Mercedes-Benz A-Class sedan shown – Beijing debut

We’ve been waiting for the debut of the Mercedes-Benz A-Class sedan for some time now, ever since the W177 A-Class hatchback was shown at this year’s Geneva Motor Show. Well, that day will soon be upon us as the more practical A-Class is set to debut at the upcoming Beijing Motor Show.

There’s more too, as CarNewsChina has uploaded a photo that supposedly shows the A-Class sedan in all its glory. The text on the number plate reads “A-Class L Sport Sedan,” which likely indicates this is an extended wheelbase version – a trend that is well received by customers in China.

Styling-wise, the A-Class sedan appears to be pretty similar to previous renderings that we reported on. The front is pretty much identical to the hatchback with an AMG Line kit, right on through to the B-pillars. Things start to deviate from the rear doors, which are likely redesigned to offer a larger aperture, along with the addition of a larger boot.

Mercedes-Benz A-Class sedan renders

Out of sight here is the vehicle’s rear, but based on previous spyshots and renders, we should expect a pair of angular, two-piece taillights and a more rounded bootlid instead of the sharp edged one on the Concept A Sedan preview car.

Expect the interior to mimic the A-Class hatchback as well, which should be offered with a variety of new technologies like high-definition screens and the Mercedes-Benz User Experience (MBUX) interface.

According to the source, the A-Class sedan will be manufactured by Beijing Benz, a joint venture between BAIC Motor and Daimler AG – the company also assembles the V213 E-Class L and W205 C-Class L. Competitors for the sedan will include the BMW 1 Series Sedan and Audi A3 Sedan.

GALLERY: 2018 Mercedes-Benz A-Class sedan spyshots

GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz Concept A Sedan

GALLERY: 2018 Mercedes-Benz A-Class hatchback

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Chokz on Apr 20, 2018 at 4:52 pm

a Merc FWD is not premium.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • Ken Hong on Apr 21, 2018 at 8:45 am

Wish our Proton designers can design like this instead of sleeping in office

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
      • Fendet on Apr 21, 2018 at 3:05 pm

Copy and paste

• John Ohwai on Apr 21, 2018 at 3:16 pm

Mercedes marketing are super clever. They know what people want now…so they make what people want.

This is why you need to employ clever marketing team who can research what is the current trend.

This is why Proton failed. No research as to what people demand and want

• Get a life on Apr 21, 2018 at 7:39 pm

Why do this P2 salesman need to drag Proton into everything? Concentrate on improving yourself, talk less bullsh*t like ‘Myvi same as Vios’ and maybe your sales will improve. And it’s very obvious you are liking your own comments, which is pitiful to say the least.

• P1, Mesidis, Geely, VolvoCar, VolvoTruck, Lotus > all

• Rightwinger on Apr 23, 2018 at 9:30 am

How you know they’re sleeping in office? You actually seen in hem or ‘a friend of a friend of a friend’ said so?

• 12yrsold john on Apr 23, 2018 at 11:18 am

The badge command PREMIUN regardless of FWD/RWD/4-motion bcos it’s a Mercedes.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 20, 2018 at 5:23 pm

Mercedes Cerato K3

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 20, 2018 at 5:32 pm

It’s finally here…can’t wait to see it in the flesh. The rear definitely needs a boot spoiler

• 12yrsold john on Apr 23, 2018 at 11:24 am

It’s not HERE in M’sia. The A-class sedan will only make its debut in Beijing China. If I’m not mistaken, this is only for China according to older PT.org posting. Please correct me if I’m wrong.

• stastasta on Apr 23, 2018 at 4:25 pm

whats the difference between A class sedan and CLA ?

• Hey look! It’s Mercedes Mustang GT.