Dec 2015 sales – Proton fourth; behind Toyota, Honda

Sales-Data-December-2015

Click to enlarge chart

More official sales figures from the Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA), and this time it’s numbers from last month. As noted in our earlier 2015 Total Industry Volume report, it wasn’t the smoothest of years for the automotive industry as it mirrored the national economy, but a late surge powered total sales to 666,674 units, the highest ever in Malaysian history.

Sales volume in December 2015 was 69,401 units, 23.7% or 13,309 units higher than in November. It was by far the highest monthly total in 2015. MAA attributes the performance to aggressive promo campaigns and the customary “year end sales” in conjunction with the Christmas and New Year festive period.

Also contributing was the unusual pattern of consumers buying forward in anticipation of higher car prices in 2016. In October 2015, UMW Toyota Motor started the ball rolling by announcing that prices of Toyota and Lexus vehicles will go up from 4% to 16% effective January 2016. Honda Malaysia followed suit with a similar announcement.

So, who did well in December? At the expense of who? Most major brands gained in December with the exception of Mercedes-Benz (2015 premium segment sales champ), Subaru, Peugeot, MINI and Porsche.

Nothing can touch 10-year market leader Perodua at the top, but Proton wasn’t in its customary No.2 spot. The national brand sold more in December than November, but by a margin of less than 1,000 units, the smallest increase in the top 5.

Honda is the new non-national leader, but Toyota put up a very good fight. The latter’s strong showing in the final round of the bout (13,150 units in December vs Honda’s 10,747) meant that we had a photo finish for total 2015 sales, which stood at 94,902 for Honda and 93,760 for Toyota. The margin was just 1,142 units. Armed with three IMV heavy weapons – Hilux, Fortuner and Innova – this year’s battle for non-national bragging rights will be intense.

For a bigger picture, view the overall 2015 sales chart and MAA’s outlook for 2016.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

The comments mainly express disappointment with Proton's sales performance, predicting its decline to fourth place or worse, and criticizing management and product quality. Many highlight Proton’s lack of innovation, poor R&D, and outdated technology compared to competitors like Honda, Toyota, Hyundai, and Kia. There is support for local brands like Proton and Perodua, but also frustration over low sales, poor RV, and limited market appeal. Some comments mock Proton supporters and criticize government protection giving Proton an unfair advantage. Overall, the sentiment is negative, urging Proton to improve and warning that continued complacency will lead to further decline, with many advocating for the company's shutdown or significant overhaul to remain competitive.

• ben yap on Jan 21, 2016 at 4:49 pm

proton and toyota boleh tutup kedai….

proton with government protection also get 4th place. if without protection, it will be at par with Tata.

Toyota beat honda because of the commercial vehicles. if without that, toyota can tutup kedai also.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 28
    • Bungkus on Jan 21, 2016 at 5:53 pm

Perodua Sedan = Bye bye sayonara Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
      • Pak Kapak on Jan 21, 2016 at 6:51 pm

2016, Proton patut jual lebeh byk kete bagi PDRM, JPJ, Kastam, DBKL, LHDN, PTPTN, PLUS..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
        • Because Honda already started to clear their 2015 stocks in November. And with super discount from Toyota, no surprise Toyota sell slightly higher lo.

• Desperate Desperate Donkey on Jan 22, 2016 at 9:24 am

Just one post only got about 20 Donkey comments. Trying so hard to prove he is not john and that he is not a BN Cybertrooper.

Everybody knows what he is. A BN lapdog, will to eat the fecal matter and waste of BN.

• Rashuk_Khan2 on Jan 21, 2016 at 8:03 pm

Produa Sedan….dreaming..Produa only expert on redesign bumper….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • ptoton ceo official on Jan 21, 2016 at 6:02 pm

after reading your comment we realise that tutup kedai is the best thing to do. so begins now we announce proton no longer exists. thank you – proton ceo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
    • Go and do some research, Tata is a strong global brand. With heavy protection, i don’t thibk Proton is able to compete with Tata.

