Mercedes-Benz Malaysia introduces Hybrid Battery Extended Warranty – 8 years/180,000 km coverage

Mercedes-Benz Malaysia has revealed a new Hybrid Battery Extended Warranty programme for the E 300 BlueTEC Hybrid and S 400 h. With this plan, which was first introduced in September 2018 for the E 300 BlueTec, owners will be provided coverage for the repair or replacement of the hybrid battery in their vehicles for up to eight years or 180,000 from the date of registration, whichever comes first.

Recently, a photo of an invoice for a battery replacement involving an E 300 BlueTEC Hybrid went viral on social media when it was shown that the cost of the battery alone was over RM120,000. This extended warranty plan – which costs RM2,688 – is likely a reactionary move to the viral post. Previously, coverage for the hybrid battery was bundled together with the standard 2+2 years/unlimited km warranty that came with a new Mercedes-Benz vehicle.

UPDATE: The story has been edited to include the price of the Hybrid Battery Extended Warranty programme, which is RM2,688. A new story detailing this as well as the official battery replacement prices for the E 300 BlueTec and S 400 h can be read here.

To be eligible for the extended warranty plan, the vehicle must be registered less than four years (within the warranty period of the vehicle) at the time of signing of the extended warranty agreement. A vehicle inspection must also be completed at the time of signing the agreement before the extended warranty can be offered, and the hybrid battery must in 100% working condition.

With the new programme in effect, total coverage for the cost of repairs or replacement for the hybrid battery will be borne by Mercedes-Benz Malaysia during the extended warranty period from the fifth to eighth year of the vehicle registration.

There are specific terms and conditions that must be met in order to receive this coverage once the agreement has been signed, with one of them being “the vehicle must be continued to be only fully serviced and maintained by a Mercedes-Benz authorised dealer/service center in accordance with the manufacturer specifications during the extended warranty period.”

Additionally, the extended warranty only applies to the repair or replacement of the hybrid battery should it fail due to a defect such as defective material(s) or workmanship. Regular wear and reduction of battery capacity is not covered under the warranty.

The T&C also stipulates that “in the event of a repair or replacement, Mercedes-Benz Malaysia may, at its own discretion, either replace or repair the defective part,” and is not responsible to compensate the owner for the loss of use of the vehicle, transportation costs when the vehicle is being repaired.

Plug-in hybrid models like the C 350 e and E 350 e not covered under this programme, as they have a separate six-year/100,000 km warranty for the battery.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• digisigi on Mar 05, 2019 at 8:13 pm

haha, so your car max can’t use beyond 180k km, but better than nth, I think mbm will not dare to offer any more hybrid in malaysia

• YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 06, 2019 at 12:35 am

Today 330e, 530e, 740Le and X5 40e owners are all crying. Before this, they action so much and say their cars so high tech and so economical.

Now cry like babies. RV also masuk longkang

• Cyrus Lewis on Mar 06, 2019 at 9:32 am

Overnight all Hybrid and EV cars collapsed in value.

Overnight nobody wants to buy any EV or hybrid anymore.

How is BMW going to survive now?

• Veyron Owner on Mar 06, 2019 at 9:41 am

That’s the problem with nearly-wannabe-rich show offs. Mercedes is the hallmark of luxury car and many show offs struggle to pay for their rides, many of them living in houses that cost slightly above their Mercedeses. These people are fools to expect that a luxury car will have Kancil servicing cost. A luxury car entails a luxury price in servicing and that includes battery replacement.

This is something nearly-wannabe-rich show off buyers cannot understand which is why they vent their frustration, and what made worse was the artificially cheapened hybrid car prices by the past gahmen which made it affordable to buy but not affordable to own by these oblivious nearly-wannabe-rich show off buyers. A hybrid car is no way cheaper in running cost compared to equivalent petrol version and for the really well off buyers who genuinely can afford the running cost of their hybrid cars, this is never a problem. RM 130k for replacement? Just one month of income for the genuinely rich customers. Why should they spend their time to complain? Their time is money and more precious than to complain about the price of battery replacement.

Again I would like to emphasise. If you nearly-wannabe-rich show off potential buyers cannot afford the running cost of these luxury cars, hybrid or otherwise, better don’t buy it. Either get an entry level C-class or even a Camry. Toyota running cost is very well suited for the poorer buyers. Malaysians should throw out their habit of trying to show off when in reality they can barely afford to keep up with us genuinely rich.

