G30 BMW 5 Series ROI site up, launch on March 29

The all-new G30 BMW 5 Series will be launched in Malaysia on March 29, 2017, according to a registration-of-interest (ROI) site put up by BMW Malaysia.

The site doesn’t disclose a whole lot of information relating to car’s specifications, and only shows us the G30’s Remote 3D View and BMW Connected feature, along with snippets from the BMW’s marketing campaign that stars Scott Eastwood (Clint Eastwood’s son).

However, previous sightings of the G30 in Malaysia have revealed that the 530i will be offered, and could come with the M Sport package and 19-inch M double-spoke style 664M alloy wheels. In 530i guise, power comes from the B48 2.0 litre turbo four-cylinder, which produces 252 hp at 5,200 rpm and 350 Nm from 1,450 to 4,800 rpm.

As with the previous F10, we should also expect the 520d to be offered as well, whereby the 190 hp/400 Nm B47 2.0 litre turbodiesel is carried over from before. A ZF eight-speed automatic will be the transmission fitted on all variants.

The G30 has already gone on sale in Thailand, with two CBU imported variants being made available – 520d Luxury and 530i M Sport. The former retails for 3,899,000 baht (RM490,294), while the latter is priced at 4,399,000 baht (RM553,168).

Also shown in the ROI site is an upcoming contest that carries the hashtag #MY5UCCESS, which asks Malaysians: “What success is to you?” It also states that participants could stand a chance to win a weekend drive with an “all-new exclusive BMW model.”

GALLERY: G30 BMW 5 Series

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• JAVfan on Mar 10, 2017 at 7:52 pm

Early buyers using company expenses.
    Others awaiting pre-owned 5ers…Lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
    • nabill (Member) on Mar 10, 2017 at 7:54 pm

Majority are company registered ofcourse…

• Cb kunta no1 on Mar 10, 2017 at 11:52 pm

This car looks better than e class. Must price below RM380k please

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
      • Kunta Brothers on Mar 11, 2017 at 9:24 am

So glad this car is trashing F10 prices. Just viewed a 2013 520i F10 for Rm145k. I might get it as it is so cheap.

F10 and G30 not much the difference. RM145k vs RM400k, I think F10 more worth it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 11
        • Kunta Ori on Mar 11, 2017 at 8:08 pm

you need to start thinking like “them” to be truly like “them”….aka the rich.

if you are comparing a second hand old model vs a speaking All new, is better you just go and buy a camry. you are simply not there yet.

and no, “they” would disagree with your view.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
        • Kanta Lekap on Mar 12, 2017 at 10:24 am

Thats a 4 year old car. Most owners change theirs at this point. Want to compare to a brand new one?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
          • Rahim Razali on Mar 12, 2017 at 5:20 pm

In 1988, a brand new CBU BMW 735i was RM130k. That was the top most BMW you could get in Malaysia.

29 years later, in 2016, the same BMW 740li has gone up to RM799k. (about 8 times in price)

In 1988, the price of a brand new BMW 735i was 30,000 pounds.

In 2016, the price of a BMW 740li is 50,000 pounds. (hardy 2 times the price)

BMW Malaysia 1988 – 2016 = 8x jump
            BMW UK 1988 – 2016 = 2x jump

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
        • Rahim Razali on Mar 12, 2017 at 5:13 pm

At RM400k, this car is way overpriced for Malaysians. Malaysians are still waiting for the 30% car price reduction promise made to us 4 years ago. Basic promise also don’t know how to keep, how want to keep bigger promise?

• E60 is still the best

• Dpillai on Mar 11, 2017 at 9:44 am

My target retail price is RM380k too.

• Kunta Kinte on Mar 11, 2017 at 10:55 am

ROI stand s for very long return of investment, or heck there is no ROI buying cars especially if it’s a bummer ops, bimmer. Volkswagen is the pioneer in turbocharging technology. It is miles ahead of any BMW out there. If you ever noticed, BMW twin turbo only came in couple of years ago where else VW has been using forced induction turbo charged for decades and have pioneered turbocharging.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • Dpillai on Mar 11, 2017 at 11:51 am

If you have a good well maintained F10 2010 528i, you may be able to get RM150k for the car. That’s not bad after 7 years. Then u can move on to the G30, using the RM150k as a deposit.

• Mikey on Mar 11, 2017 at 1:00 pm

Ha ha ha. The ROI site has a contest 4 M’sian 2 participate that says “What success is to you?”

In short, BMW is asking M’sian 2 write something 4 BMW & participants could stand a chance to win a weekend drive with an “all-new exclusive BMW model.”

This is a cheap way of advertising & cost effective for BMW but I think BMW could do better than just a weekend drive.

Should include a week stay of the winner choice at one of the exclusive resort in Thailand & US3,000 for shopping.

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 13, 2017 at 9:29 am

So BMW gets someone to author a slogan in exchange for a weekend test drive.

Right. Cheap is the correct word.

• Tri shaw on Mar 11, 2017 at 7:09 pm

Lol….Facelift model got everyone so excited!

• Matjava on Mar 11, 2017 at 8:56 pm

So what the BMW saleman said?

• They say ‘if you only can afford second hand F10, don’t come to our show room’.

• Deal done. on Mar 12, 2017 at 10:49 am

Invited to cyberjaya bmw yesterday to view the car preview for vip d. The got cbu 200 units for now. Priced between 410k to 460k for now. Placed my booking d. I like first and new. Guess my current 528i m sport has no value so will just pass on to my son if he like it. I like to own my car under my name. All of it. Even my s400 and salesman surpriced at the time. Stating virtually all S class under compNy name. But i told him, i m not working executive or working for ppl or saving this and that . Im my own boss with real hard earned money that can buy a dozen of his S400 in a heartbeat. I like my own name for my car. For those executives out there, work harder or your so call executive company car will be pulled back when u r fired. Remember, notuing better than own your own things with your own power.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
    • Mikey on Mar 13, 2017 at 11:19 am

Boy, I tot I have an Ego as Big as john & Kunta BUT U took the ACCOLADE here.

• william on Mar 15, 2017 at 6:36 pm

Dear mr deal done,

go bull other place please :)

• Dpillai on Mar 12, 2017 at 8:15 pm

Just attended the G30 preview at cyberjaya. I flew to cyberjaya today just for the preview. No pictures allowed. Not much information available. It was half an hour presentation. Very basic stuff. No details of specs available. Poor lighting so couldn’t really appreciate the car itself. Only 2 cars on show. Blue and Black. Was looking forward to seeing the Sophisto Grey but not available. Have to wait for the launch in Penang. A bit disappointed to be honest. I think it was very poorly done.

Well it’s only 2 weeks to go before actual launch.

Have to wait for pricing and test drive before deciding.

• BP BMW on Apr 21, 2017 at 1:06 pm

I test drove the G30 and the drive was absolutely amazing. Though I was highly disappointed with the interior of the car with the same black leather seats as in the past, no head-up display – any reason why we pay premium in Malaysia but get a stripped down version?