BMW 530e iPerformance plug-in hybrid launched in Malaysia – 252 hp, 0-100 km/h in 6.2 secs, RM344k

Just under a year after the regular G30 BMW 5 Series arrived on our shores, the plug-in hybrid version, the BMW 530e iPerformance, has finally been launched in Malaysia. The petrol-electric executive sedan arrives in locally-assembled form (CKD) with a much cheaper retail price – owing to tax incentives provided under the Energy Efficient Vehicle (EEV) scheme – but with a slightly lower level of standard kit.

Available in just a single Sport Line variant, the 530e costs RM343,800 on-the-road without insurance. That’s RM45,000 cheaper than the 530i that was the sole 5 Series model offered up to this point, although that did come in sportier M Sport form. Included in the price is a five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty, five years’ free scheduled maintenance and a two-year tyre warranty.

Let’s start with the meat and potatoes first, the powertrain. Under the bonnet sits the ubiquitous B48 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder petrol engine, here making 184 hp from 5,000 to 6,500 rpm and 290 Nm of torque from 1,350 to 4,250 rpm. This is paired to a 113 hp/250 Nm electric motor to produce a total system output of 252 hp and 420 Nm of torque – identical in power and an increase of 70 Nm compared to the petrol 530i.

The electric motor is integrated to the ZF eight-speed automatic transmission, which allows the ratios to be used in all-electric mode and negates the need for a torque converter. This helps offset the additional weight brought on by the motor and the battery.

All this means that the 530e is capable of sprinting from zero to 100 km/h in just 6.2 seconds (identical to the 530i) before hitting a top speed of 235 km/h. Combined fuel consumption on the European NEDC cycle is rated at 2.0 litres per 100 km, while carbon dioxide emissions are quoted at 46 grams per kilometre.

Under the rear seats sits a 9.2 kWh lithium-ion battery, enabling the 530e to run in electric mode at speeds of up to 140 km/h, with an all-electric range of 48 km – 13 km further than the smaller 330e. Real-world range in hybrid mode is pegged at 644 km. BMW says that charging the battery takes under five hours from a domestic socket, or under three hours with the 3.7 kW BMW i Wallbox.

Onwards to standard kit, and to the items the 530e loses compared to the 530i. Aside from missing out on the M Sport appearance package, it also doesn’t get adaptive LED headlights (full-LED headlights still remain, of course), a sunroof, the gimmicky Gesture Control system, the touchscreen-equipped BMW Display Key and the 16-speaker Harman Kardon sound system. Adaptive cruise control, which was deleted from the 530i with the move to local assembly, is also missing here.

The rest of the equipment remains, including LED fog lights, 19-inch alloy wheels (in a different V-spoke design), BMW Individual satin aluminium exterior trim, Comfort Access keyless entry, power-adjustable sports seats with driver’s side memory, four-zone auto climate control, sunblinds for the rear windows (manual) and windscreen (electric), 11-colour ambient lighting, a hands-free powered bootlid and Dynamic Damper Control.

You also get the upgraded Professional navigation system with a 10.25-inch touchscreen, along with a full 12.3-inch multifunction instrument display, a reverse camera and Park Assistant for automated parallel and perpendicular parking manoeuvres, plus a 12-speaker, 205-watt HiFi sound system.

Safety-wise, the 530e comes with the Driving Assistant package that adds Approach Control Warning and Person Warning with City Brake function, operating at speeds between 10 km/h and 60 km/h for pedestrians and 80 km/h for vehicles. Other features included in the pack include Lane Departure Warning, Lane Change Warning, rear collision prevention and rear crossing traffic warning.

Buyers can choose between Glacier Silver Metallic, Alpine White, Mediterranean Blue Metallic, Carbon Black Metallic and Bluestone Metallic exterior colours, while black (with contrasting white stitching and piping) or Cognac Dakota leather upholstery feature inside.

Read our in-depth international review of the new G30 BMW 530e iPerformance here, and you can also browse full specifications and equipment, and get the best deals on a new car, on CarBase.my.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• (Like) S90 T8 407 hp.
    (Dislike) 530e 252 hp

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 137 Thumb down 53
    • Why 2.0T only produces 184hp?

