Mercedes-Benz won’t go beyond a nine-speed gearbox

Mercedes-Benz-GLE-Class-26

While other automakers are embarking on 10-speed automatic transmissions, a senior engineer at Mercedes-Benz revealed that the brand will go no further than nine gears, Autocar reports. The brand currently employs the 9G-Tronic nine-speed automatic transmission in some of its latest models.

Marcus Sommer, Mercedes-Benz 4Matic all-wheel drive system engineer explains that the decision followed after the company ran a total of 81 billion computer simulations relating to gearbox scenarios. With that, Mercedes-Benz found that a total of nine gears works best.

At the moment, Ford, General Motors and more recently Honda, are the only few that will have a 10-speed automatic transmission. Volkswagen previously showcased its 10-speed DSG gearbox, however, reports have noted that the brand has since shelved those plans.

So guys, should Merc stay with just nine gears, or do you think that other brands are on to something with more gears?

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• heybadigol (Member) on Dec 08, 2015 at 10:50 am

Finally, some common sense. Cos seriously, with a turbo engine which has so much torque down low, the highest gear it can reach to maintain 110km/h without revving too low is probably 8th gear (which was probably why ZF/BMW opted for this number) To reach 9th or 10th gear, it must do at least 130 km/h, which might beat some countries’ speed limits.

• 4G63T DSM on Dec 08, 2015 at 1:22 pm

Yes it is.

However. Newer turbo cars (and diesel) tend to have rather narrower power bands, necessitating more gears. However, 10 is pretty much overkill…with the last 4 gears being overdrives.

I still think manufacturers might want to revisit the tech behind an old mitsubishi gearbox. Instead of having so many gears, perhaps have an (automatic) 2 or 3 speed final drive.

If you need infinite amount of gear ratios, there is always a CVT.

• They should compete to give more YEARS of warranty instead. 9 years warranty sounds good for me.

• You just killed your own comment by recommending cvt on a merc article

• 4G63T DSM on Dec 09, 2015 at 9:46 am

Perhaps you should upgrade your reading comprehension first.

I agree with mercedes to not go nuts on gears….and highlighted if one needs to go so many gears, they can use a CVT.

As an aside, I have sampled many CVTs. As with everything in this world, there are good CVTs and bad CVTs. How many CVTs have you tried?

The fact is, a good CVTs is simpler and more efficient, especially in lower power applications like Eco cars and sub compacts.

I wonder if you did think so mightily of Mercedes until you completely forgot about their SMART brand. A CVT in a SMART (or A Class for that matter). what’s wrong with that?

• GearsGears on Dec 11, 2015 at 9:03 am

The additional gears are for in between ratios to harness the torque band at it most efficient point . If you drive a BMW you will notice this. BMW makes do with 8 gears but the final ratio is pretty much the same as other 6 speeder at the highest gear ratio in long cruise.

This is why their cars while only having 245Bhp can do the century mile in 5.9sec despite the similar weight/power ratio.

• Most supercars are using 7-speed gearbox – for example Porsche 911 PDK transmission is all 7-speed but in order to get the highest rev (in Sport Plus mode), the highest gear is the 6th.

• Why use 9 speed, according to toyota 4 speed enough for Vios current and next generation. Try drive one you will amaze that toyota gearbox better than honda city new CVT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
    • sarled on Dec 09, 2015 at 5:55 am

Haha, just because the Malaysian godcar dugong Vios is using 4 speeds, suddenly 4-speed is all the human race would need……..

• Sammy Loo on Dec 08, 2015 at 12:29 pm

The Toyota 4 speeder is proven to be the best and most reliable gearbox. Silky smooth gear shift and react perfectly to throttle response.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 16
  • Aisin (under Toyota’s corporate umbrella) is rumored to showcase mass-production ready 10-speed auto for Lexus.

• Arif Sharif on Dec 08, 2015 at 6:49 pm

Honestly, with the modern engine getting more and more torquey 10 gears is just inordinately unnecessary. More gears is just a crutch for compensating the lack of torque. Just look at mercedes maybach s500 and s600 that we’re getting for instance. The s600, with more torque than the s500, only needs 7 gears.

• GearsGears on Dec 11, 2015 at 9:06 am

You have just highlighted my case in point. The reason why the S600 only needs 7 is because of the torque band is very high and very wide. It does not need the in between gears to push the car fast and quickly.
      That is why some very large engine cars/trucks often drive off in 2 or 3 gear from stationary.

• Arif Sharif on Dec 08, 2015 at 7:38 pm

Honestly, with modern engines getting more and more torquey, 10 gears is just inordinately unnecessary. More gears is just a crutch for compensating low torque. Just look at the mercedes maybach s500 and s600 we’re getting for example. The s600, with more torque compared to the s500, only needs 7 gears to the s500’s 9.

• and how many people can afford s600 ? most people are driving puny 3 or 4 cylinder cars u know.

• SammyValueNoValue on Dec 08, 2015 at 8:16 pm

A Toyota salesman recently tood me 4 speed auto is the best coz its very reliable, no headaches for the owner. Toyota still using the 4 speed sure got reason one. I said to him “but ,toyota cars macam a bit boring to drive”. He said “when buying a car most important thing got resale value mah”. Im beginning to think all other manufacturers should close shop coz Toyotas are all we ever need.

• Sammy Loo on Dec 08, 2015 at 11:32 pm

That’s very true

With better RV, you can upgrade car without suffering huge lost. Upgrading from Vios to Altis to Camry and then move to the luxury brand – Lexus