Proton Wira 1.8 EXi DOHC – the C99 Limited Edition

Since its inception, Proton has long been involved in motorsports, competing in various racing disciplines using specifically modified versions of its road-going models. From rally racing to endurance racing, and even stints in the British Touring Car Championship, the yellow fourteen-pointed star, and later, the harimau, has seen its fair share of competition.

Naturally, all the experiences gained were applied to models that anyone could buy, and these provided owners with the best of both worlds by being capable on public roads as well as on the track.

At the recent Art of Speed event, among the numerous JDM classics and “legends,” we sighted one of Proton’s special creations at the NEAT Fest exhibition set up by NoEqual. It is none other than this, the Proton Wira C99 Limited Edition 1.8 EXi DOHC.

Specifically built to meet the homologation requirement of at least 2,500 units set by the World Rally Championship, the production time of the C99 was limited to just two years. In that time, only 2,500 units were made, with 2,450 cars finished in Majorca Black, and another 50 RS versions painted white.

While it may look unassuming, if you discount the prominent, ”tiang gol” rear spoiler, the C99 is anything but under the metal. For starters, the body gets extra welding and reinforcement bars for additional rigidity.

Under the bonnet, the naturally-aspirated, Mitsubishi-sourced 4G93P 1.8 liter DOHC engine made 140 PS (138 hp) and 167 Nm of torque, with drive going to the front wheels via a five-speed manual transmission. Additional goodies include fog lamps on the front bumper, Recaro seats at the front, leather trim for the Momo steering wheel and gear knob, plus 14-inch alloy wheels from AAC.

The rare RS version, which we’ve yet to see in person, does away with the Momo and Recaro items, but benefits from a different engine management system that has a more aggressive mapping, and abandons the rev and speed limiters. These cars were primarily sold to racing teams, which can then proceed to prepare them by stripping out the interior and adding on a rollcage and racing suspension.

The C99 is indeed quite a special car, even if it doesn’t give you that impression at first glance. Lest we forget, seven-time Formula 1 world champion Michael Schumacher drove a rally-prepped example belonging to fellow Malaysian Suriya Sankaran many years ago.

During the impromptu test drive, which was from the Pan Pacific Hotel in Sepang to the Cyberjaya Lodge following a press conference, the Regenmeister managed to take the car to a speed of 236 km/h. A hero car for us Malaysians, don’t you think?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• That same 1.8Exi Dohc engine in Putra coupe. Proton Wira Thomas Cup Edition blue colour, my current ride still goin strong as ever. The best of Proton cars forever during Mitsubishi era

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 4
  • 4G63T DSM on Jul 29, 2019 at 7:10 pm

Not sure what is so special about this other than its limited production number…

The Satria GTI and Putra were better cars and the real stars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 52
    • One big difference was the RS which is ready with built in rollcage mounts. You don’t get that in Satria GTI nor Putra.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
      • 4G63T DSM on Jul 30, 2019 at 2:30 pm

Not like you can actually buy the RS, can you?

• Donno on Jul 31, 2019 at 9:30 am

There is no built in rollcage mounts in the RS. The only special thing about the RS is the Wira 1.3 spec interior and the white paint.

• Donno on Jul 31, 2019 at 2:45 pm

The RS does not come with built in rollcage mounts. The difference of the normal EXi with RS version is cheapo Wira 1.3 interior (because that will be binned anyway when converted into a racecar) and white exterior paint.

• Copy Paste on Aug 03, 2019 at 10:34 pm

“These cars were primarily sold to racing teams, which can then proceed to prepare them by stripping out the interior and adding on a rollcage and racing suspension.”

• Tun F on Jul 29, 2019 at 8:45 pm

Kaki kebas love Satria GTI and Putra cuz better

• Ghani on Jul 29, 2019 at 9:05 pm

“236km/h”
      You read it right here. Those cars you mentioned cuts out about 180km/h (ECU throttle). So this screaming beast have a 50km/h unlocked advantage. That is special enough

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • Rizal on Jul 30, 2019 at 10:11 pm

Just install Pivot Speed meter or Apexi equivalent, it came with speed cut. Managed to Vmax my Putra to 193kmh. Not dare to go further.