• heybadigol (Member) on Jan 19, 2018 at 8:39 am

Thats because this is not BMW’s top tier 5 Series (there is still the 540i, 550i, M5 above it), but for Volvo, the S90 T8 is their top of the line S90. Hence, they can throw everything into the car to make it their best (which is why the engine alone makes 300hp or thereabouts). BMW puts the powerful engines into their higher tier models. If they put the 250hp spec engine into the 530e, it would go faster than the 530i, which might mean less sales for the 530i, which in some markets cost the same as 530e. They also did this purely so the 530e would not overshadow the 530i, which costs more here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
        • I’m happy with my 11.0s (0-100) Vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
          • Peter Ong on Jan 19, 2018 at 10:53 am

Hundreds of BMw faithful followers just jumped ship to Mercedes.

Just one small mistake and hundreds overnight jumped ship

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
          • Jepunis cars nowadays slow like snails

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
        • Albert Yong on Jan 19, 2018 at 11:02 am

BMW can you please be open and inform people how much the battery cost.

Most buyers have no clue how much the battery cost and get a shock of their lives when they find out.

Paul Tan also should inform the cost of the battery in the article. After all the jist of the 530e vehicle is its Battery and Plug in function

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
        • If that’s the reason, why not just use 1.6T? It is more than enough to pump 184hp…oh sorry, 1.6T might malukan 5 series buyers

• Albert Yong on Jan 19, 2018 at 9:35 am

Looking at the comments here and how negative they are, looks like the rakyat and ardent BMW fans feel cheated

• Nazdhzri on Jan 19, 2018 at 10:46 am

If car flooded, BMW cover 530e lithium-ion batt & electric motor under warranty or insurance.

• Albert Yong on Jan 19, 2018 at 11:00 am

That is a good point. this sounds very costly as there will be a higher premium

And don’t forget once warranty finishes. 2nd hand value will plummet because people will be scared to buy the car out of warranty.

Do you know the battery for the 530e is RM100k? Yes, you read that right. The battery is RM100k.

SO imagine what happens when warranty runs out. And imagine the value of the car when warranty is about to run out.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 8
          • Childish on Jan 21, 2018 at 10:15 am

The battery of 330e consist of 5 pieces linked. The 5 pieces total price 25k roughly. Battery can be changed per piece unlike older audi hybrid. Each piece around 5 k. Im suprise there are retard out there without any information can confidently speak non fact info of 100k. I guess their r not up to class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • Albert Yong on Jan 18, 2018 at 10:14 pm

In Malaysia, the rich enjoy EEV tax discounts. Like this car, RM30k cheaper. The same with the X5, original price RM588k, now RM388k

The same with Mercedes S400h, original price RM900k. Tax rebate for EEV, it becomes RM550k

Volvo XC90 original price RM600k. Selling now for RM390k

BMW 740Le original price RM900k, now selling RM570k

But the poor people suffer. Honda City Hybrid cost RM10k more than the Honda City non Hybrid.

Looks like EEV tax only make the rich richer.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 160 Thumb down 16
      • Albert Yong on Jan 18, 2018 at 10:28 pm

Is this the NAP Gomen is talking about? the EEV only benefits the rich.

The poor people don’t see any benefit. The Honda City got EEV status and went up in price. The Toyota Vios also got EEV status and UMW never reduced a sen

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 32
        • Ahh, so u finally brought back ur real nick. Anyways heres for u https://paultan.org/2017/09/07/honda-city-hybrid-over-rm100k-without-tax-breaks/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 27
          • Albert Yong on Jan 19, 2018 at 9:16 am

john, only a fool will believe Honda City Hybrid is over RM100k without tax breaks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
          • Farooq on Jan 19, 2018 at 10:12 am

pre-reg 328k BMW 530i seemed a great bargain now!

• Albert Yong on Jan 19, 2018 at 10:25 am

Pre Reg at RM328k. But 2nd hand market, prices have dropped to below RM290k

• It is not the G who sell the car. Blame those greedy Japs Brand or rather I say the greedy local authorizes dealers of Jpas Brand?.

