Last week, transport minister Anthony Loke announced that all existing Automated Enforcement System (AES) summons will be written off following the cabinet’s decision to take over AES operations beginning September 1. However, Loke said the government is in no position to refund motorists who have paid their AES fines, reports The Star.
“The money paid by these offenders went to the concessionaires appointed by the (previous) government. We are in no position to refund because the Government did not benefit,” he said at a press conference recently, after distributing the Jalur Gemilang flag to motorists in Mantin.
The decision raised criticisms, with some saying it was unfair to those who had paid their fines. Loke, on the other hand, said the transport ministry will come up with a new approach for the AES, adding that discussions were ongoing with the Road Transport Department and other relevant agencies.
“I can’t say much now as this has not been finalised,” he said. As for the fine rates, Loke said there’s no need to review as the law stipulates that the maximum rate for some traffic offences was RM300.
The AES system was first introduced in 2012, with Syarikat ATES Sdn Bhd and Beta Tegap Sdn Bhd being appointed as concessionaires and have so far raked in over RM129 million. The only assets belonging to the companies were 47 speed cameras in the country, but only 38 were operational. The cost to install one camera was about RM250,000, which means the companies invested just over RM10 million to install the 47 cameras, according to Loke.
But it is in their position to write off all unpaid summons. Yeah right. Stupid logic there Loki.
You are the stupid one.
Future summons no need to pay.
Those already paid, the money already masuk poket of those appointed by previous government.
Simple enough for you or not, dumbass.
Look in the mirror before calling others stupid. Those appointed are cronies of PM4. So why PM7 can’t ask for refund from PM4?
Bullcrap! That just encourages road users to continue breaking the law. There should be no exceptions to those still unpaid. Loki should have taken over the concessionaires role and actively chased those who haven’t paid.
Paid AES summons must seek refund from ATES and Beta Tegap Sdn Bhd.
send in MCAA, Tax audit, and will find out who the culprit getting paid all this..sure MCA surface out..
Those unpaid summons @RM150 each would go straight into crony company pocket. Gomen gets nothing, zero, yilek. That RM150 discount given were cut off from gomen side.
So why let Be-End crony untung while gomen gets nothing? You really shiok crony untung ke?
go ask from MCA dude…
Why cant ministry of transport slap the concessionaires with windfall tax like what prev gov did to pail oil company few years ago when palm oil price soar to record high ? When there is a will, there is always a way.
because the concessionaire have already cash out and withdraw their profit. you slap them with one-off tax, they will simply declare bankruptcy and close shop.
Dear YB Loke, I know you’re doing the best that you can but since you’re talking about these two AES concessionaires and their lopsided contracts, maybe you can check with you current Big Boss as to why he instructed the PM-5 and PM-6 administrations to push through the AES system to these buddies of his in such a one-sided manner but now act innocent and unaware.
WOW. Invest RM10 million get return of RM129 million. Must be one of the best if not the best in terms of ROI. The ROI here means Return of Investment & not Register of Interest.
From what i read elsewhere out of the 300 that is being paid only half goes to the government. however i believe there were some discounts or early payment schemes whereby only 150 needs to be payed and this goes fully to the concessionaires. this is probably the reason why they can’t refund it. Again i might be wrong, maybe there are other reasons behind it.
But just looking at the investment to profit ratio, 10 to 129 mil. thats amazing. one of our very few projects which need zero bantuan hehe
When money is paid/deposited into crooks account, what are the chances of getting back your money?! That is why 95% of AES “offenders” did not pay up bcos they know its not an approved system. Go to AES blogs to check out.
AES blogs are filled with law breakers. A society of scum, so why associate with them?
We are talking about refund by AES. Why do U need to say – AES blogs user are SCUM of society?! Do’t be too quick to judge someone for U will be JUDGED.
Satu Lagi Projek Barisan Nasional.
Invest RM10Mil, Kutip RM129Mil ….. Untung kau².
Imagine if this 119Mil going towards paying hospitals, medicine, schools, helping orang asli & the hardcore poor.
LOL go ask the Savior of Malaysia la… I was doing some consulting work for one of the AES concessionaires back in 2006 and everyone knew that they’re doing the project on behalf of The Big Boss. Can clap louder, such a brilliant man, can fool Malaysians again and again. Cry a bit, give a bit of “atuk” stories, and he will be forgiven.. people will willingly let him whack more and more all over again.
AES was implemented during najib rule, you trying to blame mahathir pulak. really stupid donkey.
Say I buy a house, 20% of my buy price goes into developers pocket, another 10% goes into contractor’s pocket, another 10% into material suppliers pockets, 5% goes into the design consultant pockets. Without all the layers, if I build it myself, I bake my own bricks, I saw my own woods, I literally build it myself, I could save up to 50% of the total cost.
What the minister said is true. It surely must have gone to the contractor’s pocket, otherwise, how else would they for the equipment purchase cost?
But… reimbursing to AES previous offenders is a different issue altogether. It cannot be seen as part of government’s obligation to the contract they signed. Old gov, new gov. Same-same. Agreement still applies.
this loke want to do good by showing that he is performing in his job but he lack discernment causing a lot of dissatisfaction among motorists.
LoL… no wonder they said Malaysians becoming more kiasu than Singaporeans.
Pay attention to what Loke said, he never apologized once if you paid. That’s because you deserved it for breaking the law. He took this path not because he pity the 3.1m, but because he want to restructure the whole thing to become useful tool to discipline drivers and increase road safety awareness.
Whether you paid or not, you are still breaking the law period. So STFU and start changing your driving behavior. You want the government to change for the better but before that, let the change come from you first.