Perodua Myvi GT too costly to build as production unit – to be toned down and badged as new Myvi SE?

Remember the hot new Perodua Myvi GT concept that was on display at the last Kuala Lumpur International Motor Show? Well, according to Perodua Sales managing director Datuk Dr Zahari Husin, it would be very costly to put the concept into production.

What makes it expensive, you ask? Items such as the bespoke wide body kit, sports suspension, huge 17-inch wheels with 205/40 Bridgestone Adrenalin RE003 tyres, Brembo brakes, sunroof, carbon-fibre parts, as well as leather bucket seats, a unique D-shaped steering wheel, and extensive use of leather and Alcantara.

But don’t be too quick to dwell in your sorrows, because as it turns out, Perodua may offer a toned down version of the hatch. Looking at the current line-up, the sportier-looking, better equipped Myvi SE has yet to join the range. Perhaps the “toned down Myvi GT” could be branded as such, replete with more aggressive bumpers, darker wheels, and the accompanying sporty kit.

In terms of powertrain, the Myvi “SE” should be powered by the same 2NR-VE 1.5 litre engine that makes 102 hp at 6,000 rpm and 136 Nm of torque at 4,200 rpm. The engine is mated to a four-speed E-AT automatic transmission, driving the front wheels. Like the rest of the Myvi range, it should also be classified as an Energy Efficient Vehicle (EEV).

With Perodua now putting more emphasis on safety, expect the Myvi SE, or any variant of its equivalence to come with Advanced Safety Assist (ASA) as well, if not the more sophisticated ASA 2.0 that’s available on the Aruz 1.5 Advance. What do you think? Are you disappointed? Let us know, below.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• the driver on Jul 17, 2019 at 1:48 pm

Too costly, probably in his own mind. A reputable tuning firm can easily increase by around 15% (by increasing efficiency) and still maintain similar fuel consumption and reliability. Charge a bit more for what is merely a small increase in cost and watch the sales (and reputation) go through the roof.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • Intellectual Properties Supervisor on Jul 17, 2019 at 6:07 pm

Japanese masters toyota prohibits P2 tampering factory spec engine.

• Mutumayam on Jul 21, 2019 at 12:02 am

15% efficiency yes, horsepower I don’t think so if you’re talking maintaining consumption and reliability. Not so easy to get it, unless a forced induction engine. It is still achievable but cost prohibits. Smoother intake exhaust tracts during production, better plugs etc. price will shoot up. Also charge so much for what? A puny 100+ hp for such premium price.

• Myvi SE adorned with 17″ rims, perf decals, sports mafla & bodikit. MY highway king !

• Cooldown on Jul 17, 2019 at 2:05 pm

All these……….. bespoke wide body kit, sports suspension, huge 17-inch wheels with 205/40 Bridgestone Adrenalin RE003 tyres, Brembo brakes, carbon-fibre parts, as well as leather bucket seats, a unique D-shaped steering wheel, and extensive use of leather and Alcantara……… No need to add larrr. Body kits only is enuff. And sunroof also can lar.
    Those brembo, sport suspension, carbon fibre, 17 rims n tyre all can get aftermarket. Like that also cann think meh? Like lastime my se and extreme ler. Biar body kits nampak wild, other other stuff tu aftermarket people sure go n buy. Then cheap to build.

• P2 pls on Jul 18, 2019 at 3:47 am

Just better engine and gear box 5/6 speed auto 1st good enough … Then call myvi SE/ GT/ Advanced… X50 coming with dual clutch n turbo engine….

• Nasi goreng on Jul 17, 2019 at 2:19 pm

Slighty expensive is still fine because this game changer is already tested and proven. I can guarantee if Perodua release this game changing Myvi GT, Iriz will be instantly game over

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 41
  • panjang on Jul 17, 2019 at 2:23 pm

Make it a limited edition lah…Surely die hard fan will buy it. The RM100k over Neo is sold out right?

Its called good brand advertisement to show capability in automotive engineering which will translate into sale (hopefully).

This is why P2 is not a car manufacturer in my book. They are just another assembly plant. They make good car for local market and thats it. Well,maybe their parent told them to be comfortable with what they have and just listen to the parent.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • Rejang on Jul 18, 2019 at 10:49 am

P1 Neo is using CAMPRO, there are free to tune and mod the engine without hindrance . Meanwhile P2 uses Toyota engine, do you think Toyota allows P2 to mess with there engine?