• Albert Yong,

Can I ask where your sourced a price of RM100K for a replacement battery for this car?

I think your figure is a long way off and nowhere near as high as the price you have quoted.

• ocool on Jan 20, 2018 at 3:40 pm

Albert You are a cock story teller. It doesn’t cost 100k just confirmed with a SA. It’s 5k a module. They have 6 in 530e. Talk coc

• Osaka boy on Jan 19, 2018 at 12:18 am

Omg, this price will kill E class hybrid and Audi nicely. Bye bye also to lower class Passat and S90 where it will take some of its already low market share

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
  • Ravind Muniandy on Jan 18, 2018 at 7:55 pm

Wow, it doesn’t get adaptive LED headlights, a sunroof, a head-up display, Gesture Control system, the touchscreen-equipped BMW Display Key and the 16-speaker Harman Kardon sound system? That’s where the 30k went I suppose.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 2
    • Alonso on Jan 18, 2018 at 9:27 pm

Betul..another con job by bmw malaysia. Its ok just dont rush to buy. Later they will upgrade the spec and maintain the same pricing..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
      • Albert Yong on Jan 18, 2018 at 11:07 pm

Better buy Mercedes E350e. Somemore it is a known fact, besides the E350e being loaded in features, all Mercedes service and parts cost HALF than BMW.

I know cause I own a Merc W212 and BMW F10. Every single part in the BMW cost DOUBLE than Mercedes.

So, might as well buy a MErcedes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 12
        • Yes. Choose Mesidis.
          P1, Mesidis, Geely, VolvoCar, VolvoTruck > all

• Joker KuntaAlbert on Jan 19, 2018 at 11:49 am

@Albert, Your statement proved that you are just a good story teller, a kb warrior. Hahahaha

• Albert dumb on Mar 04, 2018 at 10:14 am

mercedes, bmw owner wont play internet so your statement therefore is fake.

• amgc43 on Jan 18, 2018 at 11:36 pm

Be patience and wait for M Sport version like that 330e.

• What the?? on Jan 19, 2018 at 9:27 am

30k lower in price, but missing a lot of features, so then where’s PHEV CKD tax break discount? Factor in the loss of features on a 530i and the price would be similar to 530e. What the??

• gti owner on Jan 20, 2018 at 12:01 pm

Probably BMW have hire some former UMW senior management staff

• They also takes out the auto start stop function.

• At least adaptive LED headlights should be given IN 530e

• comtruise on Jan 18, 2018 at 8:08 pm

Can BMW Malaysia please stop removing features? Sunroof, HUD and Harman Kardon speakers are the only features on my criteria list.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • seancorr (Member) on Jan 18, 2018 at 9:36 pm

I don’t mind them removing the sunroof…..wait a minute the 330e has it!!! Seriously in that segment competing with the E class BMW Malaysia really need to give adaptive LED headlights, HUD and surround view system la. Removing the adaptive cruise control on the CKD 530i was already a bummer what more this. Let’s not get started on the missing Harman Kardon sound system….

• Albert Yong on Jan 18, 2018 at 10:23 pm

I rather buy a 6 month old 530i, now selling for RM288k.

I have no idea why people want to waste money and buy new.

• sick&tired on Jan 18, 2018 at 11:53 pm

don’t talk kok! cheapest used 530i in mudah is RM328,888!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
          • Ravi Khmer Singh Dougler on Jan 19, 2018 at 10:53 am

My bro just bought G30 Mspec used below 5k km for Rm 282k

• peter on Jan 19, 2018 at 10:58 am

E350e no HUD

• We also beg they add the bowers & wilkins sound system that already included in volvo xc90 for malaysia market. But they takes out the harman kardon sound system from 530i to 530e?? Screw u BMW Malaysia!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 18, 2018 at 8:40 pm

feels like tin kosong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 6
  • Not even a 360° or even front camera is provided. It’s 2018 and a luxury 5 series can’t even afford to add a few cameras? And what’s with adaptive cruise control and semi autonomous driving being removed???

