REVIEW: G29 BMW Z4 sDrive30i – RM480k in Malaysia

The new G29 BMW Z4 was introduced in Malaysia earlier this year, and ahead of the local launch, we headed out to Australia to take this roadster for a spin. The topless, two-seater, front-engined, rear-wheel drive sports car is even more relevant now, as its closely-related cousin, the hotly-anticipated Toyota GR Supra, has also just been launched.

Surprisingly, the BMW is almost RM90,000 cheaper than the Toyota, at RM479,800 for the sDrive30i M Sport. But whereas the Supra is powered by a 3.0 litre turbocharged straight-six, the Z4 gets the same 2.0 litre B48 four-pot as the 330i, making 258 hp and 400 Nm of torque. Just like the Supra, drive is sent to the rear wheels via a ZF eight-speed automatic gearbox, and it gets from zero to 100 km/h in 5.4 seconds.

The collaboration with Toyota has allowed Munich to focus on the car’s sporting characteristics. It has ditched the outgoing E89’s heavy folding metal roof for a lightweight soft top, and has also cut some 26 mm out of the wheelbase for greater agility. Under the skin, you’ll find double-jointed MacPherson strut front suspension and a five-link setup at the rear, with rigid suspension and subframe mountings at the front, a front axle tuned to improve steering precision and handling and lots of aluminium components for reduced unsprung weight.

Standard equipment includes LED headlights with auto high beam, 18-inch Style 798 M two-tone alloy wheels, M Sport suspension, Variable Sport Steering, keyless entry, push-button start, power-adjustable M Sport seats with memory, aluminium trim, leather upholstery, dual-zone climate control, the Live Cockpit Professional system with twin 10.25-inch displays, a 12-speaker Harman Kardon sound system, a reverse camera and a Parking Assistant with Reversing Assist. Still no autonomous emergency braking, mind.

So, what is BMW’s new sports car like to drive? Watch the video above and let our man Matthew Tong take you on a ride to see what’s what. You can also browse full specifications and equipment of the new G29 BMW Z4 on CarBase.my.

GALLERY: G29 BMW Z4 sDrive30i M Sport in Malaysia

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Chris Lai on Oct 04, 2019 at 4:07 pm

for show off, just get this Z4 and save some money to spend on some add on kits

• KL Touge (2020) on Oct 04, 2019 at 4:13 pm

Supra powered by 3.0 litre turbocharged straight-six. rare…. lejen jalanan…

• Please use proper footage and not use a promo videos. Please be more consistent with the video versus what the presenter is talking about. (i.e. using a 4.0i promo video whilst talking about the 3.0i).

Also, the price comparison you made is abit ignorant. Surely a 2.0 model is cheaper than a 3.0 model right? (especially when the engine and GB comes from the same manufacturer) What you expect? Same price?

not one of Paultan’s better postings…… :/

• David on Oct 04, 2019 at 4:59 pm

Sans the 3 litre engine, but it’s still 90k cheaper than the Toyota. Proves that the Toyota version is simply overpriced. Toyota Malaysia, arrogant much?

• Nearly RM500k for a car that only cost US$50k plus.(RM200k)

In Malaysia, totally cannot afford such cars. This is why you will see just 1 or 2 on the road.

• Abang2 Sambung Bayar on Oct 04, 2019 at 6:20 pm

I better buy a 2nd hand Porsche 911 Carrera S (2007) for RM150k

The balance I save, I can buy Opal insurance for 5 years.

I still save about RM250k and yet, I will be more happening when I drive my Porsche

BMW still got no appeal with chics, but Porsche is Porsche la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
    • Before you think of buying 911 (2007), you need easily 100k for DP and repayment max will be 3 yrs. If you have 150 cash by all means go ahead but be prepared another 50k for the rest of wear and tear. OPAL insurance they only insured certain parts, and all this 3rd party warranty insurance are just gimmick. Don’t just say la….know the details before u bash. Keyboard Warrior!!

• Sohai on Oct 05, 2019 at 2:09 pm

Buying luxury sportcars are mostly not about saving money as the main objective. And there is always that satisfaction of owning a new car than an used one.

Sometimes you got to follow your heart on what you really love.

A 10 year old Porsche would come with its own quirkiness and maintenance, that can be distracting to the overall ownership.

• thefact on Oct 05, 2019 at 6:21 pm

sure bro…12 years old car, no issues what so ever…good luck with the parts :)

• digidigi on Oct 05, 2019 at 7:53 pm

Never compare new car to secondhand or recon car laaaa

• Dinified Proton Power owner on Oct 06, 2019 at 8:44 pm

My modded proton gti will smoke kaw2 this bmw….I know I cant afford the bmw, but I feel very happy and dignified being able to smoke it with easy..

• Might as well wait for the cla45 4secs or just 2nd hand cla45 half the price still faster, more practical, cheaper roadtax