F30 BMW 3 Series LCI to arrive in Malaysia soon

BMW Malaysia F30 3 Series LCI teaser-01

It looks like the F30 BMW 3 Series LCI will make its local introduction soon, as seen on BMW Malaysia’s webpage. Additionally, a Facebook posting (below), lists that the following variants will be available, including the 318i Luxury, 320i Sport, 320i M Sport, the 320d M Sport and 330i M Sport.

The F30 Life Cycle Impulse (LCI) which is BMW’s term for facelift, made its debut earlier this year. Aesthetically, the updated 3 Series features mild design enhancements such as a redesigned front air intake and a new rear bumper. Also new are LED daytime running lights, with refreshed internal graphics. The option for full LED headlights is also new.

Inside, updates are kept to a minimum as well. Gloss black are applied to the surrounds of the audio and climate controls, while chrome accents lined around the air vents, window switches and controls of the power-adjustable seats. Also, a new sliding lid for the cupholder and an additional storage compartment has been added.

Underneath the F30 3 Series LCI is where the updates are notable. The base 318i Luxury will feature a new B38 1.5 litre three-cylinder petrol engine that produces 136 hp and 220 Nm, same as the 316i. Replacing the old 1.6 litre TwinPower Turbo four-pot, the new engine is cleaner as well, cutting CO2 emissions by 13%.

The 320i will get the new B48 2.0 litre petrol that makes 184 hp and 290 Nm (20 Nm up from the outgoing model). The same engine will also be featured in the 330i, with higher outputs of 252 hp/350 Nm compared to 245 hp/350 Nm in the previous 328i.

The new B47 2.0 litre diesel mill is reserved for the 320d, with an uprated 190 hp and 400 Nm of torque to spare over 184 hp/380 Nm previously. It gets to 100 km/h in 7.2 seconds, 0.4 seconds quicker than before. The same eight-speed Steptronic automatic transmissions will be used to send power to the wheels.

GALLERY: LCI F30 BMW 340i Sedan Sport Line

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• sudonano (Member) on Nov 09, 2015 at 5:41 pm

Quite a surprise indeed that we are already getting the 330i, considering the US is still getting the 328i with the N20 engine.

Also, interesting to see that BMW decided to give the 318i the Luxury trim line, I would have expected them to make it all Sport, or only have the Luxury on the 320i instead. But good to see that they have listened to market demands for the M Sport variant and will have the 320i M Sport back again just like in the E90.

• omegle on Nov 09, 2015 at 6:04 pm

About damn time, after so long without any news.

• Sosexcited! on Nov 09, 2015 at 6:09 pm

3Series LCI, new gen A4, Jag XE, IS200T, Camry Hybrid dan COTY W205. Which 1 will come tops?!!!

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Nov 09, 2015 at 7:08 pm

Please offer “comfort access” for entire range 3 series. Sekarang buka pintu oso need find key to “tit tit”. Other makes from Rm80K onwards oledi Keyless masuk lloorrrrr…..
    Don’t think price will increase very much by intro Keyless entry, since they oledi have keyless start!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • seancorr (Member) on Nov 09, 2015 at 9:07 pm

Comfort access with smart boot opener if you may. They will also need to add in a reverse camera as standard to match the new W205 C class.

• State of independence on Nov 09, 2015 at 10:24 pm

Yet owners of those 80k non teet teet cars will gladly abandon their cars by the roadside for a teet teet bmw if they had the chance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • Painful on Nov 09, 2015 at 7:52 pm

Still waiting/checking for months for new Everest. Hurry up Ford!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
  • anonymous on Nov 09, 2015 at 9:09 pm

I can’t wait to see how BMWM is gonna price this LCI 3 Series huehue

• DPCraft on Nov 09, 2015 at 11:23 pm

New C-class still have better interior.

• nasi ayam on Nov 10, 2015 at 8:58 am

how much would it cost for 318i.
    hopefully price remain but seem impossible.
    msian jz look at wat kinda of car u are sitting in .
    nobody cares on the engine. another few more months u can see 318i who removed their badge with the Msports logo on it. its normal! janji ada muka !

• Mayweather on Nov 10, 2015 at 4:56 pm

I still see many with the 316i logo. I guess its nothing to be ashamed of. Buying a 209k car is nothing to sneeze at.

• gundam mama on Nov 10, 2015 at 12:01 pm

I am sick of driving my cheapo Toyota Camry. No class.
    I am buying BMW now and forever….

• Nenek Kau on Nov 10, 2015 at 1:51 pm

Which one to choose….330i M or the 320d M???

• Blaster88 on Nov 10, 2015 at 6:40 pm

Handling and dynamics….its the new F30 all the way….I hope they would throw in the reverse camera, keyless entry and heads up display. Plus a 5 year free warranty/service… However, its a mid life cycle upgrade…3 years to go before the new model comes out…The W205 has a classier interior but the exterior looks a bit funny. The shape fit the S class like a tee but looks awkward in the C class. While the interior looks good, however if you look carefully, the quality of material used is so so only…plus a boring powerplant and gearbox. The new A4 should be interesting, Quattro, beautiful interior, digital display and a gem of an engine…however, the sub standard after sales service and lack of dealers are key concerns…It would be an interesting 2016

• Bmw Scary on Nov 10, 2015 at 8:54 pm

My relative 2013 BMW X3 with petrol engine gone down to BMW workshop for 4 months already still haven’t get it done due to the engine breakdown. The milleage cloaked less than 40k only. Just imagine how fragile. I own a F30 320i too, sharing the same engine. Which makes me worried too. My car warranty has expired.

• Megane on Nov 11, 2015 at 1:36 am

Look at the central tunnel console design . Looks cheap , boring , uninspiring . Pay so much for this lousy interior . Wadde…

• Drive one, then drive a honda. Then you will know why you pay so much.