This is crap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • seancorr (Member) on Jan 18, 2018 at 9:29 pm

Celaka BMW Malaysia deleted too many kit leh really wtf. Adaptive LED, surround view system and HUD damn important la wei. Even the crap Vios can be had with a surround view system!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • Toffeeman on Jan 18, 2018 at 9:32 pm

In short, BMW shortchanged the public. The tex savings are not passed on to the consumers

• Yes indeed. They show u they give u the EEV incentive but senyap2 remove kits.

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Jan 18, 2018 at 9:48 pm

That’s why next time never support CKD products. They remove this and remove that just to bring down the price, then let govt claim credit they reduced car prices. Car dealers WIN, govt WINS, consumers LOSE…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
  • Disappointed Bimmer Fan on Jan 18, 2018 at 9:59 pm

Seeing that the 740e was better equipped but cheaper than its big brother the 740i, I feel that BMW Malaysia is just ripping Malaysians off with this 530e. Cheaper yes. Less specced.

Why 740e can be better specced and cheaper but this 530e is scaled down?

Have they gotten cocky after winning the latest award? Very disappointed with BMW Malaysia. Don’t bite the hands that feed you!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • omegle on Jan 19, 2018 at 9:14 am

that’s because 740e is priced at 598k, not 444k, it’s a huge leap in pricing. If 530e maintained all the features with an increase of about 15k, i don’t tink ppl will mind.

• rublik on Jan 18, 2018 at 10:54 pm

even honda has sensing

• what is d point of introducing a hybrid variant to enjoy tax breaks if the given car is poorly specced ,

i have no idea what is the actual cost of the hyrid powertrain compared to the usual petrol one, but by checking the prices of similarly specced 530e n 530d msport in d uk shows that they are similarly priced ( the only petrol model on sale there to my google based info is the 540i)

which would deduce that tax breaks enjoyed here would have (probably) covered the costs of the hybrid system while keeping the same specs

i mean….c300e has air suspensions for god sake , d car class above doesnt even have premium audio

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 19, 2018 at 12:21 pm

BMW Malaysia managed to bring down the X5 price by quite a margin and it still had a lot of kit in it. I smell greed coming from BMW Malaysia trying to capitalize on their successes with the X5 and 330e hybrids.

• Hayenadeblue on Jan 18, 2018 at 11:30 pm

Shame on u BMW M’sia, no adaptive cruise control?

• Shame on you BMW Malaysia for removing so many specs!!!

• Very interesting offering from BMW, using the hybrid tax rebate to add in a model that slots below the 530i at a very competitive price. I was expecting BMW Malaysia to screw over petrol buyers like with the X5, but they did a good job.

FYI, they can’t make the car even cheaper, it’ll cause cannablism within the X5 40e and 530i lineup.

• Even it cannibalize other models, it’s no difference is it? All still enter their pockets. So just give what customer want and channel the EEV incentive to customer la.

• Wilson on Jan 19, 2018 at 3:10 am

Bulb signal light but not led signal light?
    Omg !

• Yet another new release and the specs get dropped!

Why does it feel that Malaysians continually get ripped off when it comes to cars?

I’m really fed up being treated with contempt by these manufactures!

The only way it will ever change is if the consumer voices their opinion but many seem to have the “oh well…” attitude.

It’s a disgrace.

• They should have given us 2 trim levels for the 530e. One which is cheaper but ommite features and one which is full specs.

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 19, 2018 at 12:28 pm

Good idea but the problem here is BMW already release a tin kosong and the price isn’t right. This Sport trim 530e should have been retailing for around 300k while the higher M Sport 530e should have taken over this price point. Bmw Malaysia managed to bring down the price by quite a margin for the 330e and X5 40e but not with the 5er. All in all bloody disappointed with BMW Malaysia for screwing up the price for this very good model. Hope they don’t sell well and have to offer massive discounts later and launch a proper M Sport model with all the deleted kit added back and then more.

• Sean, agree totally with you.

