Honda Civic secures five-star ANCAP safety rating

In its latest round of testing, the Australasian New Car Assessment Program (ANCAP) has awarded the Honda Civic Sedan and Civic Hatchback with a five-star safety rating. It also notes the safety rating for the Civic Hatch is based on crash tests of the Civic Sedan, and applies to all variants except the Civic Type R.

The Civic managed to score an impressive 14.75 out of 16 points in the frontal offset test, and 14.93 out of 16 points in the side impact test, as well as a perfect score in the pole test. Along with seat belt reminders on all seats, the C-segment vehicle received an overall score of 34.68 out of 37 points, warranting its five-star safety rating.

Among the standard safety features fitted on the Australian-spec Civic are six airbags (driver and passenger, front side, front and rear curtain), electronic stability control (ESC), ABS with EBD and brake assist. This is identical to the Civic sold in Malaysia, whereby the features are standard on even the base variant 1.8 S all the way up to the range-topping 1.5 TC-P.

However, select variants of the Civic in Australia can be had with autonomous emergency braking (AEB), blind spot monitoring (BSM), lane support system (LSS) and even adaptive cruise control.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• ANCAP? This mesti kena deadak ni, according to bashers. Actual result is really just 1 star only, machem Preve/Suprima.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 15
    • DPcraft on Apr 27, 2017 at 12:06 pm

according to bashers. or its only u

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
      • According to basher when Preve/Suprima also got 5*. Basher said ANCAP no valid/not relevent/cannot be trust..bla..bla..blaa.. so this civic actual result may really just 1 star only

• Kelab Penyokong Kunta on Apr 27, 2017 at 12:38 pm

Preve, Suprima and Iriz all 5 stars but sales are so bad. All 3 models failed big time.

I wonder why? 5 Star ANCAP models should sell well.

• Mitsu Outlander oso 5star, but sales….

• AngPow on Apr 29, 2017 at 9:09 am

because many malaysians still have no awareness about safety…they willing to pay more just for bodykit rather than their own safety…so pity malaysian…

• Operation Manager on Apr 27, 2017 at 1:40 pm

Lose out to Bezza lah, we have kopiCAP which brought Bezza scored 15.38/16

• karam singh on Apr 27, 2017 at 3:44 pm

percentage to get into accident more in Bezza coz it handles rubbish, wobbly , steering feels really numb,
        Who got Bezza/Myvi/Axia , at stop try turn the steering 90′ then press the gas pedal. It wont turn straight like normal car do.

• redidiot on Apr 27, 2017 at 5:02 pm

yadda yadda yadda… all tested at speeds that do not reflect real world use. they shud test vehicle impact at say.. 135kmh against a 5 feet thick concrete wall or head on collision. then we’ll see how.

• Real world and real driver drive according to speed limit. If 135km/h during impact, even army tank cannot survive.

• Ben Yap on Apr 27, 2017 at 10:16 am

a powerful 1.5T must come with a solid structure. this is to give you a daytona feel in the car.

• ghazi on Apr 27, 2017 at 10:32 am

Uolls amat bijak. Memilih Honda.
    Pandu cermat jiwa selamat.

• mynameisnor on Apr 27, 2017 at 11:19 am

Yeah.. 5 stars, hit buy bus crushed half car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • Deswai we must listen to bashers says, all dis NCAP taboleh pakai wan. All dah kena deadak, deswai P1 can score 5star oso. This is impossible with crappy lousy no quality P1. How can?

• mana harga turun? on Apr 27, 2017 at 12:36 pm

are u referring to the latest accident involved new white BRV that crash become half body gone with one children death?

• Mikey on Apr 27, 2017 at 4:48 pm

I’m Not a Honda fan or own any but when come 2 bashing Big H, U took the Accolade man. The article here is about CIVIC but U took the opportunity nevertheless. U can take the Crown from john NOW. Hehehe.

• Somebody on Apr 28, 2017 at 3:43 pm

Dude, do you know that the BR-V got hit by a BUS? That’s three tons of steel. I don’t think any car could survive that one, not even a Volvo.

• lao yee on Apr 27, 2017 at 12:27 pm

ANCAP..a gimmick to uplift 3rd world countries car model sales.

• passion on Apr 27, 2017 at 4:35 pm

what about rear impact. will the cabin remain intact? especially for hatchbacks, mpv and suv!