Honda HR-V to receive 1.0 litre turbo engine in China?

The Honda HR-V could receive a 1.0 litre turbocharged three-cylinder engine in China soon, according to a report by Autohome.

The new variant is said to be introduced by Guangqi Honda, featuring the same 1.0 litre turbo/CVT combo found in the Civic 180Turbo sold by Dongfeng Honda. On the sedan, the mill offers 123 hp at 5,500 rpm and 173 Nm from 2,000 to 4,500 rpm, driving the front wheels.

Currently, the HR-V is available with two naturally-aspirated four-cylinder petrol engines in 1.5 litre (118 hp/145 Nm) and 1.8 litre (140 hp/172 Nm) guises (the latter is the only option in Malaysia), with hybrid and diesel options as well. As you can tell, the turbocharged mill matches the 1.8 litre petrol mill in terms of torque, although it is down in the horsepower count.

Guangqi Honda will reportedly launch the turbo HR-V on March 29 this year, with a few variants being offered to customers in China. Do you think such a model will be welcomed in Malaysia, given the lower road tax applicable?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Mikey on Feb 17, 2017 at 2:22 pm

The 1.0 liter turbo looks promising given that it almost matches the 1.8 liter NA in terms of power/torque. With smaller cc, it will be cheaper in terms of Roadtax & Insurance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • anonymous on Feb 17, 2017 at 9:12 pm

Matches 1.8? Torque yes, horsepower seems not. :(
      1.8 engine has 140 hp, 174 Nm.
      1.0 turbo has only 127 hp (10 hp less), but with 200 Nm of torque.

• Kunta Kinte on Feb 18, 2017 at 3:04 pm

Turbo got lots of problems. Rosak also repair bill is so high. Even normal service also, your bill is much higher than NA

Don’t fall for all the Turbo marketing gimmick. You think you save on fuel but long run, you pay far more and also spend a bomb on maintenance.

• Most important thing is, the torque of the turbo engine comes much earlier in the power band. Using a smaller engine can cut down the front weight giving better handling.

• Hp is more for max speed. You dun it really need it real high unless you want to go for racing. For day to day moving on congested road the torque is more important not to mention for moving from standstill with full load.

CFE / campro turbo engine even if lesser refined than n/a jepunis, it delivers power more than adequate right at lower RPM thus giving relaxing and effortless drive

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Feb 18, 2017 at 7:54 am

Honda…cars for the masses…too many on the roads…and no exclusivity…expecr fast depreciation because too many at kedai 2nd hand…

• Not Toyota Fan on Feb 17, 2017 at 2:35 pm

Boleh-Landers too conservative. Even the Civic Turbo kena hantam kau kau by those conservatives. Expect NA mills to be entry level mainstay for time being. If Honda is willing to take a gamble, perhaps try to replace the Civic 1.8NA with this 1.0L Turbo in the next facelift. Would be worth the gamble as most of Civic sales is the 1.5 Turbo. If it works, they’ll be seen as the innovator in introducing turbo entry level engines.

• Perhaps you don’t know BMW has 1.5 litre turbo engine in the 116i. And oh yes, it is only 3 cylinder.

• Mikey on Feb 18, 2017 at 10:00 am

Don’t try 2 act smart by saying – “Perhaps you don’t know BMW has 1.5 litre turbo”.

I have read enough of “Not Toyota Fan” comments & he seems 2 know more than U do on cars/motor vehicles.

At least he did not bash H but he gave a suggestion unlike U who bash anything & everything U dislike.

• Amran on Feb 17, 2017 at 2:49 pm

Same engine as perodua axia..

• Same as 1.0 litre only but missing turbo in AXIA

• Loler on Feb 18, 2017 at 8:57 am

It is like last time basher asked why p1 got 2 same 1.6l engines? Lol power output different lor and yes most parts are different

• IGP mom on Feb 18, 2017 at 3:19 pm

Trying to be superior with inferiority complex, hahaha, I like your thinking.

• Marina suki on Feb 17, 2017 at 3:22 pm

Day by day passes, the design looked outdated

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • DPCraft on Feb 17, 2017 at 4:52 pm

It’s already a bit outdated when launched. Unlike Toyota CH-R so refreshing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
      • CHR looks like a rhino with thick skin

• IGP mom on Feb 18, 2017 at 3:23 pm

But it doesn’t even launch in Msia yet … by the time it reaches Msia shores would be 2018 … still refreshing or stale by that time?

• Hope that UMW launching CH-R ASAP to win Honda market…

• Ex VGM staff on Feb 17, 2017 at 7:52 pm

Rumours has it the earliest we may see CHR is second half of 2017. The best bet is 2018.

• Most important aspect of the CH-R in Malaysia is the price and list of equipment . UMW always like to screw up this part. Now the plague has even spread to Bermaz with their Mazda brand.