Go to YouTube search “how big is Tata”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
      • malaysian on Jan 22, 2016 at 8:41 am

Tata..is strong… Hyundai is strong…Kia is strong too..and now Hyundai has take over Kia too..No doubt..
        One of the key of success of the above automotive brand is… they get BIG support from their local market…
        Do you know..when started..Quality of Hyundai & Kia is worst than Proton?? And do u know how korean people support their own brand?? Hyundai…Kia…Samsung…?!

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 21, 2016 at 7:33 pm

My son saga has better RV than those junk kimchis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 16
    • malaysian on Jan 22, 2016 at 8:37 am

Are we Malaysian???
      Why dont we support Malaysian Car? Proton? Perodua?
      Have u ever drive any Proton or Perodua’S car before or lately? No improvement at all?
      Dont just simply comment that Local car is worst than japanese cars…
      Cheers up…. & Be Fair…drive only comment…

• John Beng on Jan 21, 2016 at 5:05 pm

Donkey Kong, John, Aero, KZM the Proton SHIELD Avengers team, let’s begin the battle against Toyota Perodua Hydra team!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 17
    • Captain Potong on Jan 21, 2016 at 5:58 pm

Heil Hydra!

Alamak wrong team pulak!

• DonkeyKong on Jan 21, 2016 at 6:54 pm

Why must everything be taken personally? Just because you don’t support Proton, you consider people who say that Proton isn’t all crap, or that Proton does have some good achievements, to be your enemies? Or that stating facts such as these that do not fit your world-view and opinions is somehow not permitted and everyone has to be anti-government and anti-Proton or else they must be BN supporters or Proton employees? How do you expect Malaysia to progress when the population has such low IQ like this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 16
      • DK bro. Dun get stressed up. Their mindset is just like IS. Once twisted they cant be straightened anymore. And just like the spread of IS, these ideological extremists are twisting others too.
        Just take pride that they got riled up so bad they have to bring out our impostors.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 30
      • Blame game on Jan 21, 2016 at 7:11 pm

Such a low IQ also to blame rakyat and bank loan approval if sales is low.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
        • Low IQ is the same person talking to himself under different names – john & donkeydong

• kzm (Member) on Jan 22, 2016 at 7:09 am

Interesting..

• nomone on Jan 21, 2016 at 5:08 pm

still got ppl buy VW??! Hm.. stupid ppl no comment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 15
    • Sammy Loo on Jan 21, 2016 at 6:12 pm

and VW still selling more cars than the kimchis

• alldisc on Jan 21, 2016 at 6:39 pm

30k discounts for jetta did sound a very interesting offer, down to 100k.

• Firdaus on Jan 21, 2016 at 5:09 pm

I wonder how the proton machai’s are going to take this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
    • King Kong on Jan 21, 2016 at 5:28 pm

Macai said just wait the new engine year 2017 and we will storm the world.

Storm the world.

Ha ha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 12
    • The Gov need to prepare at least 213k graves for 213k moving coffins? Oh oso need to add 93k more graves…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 30
    • DonkeyKong on Jan 21, 2016 at 8:59 pm

The machais have been accepting this fact for many years now. I’m not a Proton shareholder, employee or whatever, but in general I don’t see Proton owners getting riled up over such news. It’s just the bashers that’s always getting their knickers in a knot

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
      • Good riddence on Jan 21, 2016 at 10:01 pm

You don’t see them getting riled because they just patiently wait car loan settled and trade it off for a Perodua or Toyota. God knows how cruciatingly frustrated they are.

• DonkeyKong on Jan 21, 2016 at 11:30 pm

“Cruciatingly”?

Umm..ok..

• Desperate Desperate Donkey on Jan 22, 2016 at 9:29 am

must buy pampers for this Donkey. Anybody know where to get animal pampers?

• sohhai on Jan 21, 2016 at 5:14 pm

Look closer and you’ll find Honda outsold Toyota in the passenger car by almost 30,000 cars. Well done Honda Malaysia and hope you learned your lesson UMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
  • Jobless on Jan 21, 2016 at 5:23 pm

Potong CEO and the whole marketing team still sitting comfy in their aircon offices and fat payche ka + bonuses..in oter more developed countries they sure kena sacked long long time ago

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • Jason Lim on Jan 21, 2016 at 5:52 pm

actually the downfall of proton do us no good.yet everyone is so happy

from the other side,proton has no strong product to fight against other brand. u see what they have in line; Iriz,Suprima S,Preve,Exora,Persona?

