2017 Toyota Harrier facelift to get 2.0L turbo engine?

Image is a render, not the real thing

According to Japanese car sales site Sanko Auto, the Toyota Harrier looks set to receive an update, which is claimed to go on sale in Japan later in June.

The new addition here is the 8AR-FTS 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine, joining the existing 3ZR-FAE 2.0 litre NA and 2AR-FXE 2.5 litre Atkinson cycle (used in the Harrier Hybrid).

The turbo mill makes 235 PS (232 hp) at 5,200-5,800 rpm along with 350 Nm of torque at 1,650-4,400 rpm, and is paired with a six-speed automatic transmission. On the other hand, the 3ZR-FAE-equipped Harrier employs a Super CVT-i, while the Harrier Hybrid has an e-CVT instead.

The site also notes that turbo variants will receive LED headlights, 18-inch alloy wheels, performance dampers, a black and red interior as well as suede/leather upholstery as standard. As with other variants, the Harrier can also be specified with TRD and Modellista styling kits.

All variants are said to receive the Toyota Safety Sense P active safety suite, including pre-collision system with pedestrian pre-collision function – vehicle and pedestrian detection, dynamic radar cruise control and lane departure alert with steering assist function.

GALLERY: Toyota Harrier 2.0 Premium Advanced spec in Malaysia

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• There You Go on May 31, 2017 at 5:15 pm

That is the Lexus NX200t engine lor… No surprise at all

• YB Kunta Kinte on May 31, 2017 at 7:09 pm

Goes to show, only real fools pay double to get a glorified Lexus. Every part of the car is from Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 12
      • Ya.. u also pls dont use iphone or some high tech products, because they are made in china.

• Oldman on May 31, 2017 at 5:18 pm

good job toyota…but I still consider Subaru forester XT with good 4 wheel drive and better engine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 26
    • Don’t know why you got so many thumb down while what you said is true. Not to mention for 200k+ you got a brand new CBU Forester XT compare to recond Harrier.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • thepolygonal on May 31, 2017 at 5:48 pm

Hopefully GT-86 upgrade to this engine.

• Kunta Kinte on May 31, 2017 at 8:27 pm

Toyota turbo? No please. They spent too much money on hybrids till they have not mastered turbocharging technology. I rather get a turbo engine from the Germans i.e. Volkswagen, Audi, BMW or Mercedes. Toyota doesn’t even have turbo in their Camry and Altis. Toyota = Dinosaur tech.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 24
    • K Kinte on Jun 01, 2017 at 2:46 am

Bla, bla, bla… And u are still driving ur Proton. Wait till u can afford any of those Germans then talk big. Typical Malaysian, like to jaguh kampung like our local car brand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • CRV (aka jepunis XC90) now with Honda Sensing. Toyota can 14th floor alredi. Using basher kristel ball, I predict only 5th place by end 2017.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 01, 2017 at 8:42 am

ini glorified rav4 aje….jangan terpedaya

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
    • Isnt rav4 the mini harrier? What logic you have.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 01, 2017 at 9:00 pm

u must be one of those idiot that bought what is essentially a crv rival for 250k

• krishna on Jun 01, 2017 at 8:46 am

the spoiler for me is that the speedometer stops at 180km/h

• Mikey on Jun 01, 2017 at 12:08 pm

Why is Lexus created ?? It is created specifically for
    developed countries like US where they want more luxury & higher performance to go with Toyota renown reliability.

The people in US are not stupid to pay higher for a glorified Toyo as has been claimed by some. These people who bash Lexus probably did not get a chance to drive, sit &/or own one to value the goodness of a Lexus.

A Harrier by it’s own are a value for $$$ SUV. When it’s given more power which is a welcome addition only enhance the Harrier reputation.

Probably only the owner & some enthusiast know the difference between a Harrier & a Lexus. Same goes to a Nissan. They have Infinity as their flagship.

The Lexus brand on it’s own has been voted most valuable & reliable vehicle by several car magazines all over the world including the US of A. U think they pay bribes/donation to get the accolade?!