New Toyota Etios sedan unveiled, based on Bezza

Well, this is big news. Toyota has finally replaced its long-serving Etios budget sedan and, surprise, surprise, the new second-generation model – which has just been launched in Pakistan – is based on the Perodua Bezza! This is the first Toyota to be based on a Perodua, instead of the other way around.

The Etios has been around since 2010, so the arrival of this new model gives Toyota a leg up in this competitive segment in the region, with new features such as Vehicle Stability Control (VSC) and the Eco Idle automatic engine start/stop system – the same items that can be found on the Bezza.

However, this is not quite so simple a rebadge of the Perodua, as there are a few aesthetic changes on the outside. At the front, one can spot the new LED headlights with Front Outer Oblique Light, a form of adaptive headlight technology. The grille has also been made taller with horizontal slats, while the bumper design has been made sportier with triple downturned air intakes.

Moving to the rear, the tail lights have been reprofiled with a slimmer shape, and the rear bumper gains a diffuser-like insert. Inside, the horizontal dashboard design is identical to the Bezza’s, with only the new Vios’ three-spoke steering wheel being the main difference. The Pakistan-market version also receives cruise control and an App Phone Receiver with Intelligent Logic head unit, which the Bezza does not have.

Powering the Etios is the same 1.3 litre petrol engine as the Bezza, mated to a four-speed automatic transmission. Despite being slightly smaller than the outgoing 1.5 litre mill, the addition of Dual VVT-i means that it actually makes more power at 95 PS, although torque is slightly lower at 121 Nm. The 1.4 litre turbodiesel, meanwhile, solders on and makes the same 68 PS and 170 Nm as before.

The new Toyota Etios goes on sale in Pakistan today, April 1, priced starting from 2,019,401 rupees. Thanks to reader Theophilus Chin for the tip!

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Lets See on Apr 01, 2019 at 5:47 pm

Hahahaha! Lets see how this will stack up against external competitors. Perodua cars have always faired badly in export markets even when rebadged as Daihatsu. New Myvi sales in Indonesia market is a dismal few k’s, barely surviving as compared with their non-Perodua siblings.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 29
    • Sharnaaz Ahmed on Apr 01, 2019 at 6:41 pm

Pakistanis all waiting for Proton Saga made here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
      • john 1 April 2019 on Apr 01, 2019 at 7:49 pm

Our resident troll here with the initial “j” already Game Over cuz he got trolled by my Game Changing troll. Hahqha, April Fools!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
        • Jokes on you mate. Your initial starts with “j”. Ha! Ha! Ha!

• Wilson Khoo on Apr 01, 2019 at 11:02 pm

I suspect this is true. Now Toyota is learning from Perodua.

This shows Perodua workers work hard like Japanese Toyota workers to become a success until parent company Toyota also look up to subordinate Perodua

• Copy Paste on Apr 02, 2019 at 6:54 pm

Copy paste: “Japanese people quick to realise this April Fools joke but fanboys are still so high dreaming their lords have finally acknowledged their existence.”

• Toyota learn from Perodua? What a jokes..ahaha…even Perodua always copycat other models such as Daihatsu, and Aruz from Rush for example and you are saying Toyota learn from Perodua? Ahahah…

• Fareed on Apr 01, 2019 at 7:01 pm

April fools laa bodo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
    • MalaysiaBoleh! on Apr 01, 2019 at 7:21 pm

You gotta know, indonesia people are like sabah and sarawak. They like SUV, 4×4 truck, and MPV more than a compact car.

• Mario and Bros on Apr 01, 2019 at 8:23 pm

Happy April Fools Day Guys

• suomynona on Apr 02, 2019 at 1:56 am

I like the

Front
      Outer
      Oblique
      Light.

FOOL, haha

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Apr 02, 2019 at 5:31 pm

That’s just one of the abbreviations in there…

• Flyer flys on Apr 01, 2019 at 5:49 pm

(Like) Toyota Etios
    (Dislike) Perodua Bezza

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 9
    • Saysaysaja on Apr 01, 2019 at 6:27 pm

U will see Bezza with Etios bodykits after Etios launched. Its just like Myvi and Passo / Sirion.

• MalaysiaBoleh! on Apr 01, 2019 at 7:19 pm

Upcoming bezza facelifted maybe.

• Looks good for front, others interiors, rear design, rim all need redesign…

• john 2019 on Apr 01, 2019 at 5:49 pm

Proud of you Perodua! Even Indians like our Game Changing second national car company, Perodua. The new Etios based on our Bezza will be a Game Changer without any doubt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 28
    • Pakistan is NOT India. Please get your geography right before telling us more Game Changing fairy tales. come to India and new Etios will be sliced and diced by Suzuki Alto & Dzire like its predecessor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
      • redpilled on Apr 02, 2019 at 11:04 am

What to do, resident troll got excrement for brains, some more want to show he’s champion…. Basic geography also fail, lagi mau cakap banyak…

• English Teacher on Apr 02, 2019 at 1:51 pm

He has a track record of failing many subjects. Failed Geography, failed mathematics, failed English comprehension, failed Moral & Civics, and as a lazy keyboard warrior behind a screen, he failed Physical Education too.

