GALLERY: Volvo V40 T5 with Polestar kit – take two

If you enjoyed our previous gallery of the Volvo V40 outfitted with parts from the Polestar Performance Optimisation programme, here’s another. This time, the hatchback isn’t confined to the showroom floor, as we brought the hatchback out to more picturesque surroundings for our resident photographer, Sherman Sim, to work his magic.

As a brief refresher, the Polestar Performance Optimisation programme is available for selected Volvo models here in Malaysia, including the V40 T5 Drive-E. Customers get to choose from five separate packages – chassis, intake and exhaust, wheels, interior and exterior, and optimisation – which introduce specific enhancements to various aspects of the car.

The car seen here receives the complete set of Polestar upgrades, which adds on RM59,999 to the price of the car, which starts at RM180,888 (OTR without insurance). Changes under the hood include bump in power, with the 2.0 litre T5 Drive-E petrol engine now producing 253 hp (from 245 hp) and 400 Nm (from 350 Nm).

Coupled with an improved throttle response, as well as gearshift response and off-throttle response, the Polestar-optimised V40 will complete the 0-100 km/h sprint in just 6.2 seconds (quicker by 0.1 seconds). Along with the added grunt, the Polestar programme also introduces a sports air filter, new air box lid, and a new set of shock absorbers and coil springs.

On the exterior, the V40 gets fancier 19-inch lightweight rims shod with Pirelli P Zero tyres (235/35 section), a new rear diffuser, a stainless steel exhaust system and black side mirror covers. Inside, there’s a Polestar-branded gear knob and door sills, along with aluminium sports pedals.

The Polestar performance parts packages are installed locally, and can be ordered from any authorised Volvo showroom in Malaysia. Currently, we have a V40 with the full Polestar package listed on our our sister classifieds site, oto.my, for RM240,888.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• tokmoh. on Feb 03, 2017 at 12:33 pm

Volvo > all

Soon maybe made in Tanjung Malim.

Geely > all

• Thorr on Feb 03, 2017 at 1:56 pm

Gerard, Any news whens the v40 facelift w thor hammer lights coming to msia?

• Mikey on Feb 03, 2017 at 2:14 pm

Yesterday, the BMW 118i was mention as a way of starting a conversation but ended up as a comparison with Civi-turbo & Suprima followed by interesting bashing & comments.

Today, I’m going to make/start a conversation with my esteem commentators on V40-T5 with 118i just 2 see if the same reaction/comments still hold water bcos in terms of price & size, they are almost equal except the power.

Common guys, I will start by saying this Volvo V40-T5 is a better buy/own/drive than the 118i. How many agree or disagree please comment/bash if U must. All are welcome.

• Brand on Feb 03, 2017 at 5:34 pm

Regardless of the performance offered by Volvo, people will still buy the BMW over the Volvo. Sad but true. Look at the PHEV X5 here, selling like hotcakes compared to the XC90.

• i don’t see any phev x5 in melaka leh…i saw at least 3units xc90

• they don’t know car at all, that’s all…

• Mr. H on Feb 03, 2017 at 2:17 pm

Why Malaysia didn’t get the new headlight???

• dimitriy on Feb 03, 2017 at 3:40 pm

dats wat im talking about. this will put GTi and 118i to dust. 188K without the Polestar upgrade will be enough to put away GTi (stock).

• Good value for money, high Hp and torque but no RV in the future.

• man that color is boring

• Additional RM 59,999 for 0.1 second quicker 0-100 performance. Absolute bargain!

• Add rm60k but 0-100 reduced by 0.1 sec only.. better get normal version and use 60 k for down payment of a small condo to rent out. Then got cash to pay for increase in cost of living in M’sia.
    Better yet, get pre reg 118i at 150k and save 90k for 2 small condos down payment.

• eeeriz on Feb 05, 2017 at 9:09 am

Agreed with Wtt, with merely 8hp and 50Nm increased together with the whopping price of RM60k, this is a definitely a rip off!! Better get BSR with less than RM10k, can get minimum 40hp.