• Myvigt on Jul 17, 2019 at 2:41 pm

P2, just gv the front bumper, side skirt, rear bumper and rear spoiler of the myvi GT for next myvi se is ok already. And the clear tail light too. Just make it come with standard 15″ rims like current se and advanced model is good enough, or maybe design a new patern 15″ rims. And standard myvi current suspension is good enough. Others stuff that cause it to be costly to build are not necessary. Sunroof is yes for me lols.

• kuluk on Jul 17, 2019 at 2:42 pm

Another king of highway will be born

• Celup King on Jul 17, 2019 at 5:38 pm

Oh sorry. I read that as; Auta king of highway will be born

• eeeriz on Jul 17, 2019 at 3:01 pm

Brembo brakes? You’ve got to be kidding… a normal ventilated discs all around are sufficient to stop a 102hp car…sigh..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Throw in the HRV 1.2 turbo engine… This thing can fly…

• Throw in the CHR 1.2 turbo engine… This thing can fly…

• P2 pls on Jul 17, 2019 at 4:03 pm

Hopefully come with better gear box with minimum 5 or 6 speed or 7 speed cvt, 1.2L turbo engine, better sound system, now a days android player already cheap and affordable..

• legitbanana on Jul 17, 2019 at 4:19 pm

Cilok Golf R steering wheel for the concept car lol funny la you P2

Since it’s a hypercar, why not cilok Aventador’s steering wheel instead haha

• Hebat!

• Simon on Jul 17, 2019 at 5:03 pm

Just throw in the tyre plus rim combo and the sunroof would be an ideal myvi se

• Malaysian on Jul 17, 2019 at 6:52 pm

Just wait for next generation perodua 5-seater SUV, that will be more interesting than the myvi!!

• t(-_- t) on Jul 17, 2019 at 7:42 pm

Who the heck designated these excessive specs to begin with, I wonder? It’s a daily car with a not that powerful engine, why so grand like it was some sort of sports car? Brembo brakes (1 sec stopping time, Lmao), Sunroof (Our weather is scorching hot la), Alcantara (Premium la? Luxury la?), Bucket seats (Cornering like a pro?), Big wheels (Our potholes send their regards), Bridgestone tires (Go for Pirelli/Michelin la sports car wannabe right?), Carbon fibers (Others are using CF for weight saving, we use for extravagant style with no purpose lol), Weird shape steering (Poser much?). Why don’t you include “Blinker-Fluid” in the package as well while you’re at it. Specs are just for the sake of “make-up” only, not design philosophy whatsoever. Clown Myvi.

• a myvi driver on Jul 17, 2019 at 9:16 pm

I would trade all interior and exterior decoration bits (except for the brakes and larger tyres) for a turbo-charger and 6 speed transmission system

• Ji Kao on Jul 17, 2019 at 9:22 pm

Give it a 6 speed gear box, it will be a much better car.

• Thank god for that!

• Kamil on Jul 17, 2019 at 9:51 pm

Forget those stupid body kits…give us a manual transmission and bump up the output a bit to something like 120 bhp…now that will be less boring and affordable..

• Sepot turbo on Jul 17, 2019 at 10:02 pm

Why not plunk in turbocharged engine…coz in japan all highend daihatsu model got turbo engine…

• Linda Jam on Jul 18, 2019 at 2:41 am

The comment section in paultan is and has been not more than just keyboard battle between proton and perodua cyber troopers or sales agent. We as consumer seeing it as pathetic.. disgusting and childish.. it is just perodua and proton for fak sake..but you’re behaving like it is a bmw vs mercedes or something..open your eyes and get a life

• Bought 1 new myvi a year ago….very disappointed with the quality of the car…barely 10k km car started to have squeaking sound…send numerous times to service centre to check…always came back with same answer…’no sound ah’…yes fking hallucinating….damm…complaint to hq…so response….my advice…dun buy perodua car….try proton….considering to trade in for x50 depends in price…

• I’ve been using my 1st gen myvi around 4-5 years already, the mileage has reach over than 300k and it still running well and got no engine problem. Myvi is a reliable car. Dont blame on the car. Blame on yourself for not maintaining the car properly.

• francis on Jul 18, 2019 at 12:58 pm

good

• tokmoh. on Jul 18, 2019 at 5:57 pm

I.e. just bodykit, smoked lamps.

No 17″ wheels, no Brembo.

• Darth_Zoom on Jul 20, 2019 at 10:52 am

A GT car is all about performance & handling – thy should focus that,
    Macam Mat Rempit, all noise n smoke

• Perodua’s toned down version: slap on SE badges and paint the rims darker. Job done.

• Satria Neo jual ratus ribu pun org beli. Setakat MyVi GT apa la sangat..