Iriz they claim is GSC(Global Small Car). now what happen?

• Karma is good on Jan 21, 2016 at 6:47 pm

30 years rakyat suffer kena bully cheated.

Now it’s rakyat turn to bully back and boycott it forever.

In your face padan muka!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
    • DonkeyKong on Jan 21, 2016 at 6:48 pm

Oh crap, because you said that Proton’s downfall won’t be good for our country, people will say you’re just DonkeyKong, John, etc in disguise.

Proton has made good progress in the last few years but they’re fighting an uphill battle to undo the many years of screw-ups that came before.

They’re not the best car around, and without Proton, cars won’t really get cheaper due to the way taxes are applied. However, for the low market volume that they’ve been working in, and with the limited resources that they have without rebadging and licensing others’ technology, their achievement is not bad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 19
      • Einstein said on Jan 21, 2016 at 7:15 pm

Insanity: Keep repeating same thing to expect different result.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
        • Huh? What they repeat? Something like ancient gerbox for 3 gens of car? Even saga dun use 4 speeder

• DonkeyKong on Jan 21, 2016 at 9:08 pm

You mean, like bashers keep saying “Power window”?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
          • Escape route on Jan 21, 2016 at 9:55 pm

Like if cannot fix the power window then give lifetime warranty?

• They cant bring that up anymore cuz of toyota fire windows

• Martian on Jan 22, 2016 at 8:13 am

Go and buy your own island. Even dun need any i.c to live in

• Hello… Malays, Chinese, Indian, Kadazan…
        We are all MALAYSIAN… just different in Religions…

• soon Honda will overtake Proton…soon

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • Sammy Loo on Jan 21, 2016 at 6:15 pm

Where are those kimchi supporters? Quiet already when looking at these figures?

Both Hyundai and Kia total sale for the whole year is less than Toyota sales on just the month of December. Just on par with Honda sales for just one December month.

• Andrekua on Jan 21, 2016 at 11:30 pm

Sales figures maybe bad, but I don’t think it reflect the quality and features of Korean cars. Many are still concern about parts availability and resale value which hamper their decision making instead of looking on what the car offer. Of course, SC attitude also play a big part. Toyota, or rather UMW is playing a dangerous game with car safety. Even Proton also start equipping their cars with ESC/ESP. I can’t see why UMW would omit them on some of their models. Car safety is being jeopardized by the two crony companies in the name of Toyota UMW and Perodua. Basically brother and sister company, and they both choose profit over safety.

• salim on Jan 21, 2016 at 6:15 pm

Proton ass lickers has shit in their heart,brain and mouth. Rather than accepting the facts that P1 sucks, they are diverting attention and whacking P2 instead.
    Sour grapes and having false hope that P1 will ever improve. P1 can close shop , government has no money, the 600 mil grant should be used for other means rather than to help this useless brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 12
    • Movingcoffin on Jan 21, 2016 at 8:36 pm

Whack those moving coffins. You want to die faster, you go. Noone stops you

• DonkeyKong on Jan 21, 2016 at 9:07 pm

Whether P1 or P2 gains, it’s good for the local industry, so either way, it’s good for the country. However, Proton has added more value to our local auto industry in terms of designing and developing our own automobiles, and eventually developing our own engines with foreign technical input. P2, although they’re just a “badge engineering” house, have also contributed to our local industry in terms of efficient manufacturing practices in excellent factories, and the new Peroduas have pretty good interior plastic quality compared to what came before.

P1 is more technologically advanced in every aspect compared to P2, but they lack the brains to do any sort of market research to deliver what the market wants, and they’ve been suffering for over a decade by building cars that they feel like building.

Expecting P1 to close down, however, is counter-productive on so many levels that only myopic ignorant haters would spew such uninformed garbage. The solution is to get Proton revamped one way or another.. either a change in key management personnel.. a tie-up with a major foreign stakeholder to inject some new management style and drive into them.. or some other viable solution.

Closing shop and discarding all the stuff that they have done is not the solution. Car prices will not be cheaper and we will not have any other 5-star ANCAP cars with 6 airbags and full suite of active & passive safety features below RM70k in our market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
      • Duty free nonsense on Jan 21, 2016 at 10:05 pm

Yes you can buy fully loaded safety specs car rm70k in Langkawi.

