyat still can withstand it. Every seconds when Malaysian are working hard, they are actually subsidising my luxurious lifestyle. I’m the most luckiest man in the world.

• Aging model.. outdated interior.. a brand new E Class will be out next year. I wonder why so many ppl would buy this car??

• Jamban language on Nov 04, 2015 at 7:24 pm

Because you cant afford so those who are adfordable will take it. Simple as it is.

• What the problem on Nov 05, 2015 at 5:56 pm

Next year come out new model change lah again…
      Whats the problem?
      Why need to keep waiting for a model that hasn’t even arrive? Haven’t even see the new model how you know you will like it more then this one?
      Enjoy today first lah…

• Loser on Nov 04, 2015 at 4:37 pm

Those ppl bought current model will then upgrade to next-gen E Class. Bear in mind Malaysia will become high-income nation soon