Proton resumes exports to Middle East; Gen2, Persona

Proton has resumed exports to the Middle East, the first time it is shipping out cars since Geely became a partner. A symbolic flag-off ceremony was held at Westport in Port Klang today, where 440 units of the Proton Gen2 and 13 units of the first-generation Persona were driven into the Grand Diamond cargo vessel.

The ship will be heading to Aqaba in Jordan, where the Protons will then be distributed to Iraq and other neighboring countries. Proton says that its cars have a strong following in the region, where owner clubs have remained active despite the lack of new models over the past few years. Proton’s last major export to the MENA region was to Egypt back in 2015.

“This ceremony marks a starting point for Proton as we resume and ramp up shipments to the Middle East in the coming months. It’s also the first export shipment since the partnership with Geely commenced and we expect our export market to have a positive outlook in the future so be prepared for more such announcements from as early as August this year,” said deputy CEO Datuk Radzaif Mohamed.

Proton says that product quality has improved since the company implemented the Global Customer Product Audit (GCPA) system to its production processes, with a threefold improvement to the number of demerit points registered. Based on a scale where smaller figures means better quality, Proton’s GCPA at the end of June 2018 is 1,763 points, with a year-end target of 1,500. The current score for Geely and Volvo is 1,200 and 850 points, respectively.

“The Middle East markets hold high regard for products from Islamic countries like Malaysia. The demand for cars will grow as their economies develop and will help fuel the growth of our export business. The ASEAN market however will remain as the main priority for Proton’s export business so we are excited about the opportunities available in the region,” said Proton CEO Dr Li Chunrong, who was also at the ceremony.

Proton is also leveraging on Geely’s extensive overseas network operations to increase cost effectiveness. “We are exploring all opportunities to grow export volumes for Proton. Geely is making a big effort to support us in this initiatives and there is a lot of experience within the group so we hope to leverage on it to enable us to sell more cars outside of Malaysia,” Li added.

Locally, Proton’s next move is the October launch of its first SUV, which is based on the facelifted Geely Boyue.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• harap jaya on Jul 12, 2018 at 5:07 pm

Although Proton is no longer our national car, I still hope they succeed…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 11
    • John May 9 Nangis on Jul 12, 2018 at 5:39 pm

This is Proton wasting their money again. In the Middle East, cars are tax free. Toyota cars are dirt cheap. Why would the Arabs buy a Proton when they can get a Toyota or other Japanese brands for super cheap prices?

Anyway pity Malaysians. In Saudi for instance all Protons, across their entire range, cost half the price of the same car sold in Malaysia. Very sad. Car made for Malaysians but it is sold half the price for super rich Arabs.

A car made for Malaysians should be sold half the price for Malaysians and not for Arabs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 64
      • Rakyat Malaysia on Jul 12, 2018 at 5:50 pm

P1 still our proud national car bcoz DRB hold 50.1% stake although Gov’t not interested in buying back Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
        • Sohai on Jul 12, 2018 at 8:34 pm

Fuyoo … sell the Gen2, the scrap generation car, as a strategic…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 13
          • Bobby on Jul 13, 2018 at 9:16 am

Very curious and Funny ,

Wondering why the middle East countries are still buying those obsolete still in existence Gen2 which we Malaysian already forgotten this lousy model long time ago.

Why middle East buyers got no taste and so backwards and hopefully they are not.

I think maybe those Gen2 will lelong cheap cheap in getting rid of it as there will be no spare parts except oil filter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
      • rightwinger on Jul 12, 2018 at 6:51 pm

you talk as if ALL, every single soul in the middle east is rich. read the article, theyre sending them cars to IRAQ,not KSA or UAE. last time i check, Iraq is still coming out of a major conflict, and people there are definitely looking for a cheap set of wheels to help to get around to facilitate the rebuilding process. whats wrong with cashing in on that?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 3
        • indeed… right product at the right time. proton might not yet own a big chunk of the MENA auto market, but it seems only a matter of time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
        • John May 9 Nangis on Jul 12, 2018 at 8:10 pm

we Malaysians are also suffering. Malaysians are not all rich and we have to burden with high 9 yr old loans to afford any car.

Charity begins at home

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 25
          • Rightwinger on Jul 12, 2018 at 9:31 pm

Trust me we’re not suffering, only first world problems….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
          • If u can come onto internet and rant in the comfort of ur home, then ur not suffering.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
          • Avenger on Jul 13, 2018 at 11:28 pm

I agree. You can start by sparing us your daily political diatribe poison and get lost from here. Promptly.

• Peter on Jul 13, 2018 at 12:20 am

Local also stop the Gen2 line already … surprise they still can export it? Pls at least use your VVT SP4H… jangan memalukan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
      • Funny on Jul 13, 2018 at 2:18 am

Walao, should sell at half price only? Does Toyota sell their cars to Japanese at half price? How about Hyundai to Koreans? You talked as if everything should follow what YOU dictate and want, like a child throwing a temper tantrum because can’t get what he wants.