• Yeap, but dont get a hybrid toyota….but at least their batt is cheaper to replace compared to those lux brand but your mkt price will on average 10k less than those non hybrid toyotak…

• Happy Fossil on Mar 06, 2019 at 9:42 am

Good luck after 8 years – E300, S400h
      Good luck after 6 years – C350e, E350e

• Cyrus Lewis on Mar 06, 2019 at 9:49 am

Mercedes salesman promise Diesel can save you money. Most diesel owners do 50,000 KM per annum. Like this extra warranty also void.

Is Mercedes trying to cheat Malaysians?

• Kunta Kinte on Mar 05, 2019 at 8:30 pm

120k for a battery replacement is ridiculous. Absolutely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 05, 2019 at 9:06 pm

This is after the famous guy who got the big fat bill of RM130k for his Mercedes E300 Bluetec Hybrid.

The big issue here, hybrid and EV sellers must inform the buyer of all these costs at point of purchase.

Our salesman all talk sweet. Especially BMW and Mercedes salesman. But they never tell you that their batteries all cost RM130k and above. That is just battery. The service labour and also the electrical parts is another big bomb. Each time…..nothing less than 10k.

Don’t believe? Ask all the Toyota Prius owners in Malaysia. They will tell you how costly their electrical parts costs.

In other countries, under their consumer law, it is in offense if the seller does not disclose such conditions of a contract and also such relevant big costs during the signing of the purchase of the car. It can also fall under misrepresentation ie the seller misrepresented to the buyer.

In Malaysia, our consumer law does not protect the buyer at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
  • MBM Malaysia is Liable on Mar 05, 2019 at 9:14 pm

MBM should give this free to all E300 Bluetec owners. Why charge for it?

Firstly owners have seen the RV drop like crazy. Just like the Audi A6 Hybrid battery RM120k also. The Audi A6 Hybrid now nobody wants to touch.

Also, it was Mercedes who pushed the purchaser to buy the E300 Bluetec Hybrid saying it is cheaper to run.

Then MBM said the Diesel also was very clean. Then later Europe said Diesel is dirtier than petrol.

So, MBM must be liable to owners who bought their diesel cars because MBM told owners diesel is cleaner than petrol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • bieight on Mar 05, 2019 at 9:18 pm

buy BMW better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • Burning Motorist Wallet on Mar 06, 2019 at 1:40 pm

No thanks. We do not want to get barbecue in it later.

• Accord on Mar 05, 2019 at 9:22 pm

After warranty over??

• YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 05, 2019 at 9:32 pm

Mercedes Malaysia should pay gantirugi to those who have this car because they when buying time, Salesman guarantee it would SAVE MONEY for the owner.

Now, looks like owner have to spend more to buy this program and his RV masuk longkang etc.

Hello Mercedes……better pay gantirugi.

• Sohhai on Mar 05, 2019 at 10:14 pm

Petrol prices so damm cheap here. Hybrids totally irrelevant, except for green parking space.

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 05, 2019 at 10:17 pm

That’s a Proton X70 riding on each battery….yep X70 owners, your entire vehicle costs as much as someone’s car battery.

In all seriousness these batteries should not cost that much even if the vehicle is a pure EV. How are they going to push for more hybrid and EV sales when there’s a bomb waiting for you at the end of the 6th or 8th year of ownership? Sure you can sell it off before then but your car value would have dropped like a bomb too. If that’s the case then diesel engines are a better option for now until they can bring costs down.

• Digidigi on Mar 06, 2019 at 12:09 am

Diesel is dead

• Hybrid is irrelevant in Msia…cost of replacement (around 5k – 10k) is way higher compared to the savings in fuel consumption since our petrol are still among the cheapest in the world. Hybrid is more to reduce pollution & fuel cost for those countries wt high petrol cost (ie Europe). In Msia where got tax on pollution? Msia dont care about green technology….might as well get a diesel instead with more power & FC comparable to hybrid and waayyy better than hybrid on long highway journey. Yeap, Diesels are still relevant in Malaysia…where got co2 or NOX regulation here ; ))

• Engineer on Mar 05, 2019 at 10:30 pm

To that particular person who was moaning about the cost of battery replacement, despite himself too poor to own one of these cars, take THAT! Haha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • MENTERI PASOLA on Mar 06, 2019 at 2:25 pm

owning a problematic car does not make you a rich person
      kek

• Engineer on Mar 06, 2019 at 2:40 pm

You want a problem-free car? Then go own a horse and buggy. Guarantee you no car problems that will distress Luddites much like you.