• Ollie on Jan 22, 2016 at 2:39 pm

Have you bought the Macroeconomics book I told you to buy? Take some time off and go study economics. You’ll be well known as the first kambing economist.

We do not need Proton nor Perodua to support local industries. APM and other parts manufacturers have been around for very long, can supply to any car maker. We have a local company supplying wing parts to Boeing. Do we need a Malaysian airplane maker? using your logic?

Please keep your ignorance to yourself and go study before you talk. Thanks

• Proton will make 4th place their own this year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • roslan on Jan 21, 2016 at 6:31 pm

2016 will be the worst year for Proton.
    Who wanna buy Proton?
    When new engine launched (God’s will if )
    ,RV for existing models will drop drastically.
    So until then nobody wanna buy Proton cos
    all wait & see.
    2016 will have massive stock pile of unsold 2015 units. Proton will soon have to write off these unsold units via massive clearance discounts so people hear this at PT.
    Tanjung Malim & Shah Alam plant is full of unsold units and just lying in the rain & sun.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
    • Wasting good steel on Jan 21, 2016 at 7:25 pm

Such a waste of big empty factory, and two of it!

Better lelong it off to Perodua, Toyota or Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
      • Later on Jan 21, 2016 at 8:38 pm

Wait until new saga lainch then talk again

• Comic failure on Jan 21, 2016 at 10:24 pm

It will failed big time against Perodua sedan. Just like Iriz futile attempt against Myvi only to be thrashed sorely by Axia.

• Sammy Zaik Loo on Jan 21, 2016 at 6:34 pm

Sooner or later (it’s just a matter of time) there will be lots of ‘repossessed’ Toyotaik and PeruTaikdua once the economic crash as most carbuyers in Malaysia will just blindly buy a brand new cars, worse with zero or minimum upfront payment with 7 – 9 years loan (especially this few months ago lately). Mark my words.

• DonkeyKong on Jan 21, 2016 at 6:58 pm

Good slap in the face for the management at Proton. Pretty soon, even under-spec’d overpriced foreign cars will overtake their sales figures if they don’t buck up. It’s also a good wake-up call for them to stop relying on the local market. Start expanding to other third-world countries like Indonesia, Bangladesh, India and elsewhere as soon as possible. Increase the production of left-hand drive variants, through other foreign contract manufacturers/assemblers for foreign markets if possible, to broaden the available market.

If they stick only to Malaysia, where the people are foreign brand worshipers who view Proton as a government-supported Malay company that needs to be closed down no matter how much progress has taken place, they’re digging their own grave, as they are now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
    • Penampar buaya on Jan 21, 2016 at 7:19 pm

Slap your own face also for easily fooled by crappy junk falsehood.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
      • Vios is ultimate junk on Jan 21, 2016 at 8:42 pm

Buaya mati ditetak

• DonkeyKong on Jan 21, 2016 at 8:57 pm

Please explain what you define as crappy junk.

Power window and central locking system stories again? Or milo tin stories again?

Sure, their service centers need improving. Their plastics quality needs to improve, especially for interior textures.

Other than that, is a 1500MPa tensile strength passenger cell crappy? 6 airbags with ABS, EBD, BA and ESC.. crappy?

The powertrain is still a bit short of ideal but they’re getting there. The CFE engine is no slouch, but the Punch CVT gearbox could be better. However, let’s not forget that the CFE was developed for Euro 5 compliance, while the upcoming GDI engines are developed for Euro 6 compliance.

So, what exactly is crappy about Proton? Care to share some facts instead of just rage and hatred?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
        • Cakap besar on Jan 21, 2016 at 9:51 pm

Sell it to Sweden market and beat Volvo in its backyard there if you think its so damn good car.

• Volvo cars arent doing so well even in Sweden. Pipu there prefers MB & BMW cuz about same prices.

• Schmuck on Jan 21, 2016 at 10:09 pm

Then go sell it in Germany and beat BMW Merc Audi there. Itu hari menteri cakap Proton sudah setaraf BMW.

