Proton flood relief assistance programme – 20% discount on parts and labour, RM200 rebate for towing

Proton has announced a special flood relief assistance programme for Proton owners whose vehicles have been affected or were damaged during the recent floods.

The national automaker is offering a 20% discount on selected parts as well as a 20% discount on labour charges for all its flood-affected customers who have lodged a police report regarding the incident. Additionally, towing charges of up to RM200 as well as cleaning charges of up to RM100 for the exterior and engine bay will be borne by the company.

“The floods have affected thousands and especially hit hard in Selangor and Shah Alam where Proton is headquartered. Many of our customers have seen their homes and businesses damaged by flood waters and this extends to their cars as well. Therefore, Proton would like to offer customers a helping hand to get them back on the road and to show them they are our main priority,” said Proton Edar CEO Roslan Abdullah.

“Proton will work hard to ensure it can repair cars as quickly as possible and advises all affected customers to visit our authorised service centres to enjoy these benefits. Furthermore, our genuine parts are offered with a warranty, so customers can be assured of the quality of the repairs,” he added.

The automaker said its production lines were spared from flooding, but said that more than 1,000 of its staff had been affected, and in response to that was mobilising Kelab Proton, its in-house social and well-being organisation for all its staff, to create care packages and offer clean up assistance to affected employees.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• newme on Dec 22, 2021 at 12:00 pm

20%? Proton shouldn’t have any problem announcing 80% discount because they will always no parts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
    • Sabrikor JV Amirkor on Dec 22, 2021 at 6:12 pm

I thot when Dr.Li came ,things have turned around.
      How come spare parts problem again?
      It must be the DRB dudes who are playing politics,instead of fixing the problem.
      A leopard has spots.P1 has mutated spots that refuse to change.

• Spin Too Much on Dec 23, 2021 at 12:21 am

Don’t big bluff lah!

• Mantap Proton for helping owners affected by floods

• The problem is if they actually have the parts or not, lol.

• Panglima Kiri Kanan on Dec 22, 2021 at 3:52 pm

How would you know? You don’t even own a Proton.

• Spin Too Much on Dec 23, 2021 at 4:20 pm

How would you know who here owns what car?

• Panglima Kiri Kanan on Dec 26, 2021 at 7:40 pm

Hmm.. you’re right, I don’t know that if I’m not a psychic! But since I AM, then I KNOW. It’s been 4 days since the comment and there’s no reply like “actually I own one/two/bunch.. it’s new; 2/3 years old car and I’m in need of parts at the current moment but being told to wait for ___ day/week/month/year”. So, as they say, “quiet means true”.

• Only Cash on Dec 22, 2021 at 5:15 pm

I called Proton on this, it is for cash-only transaction

• Logical Deduction on Dec 23, 2021 at 10:49 am

Just tell them Johnny Cash already died almost 20 years ago & insist that they take credit/debit card or e-wallet.