New Hyundai Santa Fe, Kona, Veloster spotted in M’sia

Not one, not two, but three new Hyundais have been spotted in Mutiara Damansara by Twitter user Finn, who snapped a couple of pics before alerting us. The fresh Hyundais in question are the new Santa Fe large SUV, Kona compact crossover and Veloster Turbo coupe, which were all in line for a bath.

No cause for alarm though, because we’re now accustomed to seeing new and/or strange Hyundais that never see the light of day in our market (think i30 Wagon and Genesis Coupe). The clue is right there on the license plate of the cars – the Korean company operates a regional training centre in Malaysia and these new arrivals are for internal training purposes.

That said, the Santa Fe SUV has been a successful product for Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors (HSDM) and we’re expecting the fourth-generation TM model to eventually reach local showrooms, possibly as a CKD locally assembled model. Unveiled globally in February this year, the Santa Fe rocks a bold new look previewed by smaller sibling Kona, which is also a possibility for our market.

We won’t be putting money on the second-generation Veloster going on sale here, though, as the coupe with a unique layout was not a strong seller here – pushing SUVs in today’s market is a much easier task. Shame, as it looks much sharper than before and would most certainly drive better too, looking at the gains the Elantra AD made.

In April, we reported that HSDM had phased out the pre-facelift Sonata LF, third-generation Santa Fe and Veloster, with an eye on planning for next-generation models. For the Sonata, expect the upcoming full model change instead of the current facelifted LF, which is already over a year old now.

GALLERY: 2019 Hyundai Santa Fe

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Rajoo Selvam on Jun 12, 2018 at 6:21 pm

Proton should learn from Hyundai. Hyundai is just 10 years older than Proton and yet, they sell 8 million cars globally per year.

Proton is just 10 years younger than Hyundai, only can sell 50,000 cars per annum to the local market. That also, bulk of it is ordered by the Government as Government vehicles.

Proton should learn from Hyundai. Now with these new launches, Hyundai sales going to jump to 10 million per annum.

Time for the Proton Directors and management to learn from the Koreans how to run a business

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 26
    • PH cybertroll and their ret-con of history such as P1 was formed by the British in 1957 and then inherited by MY gov. Lols! Someone seems to have failed Sejarah in school.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • Matchy on Jun 12, 2018 at 6:39 pm

Perdana V6 in 2000 was techier than the Sonata.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 19
    • Santa on Jun 12, 2018 at 8:17 pm

The new santa fe equipped with the proven 2.2 turbo diesel 200ps 440nm with new 8 speed auto. We are talking about cruising at highway speed at 2k rpm with peak 440nm of torque at your disposal. Improved NVH that feels as quiet and as smooth as the german premium suv with asian price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • Yeah, and Sonata was oso more cheaper than Perdana then. Whats ur point?

• note the Veloster is LHD!

• seancorr (Member) on Jun 12, 2018 at 7:08 pm

The Kona will be entering a tough market dominated by the HRV. The rest of the competition can’t even match it for sales. Even the almighty Toyota with its CHR is nothing but a rare spawn on the road.

• Samyang on Jun 12, 2018 at 8:11 pm

Kona equipped with 1.6 turbo 7 speed 204hp 265nm…let the mass buy those hrv n cx3…they can stick to the left lane

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • applegreen on Jun 12, 2018 at 8:23 pm

The P2 SUV 1.5T will be the next class leader

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
    • thepolygonal on Jun 13, 2018 at 8:07 am

Sadly, Toyota priced themselves out of the competition with their CHR :(

• Therealmaserati on Jun 12, 2018 at 9:11 pm

Hyundais still drive like crap. Thats why they cant sell here. No amount of tech and design is gng to save hyundai.

They better improve their engine and chassis of their cars. They are nowhere close to Honda or even Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 35
    • Real Maserati My Foot on Oct 27, 2018 at 10:57 am

Judging by your comment, it’s pretty obvious you don’t own the latest gen of Korean cars which means that your comment is irrelevant at all.

You said no where close to Honda in terms of engine and chassis? Go get a Honda City and challenge my 8 year old Kia Forte :-) I can guarantee your Honda City will be the first to get knock off the road in terms of build quality, impact during accident and also HP.

PS: I hit a Honda City from behind. The honda city was a total knock out with bumper crack, boot door unable to open and tail light broke. Where else my Kia Forte only has dent on the engine cover with a broken license plate.

• meng meng on Jun 12, 2018 at 9:13 pm

I think this time Hyundai and KIA Malaysia should learn Proton or Geely. Improve and upgrade their Service center. Honestly, their car is good, built quality and value for money. only service center need improve.
    I just screw up with the Staff in service center front counter a few days ago.

• Leafable on Jun 12, 2018 at 10:30 pm

Wheres the Ioniq EV?

• Bring in the manual version of the Veloster pls!

• rayshhh on Jun 13, 2018 at 7:35 am

that volester make interested to me. is the engine equip same as i30n as in europe? if is than this will be VW GTI eater.

• Akira on Jun 13, 2018 at 8:46 am

Where is the Kona photo?

• Tan tan on Jun 13, 2018 at 9:53 am

Kona equipped with 1.6 turbo 7 speed 204hp 265nm

Same engine and transmission as Elantra Turbo right?
    Are the engine and DCT (dry clutch) problem free so far? Any owner complains?

• ahmadjohnson97 on Jun 13, 2018 at 7:07 pm

Still no i30n?

• Dimitri on Jun 15, 2018 at 2:20 pm

Please bring Hyundai Sonata 2.0 turbo. We love turbo car.