• Anonymous on Jul 15, 2018 at 12:25 am

Did you guys not read the article?
        Its exported to the Middle East, but NOT countries like Qatar, Dubai, Oman, Yemen, or any countries like that. It’s exported to Jordan and its neighbouring countries like Iraq (yes, war torn Iraq). Cars in Jordan are expensive, and they have about as much buying power as we do.

• eeeriz on Jul 16, 2018 at 9:53 am

Mind you, you will be surprised that there were still many Proton’s followers in GCC countries. Agreed that those Japs car are better in terms of quality but what I’ve heard from my time in ME not so long ago, our Protons were also very good in qualities and often received thumbs-ups from them. Hehe. Hard to be believe eh..

• Ben Yap on Jul 12, 2018 at 5:18 pm

still got people wanna buy dated design and car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 12
    • Dylan Ch'ng on Jul 12, 2018 at 5:24 pm

People want to buy Proton for it’s air con

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 3
    • Anonymous on Jul 12, 2018 at 6:01 pm

People buy for its handling too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
    • rightwinger on Jul 12, 2018 at 6:56 pm

if it works, why not? VW’s beetle was produced from the late 30’s all the way to 2003. why no question? if you think a near 20 yr old design is dated and unsafe, what about a 60+ one? what, that one is a mat salleh one so ok lah? biased much?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 9
    • Dated design? Tell that to BMW & Mesidis.

• Driving a Toyota there is just too mainstream..
      What suprised me is that they do haveProton car club over there..

• Dylan Ch'ng on Jul 12, 2018 at 5:24 pm

“Proton Gen2 dan 13 units”

• Sparcov on Jul 12, 2018 at 5:32 pm

Should be the rejected Youngman Europestar Gen 2 from china.

Left hand drive remaining stock

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • Gojeng on Jul 12, 2018 at 5:38 pm

Deng, at first I thought these photos are from year 2000s..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • Matchy on Jul 13, 2018 at 12:05 am

Same here, when I saw the news on TV, I thought they use old footage.

• Gen2 > all

Timeless design thats imitated even by luxury brands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 6
    • RavenAii (Member) on Jul 13, 2018 at 2:59 am

Yep, looking this car now looks really like brand new, just like those days when my mom bought her Gen2 in 2005. For me this type of design hardly gets old. A sleek design of which I really love. If only they’d updated the safety features and quality, I don’t mind buying a new Gen2 in the future. Really miss those years of sporty looking Protons of Gen2, CM Persona, and Satria Neo. Not typically a fast vehicle, but a nice looking one for sure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • Lol what?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Miss conception on Jul 12, 2018 at 5:41 pm

Forget about MENA just getting a foothold in Asean market would do much better. Firstly, need to change to LHD. Secondly, their economy are not doing good so can’t simply splash money like before. Thirdly, unless we’re talking about food here, people there only have high regards for products from western countries. Lastly, I’m afraid by sending small volume of cars to this region doesn’t justify the cost which eventually would be borne by local buyers like last time. There’s no need to stake your claim of exporting to over 40 countries when actually the numbers are negligible.

• vVivi Zurianti on Jul 12, 2018 at 6:27 pm

Even Gen2 in Mesia is considered old-old dated cars on the road…….and P1 intend to sell them new in middle east?? Maybe P1 is giving the car as free gift like, buy 1 kapchai, gets a free proton car.

Anway, Good luck, P1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
  • Aero (Member) on Jul 12, 2018 at 7:25 pm

Congrats to Proton-Geely on the reactivation of large-scale exports. Interesting to note that Proton still has active stock of GEN-2 and CM Persona models even now in mid 2018. As far as I’m aware, Proton made brand new, LHD export-spec GEN-2s as late as early 2017. But the ones above could be 2018 build, I’m not sure.

Hopefully, this latest export push will continue to remain active moving forward, and not fade away after 2 or 3 years (as was typical of Proton’s previous export programmes). Proton has always had this ‘hit it and quit it’ attitude towards exports. Proton never took the time to properly develop a stable foothold and aftersales network in any their major export markets (except the U.K.). Overseas Proton owners suffer with high maintenance costs because they can’t get cheap parts locally.

Even if your car is good, affordable and reliable, few will risk buying your car if maintenance parts are hard to find or expensive. Imagine, it’s like buying a Chevrolet car in Malaysia… it’s cheap, affordable and reliable, but owners are always complaining about the nightmarish local aftersales. Proton owners overseas are facing the same problem with expensive parts and lacking aftersales.

I want to share one such story here; There is a facebook group called UK Spec Proton, which sells Proton parts to owners in Britain (but they also ship worldwide). The admin told me that parts for the Proton Savvy were cheaper and easier to find in the U.K. because they are similar to parts from Renault cars. Renault has a strong market presence and aftersales network in Britain.

