VIDEO: BMW i8 Roadster given its first official preview

BMW has previewed its upcoming open-top i8 in a short first-look video teaser, which also divulges the official moniker for the car – it won’t be known as the Spyder, but as the i8 Roadster.

The video doesn’t show much of the third member of the BMW i family – the car is still clad in camo for its brief video appearance, like it was when sighted by spy photographers on road-going trials and on winter tests earlier this year, and all Munich is divulging is that the car is in its final testing phase and that it’s arriving on the scene in 2018, exactly as intimated previously by BMW CEO Harald Krueger.

The Roadster is expected to use the eDrive system as seen on the i8 coupe, but this will be in its updated form, given that the fixed-roof version is set to receive a mid-life cycle update, possibly later this year.

Earlier reports indicate that, aside from some chassis revisions, both the i8’s electric motor and the 1.5 litre, turbocharged three-cylinder petrol engine are slated to receive technical updates and offer increased output. New software for the i8’s six-speed automatic transmission is also expected, as is an uprated battery pack.

The video also reveals some other numbers – the Roadster’s powertrain is good to give it a claimed fuel consumption (combined) of 2.0 litres per 100 km as well on an ECE driving cycle as well as a combined energy consumption of 15.4 kWh per 100 km.

GALLERY: BMW i8 Roadster winter testing spyshots

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jul 03, 2017 at 8:49 pm

The previous i8 was RM1.3 million. I think this will be RM1.5 million.

Something is really wrong with the ringgit. Tak ada nilai lagi