• DonkeyKong on Jan 21, 2016 at 11:33 pm

Sell it to Sweden? It’s like saying if your neighborhood nasi lemak is so good, go sell it in Indonesia. Does it even make sense?

• Loler on Jan 22, 2016 at 8:16 am

Lol toyota is too junky to compare it with p1. So people compare it with bmw merc volvo wow!

• firdaus on Jan 21, 2016 at 7:11 pm

the problem with proton started long time ago,
    they were complacent,
    when the sales so high, income so good, they never invest in r&d.they invested in the tanjung malim plant thinking they can churn out a couple of hundred thousands of iswaras way till 2020!

then there were blunders like the Tiara with 3 nuts per wheel(remember this)
    then the juara
    then the waja with a 1.8 renault engine plus the left signal stalk
    then with cam tak pro
    then for being so arrogant and don’t want to sell to VW
    but now kowtow to suzuki

what else to say!!!
    this is what happens when people heading the company know nothing about cars.just because they love car racing they think they know how to do car business.proton was not created for the rakyat, it was a money making outfit to only enrich certain individuals!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
    • Boros on Jan 21, 2016 at 8:12 pm

Wasting rm600 mil on new engines when they can buy proven quality efficient engine and gearbox from Perodua. Really stupid decision in tough market conditions looming around!

Mindless ego over pride to deal with Perodua. God bless you lah Proton. Just don’t ask EPF(our money) for bailout later, better kowtow to those rich China company okay!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
      • DonkeyKong on Jan 21, 2016 at 9:11 pm

Perodua’s engines are not Euro 5 and Euro 6 compliant, and their gearboxes are ancient 4-speed auto transmissions. They don’t have downsized low-capacity engines, nor do they have dual-VVT engines yet.

If Perodua had dual-VVT engines, or fuel-efficient downsized turbocharged engines, and at least some 5- or 6-speed auto gearboxes, I’m sure everyone will agree with you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
        • P2 has moved backwards and gip non-DVVT engine in axia.

• Guzzler on Jan 21, 2016 at 10:14 pm

But still a million times better than crappy Campro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
          • DonkeyKong on Jan 21, 2016 at 11:35 pm

Oh sure, why not take it all the way back and say it’s a million times better than the 1985 Saga’s Orion engine

• Rashuk_Khan2 on Jan 21, 2016 at 8:14 pm

From the data given it shows that most Msian prefer to buy low cost car.. Most probably Produa making sales from Axia. As mention by Proton CEO, Iriz not making well due to low approval rate by bankers. Its a signal that Msian purchasing power become worst….

• DonkeyKong on Jan 21, 2016 at 9:14 pm

And it also shows that the market segment that would like to support Proton is the lower-middle income group and the lower-income group that already have plenty of financial commitments and can’t afford the cheapest cars from Proton. The runaway success of the Axia proves that when Malaysians want cheap and functional cars, a decent deal will do, nevermind all that active and passive safety features. A comfortable well-designed car at a cheap price, that’s what the market hungers for.

• This is y we hv to urge to close shop Perodua

• nabill (Member) on Jan 21, 2016 at 8:24 pm

Reminds me of the old Nokia brand,at one point,they had almost all the market to themselves, thn the competition upped their game,Nokia was underestimating thm,and poof,its history…
    This is a cut throat market, once u lag behind,make sure u find different ways to get up from ur slumber, otherwise,the giant wave will jus swallow u….i hope p1 will realize n feel this giant slap in the face, n do something about it,otherwise, sooner or later,that list above,p1 will be somewhere at the bottom…

• Asian Jaguar on Jan 21, 2016 at 10:20 pm

Its okay they can compete down there with Rolls Royce. Rare and limited low volume editions.

• malaysian on Jan 22, 2016 at 8:33 am

We are Malaysian???
    Why dont we support Malaysian Car? Proton? Perodua?
    Have u ever drive any Proton or Perodua’S car before or lately? No improvement at all?
    Dont just simply comment that Local car is worst than japanese cars…
    Cheers up…. drive only comment…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Nissan semakin hampir… proton dijangka terjunam ke tpt ke 5. Tp proton x peduli, tetap syok sendiri… bon voyage proton.

• Citreon on Feb 18, 2016 at 6:42 pm

Where is Citreon ? Under Renault?