In fact, according to the ‘ howmanyleft ‘ website, in Q1 2012, there were 3,209 Savvys and 4,559 GEN-2s licensed in the U.K.. As of Q1 2018, there are 2,315 Savvys and 2,510 GEN-2s left. In other words, 72% of the Savvy population in Britain is still alive 6 years later, compared to just 55% for the GEN-2. No doubt, cheap and easily available parts are helping British Savvy owners keep their cars on the roads, and out of the scrapyard.

Selling a car is the easy part, keeping a car running is not so easy. Proton knows this of course, that’s why they’re working so hard on their aftersales division. If Proton wants to maintain a foothold in any of their export markets, they need to invest in overseas aftersales too. Alternatively, they can find good local partners/ franchise holders to handle aftersales. One such example is RDC in Mauritius. RDC holds the franchise for both Proton and Perodua. They have been taking good care of Proton and Perodua owners in Maritius for years and years. You can check out their facebook page for further proof.

I’m sure Proton is well aware of everything I mentioned above, the question and problem they’ve been facing for decades is how to properly implement and execute it all. Sometimes, Proton gets it very right (eg. Jumbuck in Australia), but for the most part, they’ve struggled.

Generally speaking, Proton’s exports were at their best in the 80s and 90s. Proton’s export head at that time was a Mitsubishi alumni. In many cases, Proton cars were exported through Mitsubishi’s already-established export network. I’m sure many bought Protons overseas because they knew that Proton’s cars were Mitsubishi-based. Parts and maintenance wouldn’t have been a big issue.

Here’s hoping that Proton will be able to leverage on Geely’s overseas network, and Volvo’s brand recognition and technology, in their export markets. To that effect, I wish Proton-Geely the best of luck and godspeed.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 8
    • Rightwinger on Jul 12, 2018 at 9:38 pm

Well said

• CarBuyer on Jul 12, 2018 at 10:43 pm

For the last 20 years, it appears to me that “New Markets” department heads at Proton have only been concerned about meeting their specific K.P.I.; i.e. getting vehicles into a new country. Sustainability of sales is probably somebody else’s remit.

• Sustainability of sales is by the local dealers there, not P1 job.

• Well done!! Seems like gen2 design is evergreen. Sporty looks and yet stable driving. In Egypt this car has his own group motoring. Why not P1 now upgraded this Gen2 to Gen3 with more up-to-date technologies without change the design. Satria and Gen2 has the mystic. Just a touch of Inovasion thinking, this model can be the momey.

• ANBARASU RAMALINGAM on Jul 13, 2018 at 9:41 am

Gen2 may appear dated (as we all conciously know that it has been around for more than a decade) but this little mighty one handles better than the current Vios or City even with their traction control turned on!

Proton has got it right exporting these models, there is demand for it. Only an idiot will describe Middle East as the place of “Rich Arabs” – this is a result watching Fast n Furious rather than documentaries. Most middle eastern countries are stricken with crisis either war and other issues and economy is quite a Challenge. And as mentioned, there is demand for products from Muslim countries, so yes, Proton is doing the right thing.

• nazri on Jul 13, 2018 at 9:59 am

i OWN both Gen2 and previous model of Persona…still have both… reliable car so far, bit of problem here and there but overall it is ok…

but WTF exporting those car now????? wholesale ke apa??? jadahnya jual keta yang dah tak jual kat sini kat negara luar…

or memang purposely nak brand Proton kat mata dunia as cheap car????? sell it for 20 -30k brand new…. if yes, kenapa tak jual je kat sini gak…kalau nak habis kan stok… for 20k++ a brand new Gen2 im sure ramai who cant afford new car would love it…

oh well… i guess that is why I am not the CEO for Proton…..

• prolever on Jul 13, 2018 at 10:06 am

and when we though only chinese car maker sold previous generation car alongside the new one.
    Well, if there’s a demand, why not.

• tokmoh. on Jul 13, 2018 at 11:28 am

Geely have better chance penetrating Middle East market with Proton brand, as we’re a muslim country, good to leverage on that.

I wonder if this means parts for Gen2 and 1st gen Persona is still easily available at Proton SC. Else, it’s usually easier to source discontinued models’ parts from outside part shops.

• Persona2 only came in 2016. So Persona CM wud have been out of production since 2015 which gips it until 2025 for spare parts to stop production. My Gen2 CPS still got plenty of sapot time bro.

• HANIFF BIN GHAZLI on Jul 13, 2018 at 12:35 pm

so, proton realises it is stll far away from build quality. all you have is syiok sendiri attitude. but after 30 years, what steps were taken to ensure build quality is on par with other car makers?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • Seriously, did u even read the article before scrolling all the way down to bash?

• They shud donate all these unsold garbage junk to Africa and other 3rd world countries. Such an eyesore on the road and polluting the environment with it around.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11