SPYSHOTS: BMW X2 shows more details, incl interior

We’ve seen it in concept form, take on winter testing, as well as tackle the seemingly German staple Nordschleife pilgrimage. Now, the upcoming BMW X2 has been spotted undergoing hot weather trials on the public roads of Europe. The face of the X2 has shed that litle bit more camouflage, revealing a front bumper with several horizontal slats which run the width of the aperture.

Along the sides, as before we can see that the X2 wears a character line which runs almost the length of the car, from the top of the front wheelarches to the rear lamps. As with the recently launched G01 BMW X3, the Hofmeister kink is no more.

Inside, the X2’s dashboard architecture looks near-identical to the BMW X1’s, albeit with an M Sport steering wheel used here. Air-conditioning vents, HVAC and audio controls, gearlever and drive mode controls, and iDrive controller also appear similar to the ones from the X1.

At a glance, one may notice the X2’s M Sport steering wheel is of the previous design which graces the likes of the sportier-kitted F30 3 Series and the F20 1 Series, instead of the latest design in the G30 5 Series.

To recap, the upcoming X2 is built upon UKL underpinnings which also form the basis of models such as the X1, 2 Series Gran Tourer, and the 2 Series Active Tourer. As such, the X2 can be expected to feature BMW Group’s three- and four-cylinder engines which currently already serve elsewhere, deployed with either front- or all-wheel-drive layouts.

The BMW X2 is expected to make its debut early next year, with a possible range-crowning variant in the guise of a 300 hp M Performance model.

GALLERY: BMW X2 Concept

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• sudonano on Jul 18, 2017 at 6:35 pm

AWESOME!

• 5yrsvc on Jul 19, 2017 at 10:15 am

70% BMW sales in MY are pre-owned cars. AWESOME RV!

• 71% Merc sales in MY are pre-owned manager’s car. Make one wonder why so many manager in Merc.

• CT Ho on Jul 18, 2017 at 6:51 pm

Mercedes GLA Your Killing Competitor is coming soon !

• Jimmy on Jul 18, 2017 at 10:02 pm

When you have the ability to buy a brand-new Porsche Cayenne anytime, including tomorrow itself, you can buy any vehicle below one million ringgit.

If MBM treats me well, then she get S-class, otherwise she get a C180. Thanks for you test drive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Jimmy on Jul 18, 2017 at 10:25 pm

Just in case some of the youngsters cannot understand indirect statement: when I said ‘including tomorrow itself’, it meaned I don’t have to look at the faces of any banks. I hoped this is clear enough.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7