FIRST DRIVE: MINI Hatch facelift with 7-speed DCT

The facelifted MINI Hatch has just been launched in Malaysia, priced between RM226,888 and RM283,888, and doubtless many of you would like to find out how well it drives. That’s just as well, as our man Matthew Tong has been to Mallorca recently to take the refreshed fashion-savvy hatch for a spin, and you can watch his drive impressions in the video above.

But hang on a minute, you may be thinking, what’s so special about a car that doesn’t look that much different on the outside? Well, that’s because most of the changes can be found under the bonnet, with a range of revised engines that are more economical than before. In the Cooper S, it’s a 2.0 litre turbo four-cylinder petrol that makes 192 hp and 280 Nm of torque, boosted to 231 hp and 320 Nm in the John Cooper Works.

There’s even bigger news in the shape of the new seven-speed dual-clutch transmission in the Cooper S (JCW gets an eight-speed automatic), which replaces the old six-speed auto. So there’s much to unpack and assess, and Matt seems to have really enjoyed the entire experience.

Other less noticeable changes include new LED head- and tail lights (the latter sporting a cool Union Jack design), a revised touchscreen infotainment system and customisable trim pieces. You can read the full launch report here, and if you prefer a written review you can find it here. You can also browse full specifications and equipment of the new 3 Door and 5 Door models on CarBase.my.

GALLERY: F56 MINI Cooper S 3 Door LCI

GALLERY: F55 MINI Cooper S 5 Door LCI
GALLERY: F55 MINI John Cooper Works 3 Door LCI

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• John May 9 Nangis on Jul 13, 2018 at 6:50 pm

RM283k for a Mini is shocking. Malaysia still has the highest car prices in the world in comparison to our low pay packet. Hopefully this improves.

• Abesla on Jul 15, 2018 at 8:36 pm

Still with the fake news of highest car prices in the world. Take a good look at Singapore.

• Still with the fake news telling kampung people Malaysians gaji is far higher than Singapore gaji. This is why fake news lost

• kan Matterew dah driven kat EU.. jd ni bukan First Drive lagi …

• Hamidi on Jul 16, 2018 at 8:41 am

Gaji Orang Singapura 5X gaji orang Malaysia

• Ikankekek on Jul 16, 2018 at 9:05 am

Betui. To further sapot public transportations, car prices should be doubled instead.

• RM283K. . . sub sub sui-lah.

• Rajoo Selvam on Jul 13, 2018 at 10:30 pm

At the rate car companies are conning Malaysians, 10 years down the road, they will say this Mini cost RM400,000

And we Malaysians just happily accept it.

• Mini M owner on Jul 14, 2018 at 2:20 pm

How is the road noise?the previous model had very poor road noise insulation.

• Bernard on Jul 14, 2018 at 4:47 pm

Car companies in Bolehland must relook at their exorbitant ridiculous pricing . Talk to the PH govt on how to reduce taxes….they will listen.

• What’s the latest story about Mini Cooper cars now?

If you do a Google search you will find a lot of issues with this car in the past. Has Mini fixed all these issues yet?

Here are some of the most common issues reported in the past; –
    Failed electric power steering pumps, clutch failure, transmission issues, rattling timing chains and water pump issues etc. I also read somewhere that someone has to change the brake pads after less than 20,000 kms. Given the selling price of this car, is it worth getting one?

Am I right to say that there are only 3 Mini dealers in the country (Penang, Sereban and Damansara)? Really, only 3 authorised dealers