• C99 wira have a 260kmp meter

• Jason Wong on Jul 30, 2019 at 3:31 pm

This is because of WRC’s regulation for production car category, must have at least 2500 car on the road in order to join that particular category.

• Cik Ana Nimus on Jul 30, 2019 at 4:55 pm

C99 LE chassis.. One purpose only.. For Rally Championship..

• Donno on Jul 31, 2019 at 9:57 am

The special thing about this is that it can be raced/rallied in FIA sanctioned event in Group N or Group A, and that means up to world rally championship level. You cannot (in the 90s) show up with a GTi or a Putra and hope to be allowed to rally in WRC.

There is only a few Protons with FIA homologations, They are
      – Wira 1.6
      – Wira 1.8
      – Satria 1.3
      – Satria 1.6
      – Satria Neo 1.6
      – Proton Wira 4WD turbo (VO Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 1-3)
      – Proton PERT (VO Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 5-6)
      – Proton PERT (VO Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 7)

So you can actually register on a rally with a Lancer Evo 7 as a Proton PERT and FIA will allow that. VO means Variant Option ,and Mitsubishi tells FIA in the homologation document that it sells the Lancer Evo in Malaysia as a Proton.

Cheating? Well Perodua also did that with the Mira L210S (Mira turbo 4WD), registering it as a PERODUA KANCIL in the FIA homologation documents.

What is a FIA homologation? It is to tell FIA that the car is a mass produced version (not a special one off) of at least 2,500 cars per annum that anyone can buy at the showroom. The car to be raced/rallied need to be exactly like in the homologation documents.

Example of a homologation document

https://historicdb.fia.com/sites/default/files/car_attachment/1486807201/homologation_form_number_5541_group_n.pdf

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • JLT 8119 on Jul 29, 2019 at 8:05 pm

167nm of torque from the 1.8 engine, but this car, along with the Putra and Satria GTi were real dashyat cars lah. Those were the days…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
  • Suriya Sankaran on Jul 29, 2019 at 8:17 pm

every day I say my prayers for Shumi’s recovery and he will be back again to ride in the rally prepared Wira 1.8 that he drove back in 2003

PDP1616 @ KickingDust

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 3
  • Gerard bro. The reason why u dun see RS is cuz they alredi turn into track/rally cars, so they r not road legal. And with the passing, I guess most of them r no longer raceworthy, scrapped or hidden in collectors garage.

• Oh and Gerard bro. Whats the mileage clocked on that car? Any chance to take a peek at that?

• Dylan Ch'ng on Jul 29, 2019 at 9:06 pm

Since you guys got so close to the car with permission to shot with one door open, I wished the gallery was more extensive

• Why can’t the R3 division adopt this business model? Supply track cars for customer team. That way we can see more proton competing in the MSS rather than relying on the factory backed team only and R3 can generate income for proton as well.

• What an enlightenment. Was kinda wondering why was there such a model in the wira. But it was not tuned by Lotus right?

• Untung Manyak Wang on Jul 29, 2019 at 11:17 pm

Wiralution 2jz+67T

• Guna Ragu 78 on Jul 29, 2019 at 11:55 pm

My dream can when im was in form5…..thinking about this tiang gol…..was 85k i guess and was upset when my late dad bought Toyota SEG at last…….

• Ben Yap on Jul 30, 2019 at 12:40 am

I doubt this proton wira is in standard form. for it to hit 236 kmph, it has to be modified. no way a standard car can hit that speed. i read somewhere that 1.8 manual version top speed is about 205 to 210 kmph only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
    • rally_fan (Member) on Jul 30, 2019 at 8:42 am

I owned one for 11 years.. did well over 330,000km on it.. tracked it (did the legendary CCT events at BT3), autocross, gymkhana, driven daily for work and everything else.. balik kampung.. car never gave me any problems. and believe me.. in stock form.. 220km/h is easy so 236 might have been possible. you might have “read it”, but we past and present owners lived it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
    • Suriya Sankaran on Jul 30, 2019 at 11:05 am

It was stock engine Ben. Group N rally prepared car. In my personal drive I’ve achieved a similar top speed of 210/215 km/h. Perhaps due to max dash of 2-3 km distance span.