As a school dropout, he certainly filled his time with nonsensicals over and over daily.

• inb4 our resident troll kena trolled by PT writers & Theo. Hahahaha! Gud one bros!

• YB Kunta Kinte on Apr 01, 2019 at 8:07 pm

inb4 you get caught again for trolling, impersonating others and using your 50 dupes.

Time to change your ways john!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
        • john 1 April 2019 on Apr 01, 2019 at 8:58 pm

Lol, john kena trolled by my Game Changing troll. john instantly Game Over

• Yeah, you really should take your own advice. Time to change your ways, Kunta! You have been caught once too many times, the jokes are now stale!

• Mohd Ishak on Apr 01, 2019 at 10:54 pm

John has been like this from 2015. Hard to change old habits bro

• Now I know pipu actually worship 3rd world country class car, duh

• Hahaha on Apr 01, 2019 at 5:55 pm

Hahahaha… april fool

• April fool on Apr 01, 2019 at 5:56 pm

April fool

• Muhammad John on Apr 01, 2019 at 5:56 pm

I told you guys! I remember someone here accused me of spreading lies :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • You are right. Perodua cars are only fit for 3rd world countries. Even then, 3rd world countries still won’t pick Perodua as their cars.

• Muhammad John on Apr 01, 2019 at 7:40 pm

You’re right. Perodua cars are all ASEAN death traps… I prefer get a Proton. At least it’s safe :D

• What? That Jepunis fanbois r easy to belip anything about Jepunis lords and their celups even if its an obvious April Fools joke? Jokes on u lor. Lolz!

• Muhammad John on Apr 01, 2019 at 6:37 pm

Tarik balik! XD I saw the tag

• At those prices? It is DoA.

• benzs on Apr 01, 2019 at 5:58 pm

Good! At last, Toyota rebadged Perodua. Previously was Myvi rebadged as Daihatsu Sirion.

• alldisc on Apr 01, 2019 at 7:30 pm

They are basically all in the same group. Smart thing for toyota to do but most importantly it shows the Japanese ppl recognises the talents in perodua (design n engineering)

• Celup King on Apr 02, 2019 at 9:20 am

Japanese people quick to realise this April Fools joke but fanboys are still so high dreaming their lords have finally acknowledged their existence.

• Obviously an April Fools Day article.

• DriveNewWays on Apr 01, 2019 at 6:16 pm

Here just to see how many fall victim to this April Fool prank… lol..

• Raja Kamarul on Apr 01, 2019 at 6:27 pm

Look at the post’s tag, guys. LoLz…

• Jules on Apr 01, 2019 at 6:35 pm

April fool?

• Jonathan must be having a whale of a time reading & vetting the many Jepunis fanboism comments, but really. They (ekceli only one and his many dupes) will take it seriously, mainly cuz he dun read the whole article before bollocking. But well played there, I must say.

• Is this an April’s Fool joke?

• A car user on Apr 01, 2019 at 7:57 pm

Look at the price figure.Don’t you think it looks familiar?Get it?

• New interiors, rear sportier design and Better sound system needed… Why Perodua rear design always looks so boring…

• CrazyMobilo on Apr 01, 2019 at 8:16 pm

Tq for the April Fool joke Paultan.org

• Hopefully Perodua can removed or can just off the annoying Eco ideal function…

• Optimus Prime on Apr 01, 2019 at 8:36 pm

April Fool prank is it? Hahahahaha..

• Jayden on Apr 01, 2019 at 8:49 pm

“priced starting from 2,019,401 rupees.”

Haha, 2,019,401 selling price!

Another April Fool jokes from PT. Aiyo, me really getting excited. Thought new facelift may on the way to P2 showroom.

• Add A Comment on Apr 02, 2019 at 7:21 am

OK. Perodua can starts rebadging the Etios now.

• good one... on Apr 02, 2019 at 7:49 am

I really believe this article at first until I read the sales price, and then the name of our famous Theo Chin was mentioned as the main source…and the tag kills it off…ha ha ha…

• Bezzios

• Braga on Apr 02, 2019 at 5:20 pm

Hideous looks

• A good one PT. It proves that there are many keyboard worriers here who just give their comments based on the headline story without reading the details.

• Fauzi on Apr 04, 2019 at 6:52 am

Bezza future facelift maybe?

• Dr.R.Krishna Kumari on Dec 18, 2019 at 7:04 pm

I like Toyota Etios and other models. I’ d like to know the price.

• Rosechandran Ramachandran on Jan 09, 2020 at 11:41 pm

So then, what are the differences between Toyota Vios & Toyota Etios?

• Ur moms car on Jan 21, 2024 at 9:51 am

By reading this news already i knew it was a joke

Pakistani market cars would not getting this much kits as the corolla (yes this current gen) that they were selling literally without an airbag let alone the vsc

Even the cruise control and led headlights only available on top of the line grande 1.8 and rest of them didn’t get any of them

Btw happy April fools day