• Jhuan on Mar 05, 2019 at 11:49 pm

So now driving an EV/PHEV vehicle no longer look ‘smarter’ than normal person, as the small, so-called, Saving turn out to be a disaster afterall.

• I wouldn’t go for a hybrid car To be honest because the cost of replacing it, you can actually buy a brand new Japanese car. I don’t think you will save much in terms of petrol if you compare the cost of the battery alone. Not sure if the E class hybrid battery is the same as the new Merc models. Imagine the older E class hybrid battery already cost RM120k. If it’s a S-Class model how much will it cost?

• Korean Fan on Mar 06, 2019 at 1:19 am

How much is an 8 year old Merc E-Class Hybrid? I guess around 100k. So if the battery alone cost 120K, just drive your car into longkang and leave it there. Another way is to pay someone to own your car (funny right) as long as he is willing to replace the battery.

• So they are saying blatantly – just don’t buy their electric cars, especially 2nd hand.

• Henry on Mar 06, 2019 at 9:55 am

So many terms and conditions attached to the extended warranty. Sudah lah.

• “Regular wear and reduction of battery capacity is not covered under the warranty”

So you still need to pay the Rm120k afterall…

• Dr Leong Yue Khau Anthony on Mar 06, 2019 at 11:38 am

I am an owner of the E300 Hybrid MB bought it new. At the time of the purchase this fact was NOT made know to me and if I had known I would NOT have bought it as it does not make sense, economically. My resale value has drop drastically and I am contemplating to file a civil suit against MB or its dealer to claim for damages. I would like to hear comments from other owners and check out the views. I would appreciate if other owner’s view on the matter before proceeding further.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 06, 2019 at 12:23 pm

buy x70. best.

• Save RM1500 on petrol after 5 years, then cry….loudly

• Sivajirajah A/L A.Suppiah on Mar 06, 2019 at 8:59 pm

Mercedes-Benz E300 BlueTec Hybrid Battery Extended Warranty Programme
    Thank you for placing your trust and confidence in Mercedes-Benz. At Mercedes-Benz, we are constantly looking for new ways to improve our customer value, ownership experience and most importantly customer satisfaction.
    As a valued customer of Mercedes-Benz, we are pleased to offer you the Mercedes-Benz E300 BlueTec Hybrid Battery Extended Warranty Programme. This programme is specially formulated for E300 BlueTec Hybrid customers.
    The Hybrid Battery Extended Warranty Programme is aimed at providing extended battery warranty coverage even after the 4-year warranty coverage has ended. This programme gives you the opportunity to purchase up to 8 years extended battery warranty coverage at a convenient price of MYR2,688.00 subject to terms and conditions.
    Your Benefits at a glance
    You will be enjoying extended coverage for your vehicle’s hybrid battery for up to 8 years or 180,000 km (whichever comes first) based on the following coverage: –
    a. 5th and 01″ year of the Vehicle registration – 100% coverage •
    b. 7th year of the Vehicle registration – 75% coverage•
    c. 8.” year of the Vehicle registration – 50% coverage• ‘Percentage of coverage for the cost of repair(s) or replacement(s) for the hybrid battery that
    will be borne by Mercedes-Benz Malaysia Stitt BM
    Our hybrid battery extended warranty helps improve resales value of your Mercedes-Benz providing the next owner with a complete maintenance and service history.
    This programme covers unlimited repairs and/or changes for up to 8 years or 180,000 km (whichever comes first). Percentage of coverage as detailed above.

This is a official mercedes benz letter about the programme on the 1 september 2018

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Mar 07, 2019 at 11:26 am

This has been superseded by an updated extended warranty programme detailed in this article.

• Even more compelling reason to completely scrap your hybrid-engined mercedes after 8 years. Or any hybrid cars for that matter.

Else you’re just lugging along dead weight.

• zetec on Mar 08, 2019 at 11:46 am

Yeah…long live DIESELS!!…but just out of curiosity, can the owner of the E300 Bluetec just discard the battery instead of replacing it…since the 2.2 CDI is quite potent already??