Michael was driving the car with ease and confident, firmly flat on the pedal throughout the full journey. I’ve never tried this feat and perhaps would never achieve it too.

• Medic on Jul 30, 2019 at 11:50 am

Downhill possible

• Suriya Sankaran on Jul 30, 2019 at 12:08 pm

It’s stock engine Ben. Only it’s exhaust done up. Group N Production car.

On my personal attempt, I’ve achieved max speed of 210 / 215 km/h. It’s due perhaps we only hold to speed a max of 2-3km’s distance.

Michael was driving calmly flat out on the pedal through most of the journey, Pan Pac to Cyberjaya Lodge. I would not be able to do or replicate his feat.

The speedo was read by Juan Carlos seated at the rear seat. I was seated on left front and know that the car has breached over 230km/h

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
      • Donno on Jul 31, 2019 at 2:39 pm

Only a few can say that their car was driven to the max by Schumacher, with Montoya riding shotgun too.

2 F1 world champions, in a very special Proton Wira.

• Suriya Sankaran on Jul 31, 2019 at 11:40 pm

true…I would never imagine that someone could drive a car to max and melt all the 4 outer & inner drive-shaft booths. The Shell Retinax grease was boiled till it became lubricant

When I took over the car, after a few km’s denso air condition seized as there no more compressor lube oil !

Indeed there was a cost to repair , but the ride with 5 times World Champion driving the Proton supersedes the pain

• Brian on Aug 01, 2019 at 2:01 am

FYI Montoya have never won the world title.

• panjang on Jul 30, 2019 at 9:30 am

I really want to see the RS version in flesh.

Please let it be somewhere out there an RS model still in virgin condition…very slim chance but please…

• Donno on Jul 31, 2019 at 10:11 am

No idea if there is anyone who kept a bone stock RS version. But these are the FIA homologation documents for Wira 1.8EXi

Don’t look at all the unicorn parts for Group A. It is not supplied with the stock car, just pictures of allowable modification to Group A specs when you show up at a rally.

http://historicdb.fia.com/sites/default/files/car_attachment/1486676401/homologation_form_number_5553_group_a.pdf

https://historicdb.fia.com/sites/default/files/car_attachment/1486729201/homologation_form_number_5553_group_n.pdf

In the group N document you can see the Wira 1.8EXi (not including the wira 1.8 aeroback that is build in Pekan) is only produced between August 1995 to Febuary 1996.

• alldisc on Jul 31, 2019 at 11:07 am

Kindly google Lancer Evolution RS, which is the race spec of the road going GSR. White colour, steel wheels. 5 speed manual. no niceties inside but bare

• Pearjai on Jul 31, 2019 at 4:05 am

Wira c99 use mmc com/box while putra n satria gti use siemen com/box….

• alldisc on Jul 31, 2019 at 11:10 am

To those with deep history of proton card will quickly note the front headlamps are not originally used by the C99 but it first appeared on the wira C98 millennium edition 1.6, later C98 thomas cup before settling in on all Wira SE models (C97 1.5)

• donno on Jul 31, 2019 at 2:32 pm

If you want to be pedantic, a few items added or missing from this Wira 1.8EXi.

– Added smoked headlamp, not on original 1.8EXi
      – Added bumper lips. Bumper lips originally only on Proton Putra.
      – Missing side stickers that adorn the bottom half of the doors.

• C99 owner on Aug 11, 2019 at 12:59 pm

bumper lip tu c99 memang ada

• Hasni azila on Nov 01, 2021 at 6:27 am

Hai nk tanya kt mn sy blh cr benkul utk baik pulih kereta wira 1.8 sy..sy tinggl di kalumpang selangor