Perodua releases first design sketch of current Myvi

No, this is not a preview of the next-generation Perodua Myvi – instead, the national carmaker has released a sketch of the current car, showing the initial design of Malaysia’s best-selling hatchback.

From the front, we can clearly see influences from the nameplate’s past, as well as hints of what was then to come. The sweptback headlights and sweeping bonnet surfacing, for instance, is reminiscent of the first-generation model, although both have since been replaced by a more modern, forward-looking front fascia.

Elsewhere, the large wheel arches, deep bodyside line and a strong chamfer around the side windows are indicative of the current second-gen Myvi. We also spot a five-point grille that has morphed into the hexagonal item found on the facelifted Myvi.

07_01_04

2016 Daihatsu Boon

We can’t wait to see what’s next in store for the Myvi. The current model has been facelifted early last year, so it’s soon approaching its sell-by date. Expect the new one to be launched about a year from now, based on the third-generation Daihatsu Boon and Toyota Passo which were just unveiled last week.

Engines will likely come from Toyota’s new NR family of 1.3 and 1.5 litre engines – currently utilised on the facelifted Toyota Avanza – which should see the introduction of Dual VVT-i technology. Five-speed manual and four-speed automatic transmissions should continue to be offered as well, as they have been for nearly 11 years now.

A bit far out but still definitely on the cards is some form of autonomous emergency braking system. Perodua is said to be aiming to equip its cars with such technology by the year 2020, and has recently been seen trialling a Daihatsu Move with the Smart Assist II driver assistance system, hinting at a local introduction in the near future.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• We have too many small car driving 70km/h on fast lane

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 34
    • turbo_ridera on Apr 19, 2016 at 2:13 pm

is this even related to the post……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 5
      • karam singh on Apr 19, 2016 at 9:10 pm

Lol, not related but true story.
        BTW perodua really making sketch ?
        not Copy paste Daihatsu ?
        why bother sketching?, it’s not like Perodua sketch the design from ground up.

• Same L0rr on Apr 19, 2016 at 3:23 pm

Perodua basher.. please.. Perodua is the best RV in the market..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 38
      • P2 is the best coffin in the market. Better than rosewood

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 10
        • Donkey John on Apr 19, 2016 at 4:55 pm

Pemandu is driving Proton to hospital ICU ward. But the doctor is gone. Left for dead?

• The said Dr is just a GP. What it needs a team of specialists to Avenge the failure. Thats where the industry captains (Amerika) comes in.

• hailthepurist on Apr 19, 2016 at 4:55 pm

copy then paste..

• We have many big cars or some thinking he’s driving big cars driving on emergency lane.

• OMG…P2, i hope to see new developed engine and more airbags & VSC on next gen Myvi. Dont just change the exterior design, i know u good on that. Thanks…

• Outalingam Crap on Apr 19, 2016 at 2:25 pm

IMHO, it’s high time that Alza get a new body design….retain the 2.75m wheelbase but enlarging the third row space for more leg room and cargo capacity, and hey…..how about Perodua organizing a car design competition locally?

• Why bother to design something so substandard.
    Just bulat bulat copy the daihatsu lah. Save the design cost, bring the product out sooner, and pass the savings to consumers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
  • nabill (Member) on Apr 19, 2016 at 2:50 pm

so?

• Rosmah on Apr 19, 2016 at 2:56 pm

Really Perodua? They make sketches? I thought they just copy toyota/daihatsu design?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
  • Sgt Scoop on Apr 19, 2016 at 3:07 pm

Why would you need a design sketch to rebadge a Daihatsu?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
  • bukapintubayartol on Apr 19, 2016 at 3:09 pm

The Axia is a game changer, having broken free of its KeiCar dimensional restrictions. It has grown in size – now almost comparable to the Myvi. Having said that, would it be too far fetched an idea for Perodua to enlarge the third Gen Myvi just a smidgen? Slightly longer wheelbase, wider, more cargo space, more premium feel. Let the Axia soldier on as the entry level offering…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
  • What is there for Perodua to release a sketch of the current Myvi? Did they design the original car in the 1st place ? They just copied the daihatsu & shamelessly can release a so called design sketch ?

You can go to any sekolah rendah during kelas seni & show the children the pics of the original daihatsu model & ask them to draw a rendering of the Myvi.

Do you need P2 designers/engineers for this purpose????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
    • Ya… agree…
      can come out many of this kind of design sketch using design software in just an hour.

sketch from scratch is a big phrase for P2.
      More like tweek facelift.

shameless to ask “ever wonder what’s the initial design look like”. We all know the initial design look like a Daihatsu Passo.

• FYI, Perodua dun hv designer n engineer, all sitting in front of computer do sketch are draftsman

• Oh I prefer all sitting in front of computer drafting than those sitting at gerai makan lepaking and in the end telling people they design cars. Padahal, the cars are design in Korea.

• People just copy also made so much money. You spyshot, test at Iceland, Australia, Greenland…etc… still cannot make money. Lu pikir lah sendiri.

• Sketch from kindergarten budak, wahaha

• wankj on Apr 19, 2016 at 4:36 pm

kita di Malaysia panggil Perodua….
    Eksport ke Indon sudah jadi Daihatsu….

• frossonice on Apr 19, 2016 at 4:56 pm

I believe you Perodua.

All those Japs rebadge are fake!

• Did it take that many sketches for a design that only involves bumper changes?

• walauweh on Apr 19, 2016 at 6:02 pm

come on lah, ok what,atleast some of the parts from sketching is carried forward to actual products…its 4 doors and 4 tyres design… :-)

• The new Myvi is really attractive to my eyes. Much better than their new Sedan. Already witnessed both models in their plant. Sedan will comes first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • cukup la, jangan dok tipu diri sendiri..its a daihatsu

• maidin on Apr 20, 2016 at 12:21 am

at first glance, the sketch reminds me on the 1st gen of honda jazz, especially the front bonnet

• what sketch? The japanese engineers already did that 20 yrs ago. duuh!

• Crishan on Apr 20, 2016 at 10:15 am

Base on their past developments, Perodua just carries over their parent co design with changes to either the bumpers and doors to some extent. I would like to see the Boom carried over 100% as these changes (past) done are not significant in terms of aerodynamics but only cosmetic ones which both Proton and Perodua are famous for. Plus they can also spare some development cost and help reduce the overall car prices. My 2 cents on local changes & trying to be original!

• B-Unggul on Apr 20, 2016 at 2:07 pm

The sides and the front bonnet bears more resemblance to Proton Savvy (or Sawi, whichever rocks your boat) though…

• Waste resources sketching current car which already in market, employee too senang nothing to do in office ?

• myvi poor suspension on Apr 28, 2016 at 10:38 am

Kling klong kling klong. Must get indonesian suspension like avanza n axia for msia poor roads. Current myvi suspension is sucker