2016 Honda HR-V recalled over stabiliser bar in M’sia

Honda Malaysia (HM) has issued a recall involving 2,814 units of the HR-V (2016 model year), due to a possibility that the front stabiliser bar may break under high stress.

According to the company, the potential breakage is due to insufficient temperature control during its production process, resulting in compromised strength of the stabiliser bar. If broken, it may cause the wheels to be unbalanced, causing instability to the car. A symptom of this is when the car starts to involuntarily pull to the left or right.

The company has started notifying its customers via letters. Those affected by the recall are highly advised to send their vehicles for inspection. Compromised stabiliser bars will be replaced with newly made parts that meet the required manufacturing standards, and the rectification costs in entirety will be absorbed by Honda Malaysia.

As of today, no accidents, injuries or deaths have been reported with regards to the matter. HR-V customers are encouraged to check their recall status here or by calling the Honda Toll Free number 1-800-88-2020.

Currently, stocks for the replacement is at 50% (nationwide), but availability will be at 100% by mid-November 2017. HM said no other models within the line-up are affected by this issue.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• azhar on Oct 24, 2017 at 2:00 pm

lucky im 2015 model…phewwww

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • hariz on Oct 24, 2017 at 2:13 pm

HRV was my last honda car I ever bought. Sold it after 6 months using it. Maybe I’m not lucky enough, got the lemon unit. It was bad assembled. The rear link make sound when you over the bump. Claimed the bar twice, yet still unsolved. Bad sound insulation and bad driving experience. Waste my time to SC for the claimed and checking process, you need to make special appointment for it. Such a hassle!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 2
    • Proton oh Proton on Oct 24, 2017 at 2:41 pm

Sell like a hot cake… pressure for the production assembly team to complete on time… end up lot of quality issue. Agreed with you. I have bad experience with Honda too.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 0
    • falldisc on Oct 24, 2017 at 2:44 pm

the original Honda HRV was designed 20 years ago and sold only to Japan (weird design wont sell in other world markets). so it is a JDM.

the 2nd model HRV however is the other way round, it is meant for 3rd world countries where buyers appreciate modern and simplicity. it is not even sold in Japan so one cannot expect high quality car from this brand unlike other models.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 47
      • NomnNom on Oct 24, 2017 at 3:14 pm

you know Honda VEZEL?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
      • Yong Ming on Oct 24, 2017 at 3:27 pm

In Japan, it is called Honda Vezel.

• Paul Tan on Oct 24, 2017 at 3:39 pm

It is sold in Japan and it is called the Honda Vezel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
      • Bernard on Oct 24, 2017 at 6:43 pm

Called Vezel in sg too

• BEZEL on Oct 24, 2017 at 10:24 pm

In Singapore, there are 2 version of these units, Vezel which is JDM , imported to SG and sell by Gray Market/Parallel Importer.. While HRV is Thai made and sell by authorized Honda dealer there.. Vezel are a bit cheaper to HRV due to Vezel consider as 2nd hand unit or recon unit..

• Steel scandal on Oct 24, 2017 at 2:21 pm

Is this related to japan steel scandal?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • Honda for life on Oct 24, 2017 at 2:21 pm

Recall again?? Sigh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • karam singh on Oct 24, 2017 at 2:45 pm

stupid. this is not life threatening. if stabiliser bar breaks, the car is less stable. thats all. and only 2,000 units involved. not 80,000.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 60
  • Paperojer on Oct 24, 2017 at 2:33 pm

Wait Boyue 1.8T 200hp.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 9
  • Zuchie on Oct 24, 2017 at 2:49 pm

Hope fully there are menace to fix before it to late. What a shame.

• 12yrsold on Oct 24, 2017 at 3:39 pm

He he he. Those not a fan of Honda will take this opportunity to whack Honda kow kow. Those who still own a Honda/HRV will just say, “small issue”. I will just call up to make an appointment & all will be Gud after the stocks have arrived. Meanwhile, drive slower lah & all will be well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
    • small issue lah if you bought it for 9 years loan. Want to show off to the whole kampung you can owned honda. Want to buy new car also cannot afford because need to topup old car debt. So, small issue mahh.. drive slow slow avoid all the freaking pothole and be proud owning Honda brand.

• Leonardo on Oct 24, 2017 at 4:06 pm

This is obviously a component quality issue. But I thought Honda’s quality control is way better than other Japanese, Malaysian, Korean, Continental and Chinese cars?
    Not often you hear people complain about Honda cars. Or were the complains hidden and muted?

• norah on Oct 24, 2017 at 4:09 pm

Toyota and honda can go bankrupt already

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Vincent on Oct 24, 2017 at 4:19 pm

Because of Kobe steel?

• Kobe Bryan on Oct 24, 2017 at 4:45 pm

More recalls coming up soon…..Mazda, Subaru, Toyota/Lexus, Mitsubishi….

• SuSu GiGi on Oct 24, 2017 at 4:47 pm

bad luck for Suzuki auto owners? No formal representative for msia?

• Kuinosan on Oct 24, 2017 at 4:37 pm

My take on this matter is more of a positive one. Only reputable large car company are responsible enough to do a recall at this scale and make it known to the public. That’s very honest of Honda and they are willing to replace the said defective parts at no cost. Ask the local car brands to do that for a try!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 24
    • Huh? You must noob here not to read any P1 recalls

• tiadaid (Member) on Oct 24, 2017 at 4:56 pm

Proton have done recalls several times before since 2007. Y u no update?

• Research a bit before commenting, la. You sound like ignorant Honda fanboy.

• its all because of Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
    • Ohwai on Oct 25, 2017 at 5:47 am

According to basher ini semua salah
      …… Ohwait. Cannot bash jepunis overlord

• A45 recond owner on Oct 25, 2017 at 6:58 am

Hahaha , please keep your stupid for your grandchildren , why not blame ur parents about this issue

• Ben Yap on Oct 24, 2017 at 5:04 pm

My civic turbo ok je.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
    • moped on Oct 24, 2017 at 5:57 pm

turbo tak ok oh

• NichoLiew on Oct 24, 2017 at 9:53 pm

agree on moped.

i want to test drive the new CRV 1.5 turbo.

when the SC start the car, large engine knocking + engine shaking…..

don’t dare to try. if kaput, they will ask me to pay… huhuuuhu

• My relative in Singapore bought Honda Vezel (HRV) last year. The only comment i heard from him abt the car is that it’s a noisy car. He owns a Toyota and Kia before. His only comment says a lot about this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • Desmond on Oct 25, 2017 at 9:54 am

Honda is indeed very noisy. I drive an Accord is as noisy as low end car

• bringbackmanual on Oct 24, 2017 at 7:13 pm

why ppl still buy honda?

• For this kind of issue, the government should issue stop sale notice to manufacturer and dealer until the problems have been fully solved.

• Abg karim type r on Oct 25, 2017 at 6:43 am

Kesian to totok honda owner , always cakap besar about honda , what happened now , buy unquality car

• bye-honda on Oct 25, 2017 at 10:59 am

‘Tomorrow’s Technology, Today’s Reality’. Replacing the reality to liability.
    ‘Tomorrow’s Technology, Today’s Liability’

• Not a good quality car with this kind of high price…

• Frankie Tee on Nov 06, 2017 at 12:57 pm

Mine HR-V bought on 2016 October luckily not affected.