Nissan Terra debuts in China as a 2.5L five-seat SUV

The Nissan Terra has gone on sale in China, with the ladder-frame SUV set to be introduced to other select markets in Asia later this year. For the Chinese market, the Terra will be sold by Dongfeng Nissan and Zhengzhou Nissan.

“The Nissan Terra builds on our strong SUV heritage while incorporating the needs of the Asian customer and the performance of our refined frame vehicles. The Terra is a descendant of the Nissan Patrol, our tough off-road icon originally designed for police and military use,” said Ashwani Gupta, senior vice president for Nissan’s Light Commercial Vehicle Business.

Built on a ladder-frame chassis, the Terra measures 4,882 mm long, 1,850 mm wide, 1,835 mm tall and with a 2,850 mm wheelbase. Nissan also claims best-in-class ground clearance of 225 mm as well as a 32° approach angle and 27° departure angle.

The Terra sold in China will be offered as a five-seater, which differs from initial suggestions saying the SUV will come with seven seats spread across three rows. It is likely that other markets could receive a seven-seat version, but nothing is confirmed for now.

Under the bonnet, the Terra is powered by a QR25 2.5 litre petrol engine with 181 hp and 251 Nm of torque. The engine can be paired with either a seven-speed automatic or a six-speed manual, directing drive to the rear or all four wheels. Off-roading is something the Terra is capable of, with functions like a rear differential lock (four-wheel drive variants), Hill Descent Control and Hill Start Assist there to provide support.

In terms of equipment, the Terra can be had with 18-inch wheels shod with 225/60 profile tyres, sunroof, halogen or LED headlamps, LED taillights, keyless entry and start, a five-inch instrument cluster display, seven-inch infotainment touchscreen, up to six speakers, dual-zone climate control, Zero Gravity seats and leather upholstery.

Safety-wise, there’s seven airbags, Vehicle Dynamic Control (VDC) and Nissan Safety Shield, which includes Lane Departure Warning, Blind Spot Warning, Around View Monitor with Moving Object Detection and Intelligent Emergency Braking.

For China, the Terra is offered with a choice of six colours – Gold Metallic, White Pearl, Brown Pearl Metallic, Silver Metallic, Black Solid and Red Solid. Six variants will be offered, with prices starting at 169,800 yuan (RM104,887) up to 245,800 yuan (RM151,833).

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Simple but handsome design with nice angular accents both outside and inside. Can it eat into Toyota’s sales here? In any case a well-packaged model by Nissan.

• China is an open market. They allow the sale of any car. They don’t control what is sold like in Malaysia.

Lucky people of China. they get to experience so many types of cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 16
      • This car come in habis lah Boyue. Nissan always prices their SUV around RM120k

Boyue will be RM100k

Who will buy Boyue then?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 26
        • “Ladder frame”. Alredi ancient dinosar as soon as its born. China pipu smarter than to buy fossils. Boyue FTW!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 11
          • Ladder frame is not ancient. It has its own purpose. As an offroad vehicle, it has to be ladder frame. Monocoque chassis in typical car cannot survive the twist and bend from offroad terrain. This suv is meant to compete with the likes of toyota fortuner and mitsu pajero sport which also use ladder frame chassis. This is not an urban only suv.

• Look at the low ground clearance and long rear overhangs. This SUV is not made to go off-roading hence its advantage of ladder frame is gone. The only reason for using it is cheaps.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
          • @ John,

You are talking nonsense again with what little knowledge you have. I have been reading this blog daily and I see you fake news comments every day. No data to back it up and no direct experience.

Tom has is point if you know anything about off-road terrain cars you should know better that ladder frame design has it merits and it does very well when towing heavy loads. Just do yourself a favor a go to the foreign 4×4 blogs or car blogs and educate yourself. The Australian motoring.com.au does very good reviews on 4×4 off-road reviews where there take the vehicles on normal roads and heavy off-roads.

Look at the approach angles and departure angles of the car and that should give one who is familiar with off road vehicles.

You most probably going to give some lame ass reply etc as usually on this blog to my reply. If you do not have data or first hand experience on the subject matter, I suggest you go craw yourself under a rock and don’t come back out. Sick of your stupid comments here. Zero contribution to the human race.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 0
          • Darren on Apr 16, 2018 at 5:38 pm

Hahaha! Another fake dupe write so long then liked himself. No facts, just tin kosong. If you ever seen an off-roader 4×4, you will notice they have very high ground clearance. Departure angle is useless if your rear overhang is too long. John was right, this SUV is not made for off roading, hence its value as ladder frame is useless.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
          • Thanks bro Darren! Hehe easy to spot dupe basher even for non regular readers. His trick alredi basi until busuk.

• @Darren or AKA John’s Fake account. When I was going off road with 4×4 cars you were still not wet behind your years. Perhaps I need to give you a good schooling.

Perhaps Darren you want to use a monster truck to go off road. What a wanker!!!

• @ John,

Please John have some standard. Your reply is similar with Darren’s reply in your sentence structure and your thought process indicates that you are the same person. Stop your lies on this blog.

• RavenAii (Member) on May 17, 2018 at 4:13 pm

@ Darren
            Did you know that departure angle is based on the capability of the vehicle when it is on angled terrain, and was rated based on the vehicle design. “Departure angle is useless if your overhang angle is too long.” clearly shows your stupidity about vehicles.

@ John
            The Nissan Terra has an approximately 8.9 inch of ground clearence, which is very good for an off-road vehicle. People use real data and facts to throw in their knowledge, not saying, “look at the low ground clearence and long rear overhangs” just to justify your needs to say something stupid. Comparing a body-on-frame SUV with a unibody crossover is such a terrible opinion. Ladder frame is not ancient, it’s a design with a purpose. You will never have the same experience on rough terrain with a crossover versus an SUV.

• What?? on Apr 14, 2018 at 12:58 am

Where can you find a 120k Nissan SUV that isn’t a used car or one that isn’t sold here yet(I.e. Kicks). Even its closest equivalent Isuzu MU-X is 170k.

Suka hati aje spread fake news.

• Henry on Apr 14, 2018 at 7:12 pm

You are correct.

These SUVs are taxed differently from the pick-up trucks they are based on . Besides the Isuzu MU-X, you can also compare the prices of the Toyota Fortuner and Ford Everest.

• Shahril Hamid on Apr 14, 2018 at 11:36 am

Nissan Glenmarie got give offer now for their brand new X Trail for RM123k. Just servis my car yesterday and spoke to salesman

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Apr 14, 2018 at 11:05 am

No wonder they named it terra only without the x like xtrail bcoz merz x class which is also based on navara will orso produce its own suv based on x class and tjey will name it…yes you guess it right…xterra…mystery solved…yeehaaa

• If 5seater might as well get Xtrail lor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 13
  • Bad engine choice. Diesel better

• True. At least give an option for diesel. Pair with the 2.5l engine from navara then you have something to compete with the fortuner , mux and pajero sport

• Hayenadeblue on Apr 13, 2018 at 8:34 pm

Hear that Malaysian? China got the proper 7-speed gb. We in Malaysia are given cvt in all Nissan cars. Have you ever wonder why no Merc and BMW or Volvo use cvt?