Toyota Vios facelift launching in Thailand next week

Today is all about the Honda City facelift, which made its world debut in Thailand this afternoon. The refreshed City sports a new front end inspired by the current Civic – which has captured the imagination of many – plus some minor trim and leather changes inside. The top models get paddle shifters and smartphone connectivity has been improved. No changes to the mechanicals and Thai prices.

It may be just a minor refresh, but arch-rival Toyota isn’t going to let Honda enjoy the spotlight all to itself. The big T has an ace up its sleeve as well, and the Bangkok Post reports that a facelifted Vios will be launched in Thailand. How soon? Next week!

In March last year, the Vios was given a update that didn’t alter the compact sedan’s looks, but gave it an all-new heart. The update, which arrived here in October 2016, gave the Vios a new 1.5 litre Dual VVT-i engine and a CVT automatic gearbox with seven virtual ratios to replace the long-serving four-speed auto.

With the technical update already checked, this round of updates has to be a facelift in the more traditional sense – with design updates to keep the Vios looking fresh next to the City. Last April, Toyota wheeled out a Vios facelift for the China market – that car’s big-mouthed face is very similar the aggressive new look of the 2018 Toyota Camry that was unveiled in Detroit this week. Will ASEAN get this fearsome face?

Let the games begin!

GALLERY: China-market Toyota Vios facelift

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• New engine and gearbox. The best just got Better!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 40
    • Best when back in 2003 you mean? During 1st generation

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 7
      • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Jan 13, 2017 at 10:25 am

Dugong disguised as ultraman. Very bad disguise though.

• Kunta sam loo on Jan 12, 2017 at 11:20 pm

Very soon uncle will look for new job to sell kimchi.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 17, 2017 at 11:04 pm

Selling used kimchis are the best trade in Malaysia all because there are suifficient sorhais that buys them new

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Jan 13, 2017 at 1:16 am

Wow…stunning and sexy…and very sporty…kudos toyota…luv the new grille…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
    • Kunta Kinte on Jan 13, 2017 at 7:39 am

Malaysians can never forget the past 15 years, Camry, Altis and Vios had no VSC and only 2 airbags in Malaysia

But in overseas, Toyota had VSC and 7 airbags minimum in all their cars.

UMW rather see you die or cacat than sacrifice their untung the past 15 years.

You dare to buy from such an unethical company who cares nothing for your life?

In 2016 UMW put VSC in all their cars cause sales were ZERO

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • Same L0rr on Jan 13, 2017 at 8:02 am

Can sale as goreng pisang! Good RV, reliable & value for money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • RavenAii (Member) on Jan 12, 2017 at 6:35 pm

Looking at this facelift, makes the weirdly futuristic designed Sienta looks awefully beautiful. The new Vios headlights, imo, is better than the current ones but those small nostrills with big mouth front bumber though, doesn’t really blend well with the rest of the car. But hey it’s a Vios, people would still buy it for sure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • Prabanathan Muthusamy on Jan 12, 2017 at 8:42 pm

This Vios is better than Civic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
    • camtakpro on Jan 13, 2017 at 6:26 am

The current one looks better at the front. What they need to fix is the rear.

• RavenAii (Member) on Jan 13, 2017 at 7:58 pm

Yep that’s true. The side profile is acceptable
        The current one has sporty front end with bland rear. This newer one has weird front end, and yet another bland rear. That’s why I said the design didn’t blend well for the car.

• Anything But Toyota, Greedy Honda on Jan 12, 2017 at 6:47 pm

The grille looks like G-string.
    Toyota Vios 1.5 G-String

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
  • Kia is a better brand than toyota…so ugly those vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
  • Kunta Kinte on Jan 12, 2017 at 8:38 pm

Severely underpowered and so called upgraded from a 4 speed to a 7 speed CVT with virtual ratios. Do the right thing , just use a conventional torque covertor 6 speed auto. As for the engine use a direct injection turbo. Anytime I will buy a VW Vento TSI or even the new Honda city facelift. The vios will never sell well.

• theanswer on Jan 13, 2017 at 12:17 pm

malaysian hard to please. 1.5 NA and u expect a 6 speed auto? never heard gear hunting prob due to small little torque engine? CVT is the best pair with city car. At this market buyers looking for reliability not power alone.

• Megane on Jan 12, 2017 at 9:22 pm

Now the new Dugong has multi level dentures. The fastest car on PLUS highway . Ah Lian would be wet soon

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 12, 2017 at 10:56 pm

Consider a used Elantra. Great value for money

• transformer on Jan 12, 2017 at 11:44 pm

toyota already shown next Camry(2018 USDM) in NAIAS exhibition. why no article/blog about that?

youtube also got few intro video…

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jan 13, 2017 at 10:19 am

You mean this? http://paultan.org/2017/01/10/2018-toyota-camry-longer-and-lower-with-tnga-platform-2-5l-vvt-ie-with-8at-focus-on-dynamics/

Cheers buddy :)

• Mikey on Jan 13, 2017 at 8:37 am

The Vios is looong overdue. With the ever presence City, you have been out muscle, out smart & out sell by the City. Toyo/UMW are too slow to update their Vios.

Hopefully, U will regain your pride/sales with the updated Vios that at least put U on par if not better than the City.

IMO, when Vios came out, U have set a benchmark in the B-segment car but U became complacent & the City & even the Almera overtook U.

Never let your past results make U Big headed. In order 2 regain your battered pride/ego, U have 2 make yourself better than B4.

Big T may be a top car manufacturer in the world But it does Not gives U the right 2 take your customers 4 granted. Hope U increase your quality & services else Tan Chong will overtake U in no time.

• Power of dreams on Jan 13, 2017 at 9:49 am

Something not right here.. the grill is too big and ugly!
    City facelift looks better but vios looks uglier..

• feel bad after the purchase of the new vios. Rattle has been detected in 1 months and the aircond is not powerful during hot day. handling is not too good. However, fuel consumption is amazing!

• theanswer on Jan 13, 2017 at 12:21 pm

sorry for you. so far mine is good enough. this kind of car..nothing to talk about its handling..unless it’s a proton. rattling and nvh is minimal (compared to jazz). aircond is cold..but blower a bit weak.

• ASEAN NCAP 3 stars only

• flowerhorn bnyk ong!

• Peter on Jan 13, 2017 at 2:08 pm

For buyer of new Vios with 4-speed auto, bfr March 2015, you actually being cheated. You’d have realize when they announce the new dual vvti engine last year that this new Vios supposed to be announced with new engine. Earlier adopter merely being used to save face and fill in the gap for toyota’s slow response to competition. Think of it, where’s the logic of having a new look in & out after decades but only new engine came months later!