They have taken a really nice car with good specs and dumbed it down to pocket more coin for themselves. If that is not the case BMW Malaysia, then tell us all why it has this price ticket with reduced specs. I’ll be more than happy to be proved wrong, however, for now it looks like a simple case of greed.

I really hope this comes back to bite them on the backside in the very near future.

I’ll keep saying it, Malaysian consumers get treated like idiotic muppets !

• Woot Woot on Jan 19, 2018 at 8:52 am

How much different is the boot capacity and overall weight against 530i?

• applegreen on Jan 19, 2018 at 8:55 am

bmw removes so many features because this 530e, the e stands for ‘economy’

• Add A Comment on Jan 19, 2018 at 8:56 am

Sorry…I can’t math this. Maybe I am too noob in this department. If someone can shed some lights on me, that will be highly appreciated.

1. 184 hp and 290 Nm from Petrol Engine.
    2. 113 hp and 250 Nm from electric motor

I thought out put in just adding up both number? which should be 297 hp and 540 Nm instead of 252 hp and 420 Nm of torque?

– I Have Just Added A Comment –

• Lord help Add A Comment on Jan 19, 2018 at 10:10 am

It’s because the engine and motor’s peak power have different rpm.

• Ong Alvin on Jan 19, 2018 at 9:31 am

It comes up to the same thing. If you add up the value of all the missing features, it’s probably the same price as a 530i. Another joke by bmw Malaysia

• Ben Yap on Jan 19, 2018 at 10:21 am

this car’s century sprint is fast but not the top speed.

• Tee For on Jan 19, 2018 at 10:25 am

I think most of you should stop what you’re doing now and straight away join the automotive companies so that people like me can enjoy fully loaded car at a very dirt cheap price.

• BowArrow on Jan 19, 2018 at 11:27 am

Someone please correct me if i’m wrong , 530i CBU don’t have HUD right , so do CKD ..? Damn that old LED DRL looks ugly , i can only assume they will release M Sport trim with better specs for + RM 15k-20k…

• Razzd77 on Jan 19, 2018 at 5:57 pm

BowArrow, yes, the 530i CBU does not have HUD. I can confirm that.

• Johanian82 on Jan 19, 2018 at 9:52 pm

Shame on you BMW Malaysia.
    You took away easily 45 K of items,
    to sell the car for 45k less.
    So where did the tax breaks go?
    We Bimmer fans are deeply disappointed.

• They also takes out the auto start & stop system. Shame on u BMW Malaysia, i hope they add 360 camera too!

• Andrew on Jan 21, 2018 at 12:31 am

BMW Malaysia got way too greedy with this model. Probably owing to the success of the 330e, they thought they could toss out a bunch of features and people would buy it because it’s merely cheaper. How stupid do you have to be to not realize that people buying E-segment cars are neither starved for options nor swayed by fake value.

Adaptive cruise control and 360 parking cameras are well on their way to being standard kit, but BMW Malaysia wants to drag its brand and model offerings back in time to eke out a measly profit. I hope Volvo picks up every last Bimmer fan disgusted by this corner-cutting nonsense.

• Spot on, Andrew.

Malaysian consumers getting treated like muppets, yet again.

It’s not just BMW, many companies are up to the same nonsense. Who is it that decides that the majority of the world market can receive full spec vehicles but Malaysians don’t? It’s not as if we are receiving the cars at a discounted price, quite the opposite, actually !!

Perhaps we need to start a campaign and voice our thoughts to let them know we are not going to put up with this any longer.

Surely there are many people that are as frustrated and annoyed as me……right?

• Ollie on Jan 24, 2018 at 8:40 pm

The civic type R sells for 320k and does 5.7 sec 0-100. I would categorize anyone who buys that over this 5 series as pretty insane…

• stastasta on Jun 18, 2018 at 11:57 pm

you must be insane to compare the 2. someone who can buy the type R for weekend car probably already owns a 5 series or equivalent.

• Just curious guys, how is the horsepower of a car calculated when it is combined with an electric motor and engine horsepower combined output

E.g BMW 530E 184 Hp and 320 Nm of Torque and
    113 hp from its electric motor with a maximum torque of 250Nm how does it add up to 252 hp ?