Proton targets 150k sales in 2022, says Li Chunrong

In a seemingly inane Facebook post, Proton CEO Li Chunrong let slip that he plans for the national carmaker to sell 150,000 vehicles in 2022. This would be an increase of more than 30% over the company’s performance last year, during which the company sold a total of 114,708 vehicles, including 3,108 exports.

Proton has been on an upward trajectory in terms of sales since its low of 64,744 units in 2018, cresting the 100,000-unit mark every year after. Still, this would be quite a jump to make – last year’s sales grew by a mere 4.5% over 2020’s numbers, although this was hampered by a number of issues such as the lengthy movement control order and the devastating December floods that haltered SUV production.

It will be banking on new product to generate that growth, which will almost certainly be led by a seven-seater SUV based on the Geely Haoyue/Okavango, widely tipped to be called the X90. The Geely version has been spied roaming about rather frequently in recent months, fuelling speculation of an impending launch.

The Saga is also expected to receive yet another upgrade (including what looks to be keyless entry and push-button start), while 2022 will be the first full year of sales for the facelifted Iriz and Persona, which would help make up the numbers.

Proton will also be hoping for exports to drive some of that volume, building on the slow but steady growth in recent years. The company plans to make the big jump to selling in Southeast Asia’s largest markets, Thailand and Indonesia, although Chunrong has previously said that he wants Proton to snatching the lead in the Malaysian market from Perodua first.

Even so, the company has just signed a distributorship deal with smart to sell the latter’s new range of electric vehicles – not just in Malaysia, but crucially in Thailand as well. This means that Proton will have to build up a dealer network to support sales of the part-German, part-Chinese cars in the Land of Smiles, making it easier to sell its own vehicles.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Raja Celup on Feb 03, 2022 at 12:04 pm

Phillipines also Southeast Asia market but using Geely logo, so why not just change to Proton logo. Left-hand drive but with Proton logo, nothing wrong rite? Lmao.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Feb 03, 2022 at 12:26 pm

Mantap Proton! Kegemaran rakyat Malaysia dulu kini selamanya!

• Celup King on Feb 03, 2022 at 12:43 pm

Key to note, that may just be a humble understatement from a CEO not talking through his rear hole. *Looks at P2 CEO with their multiple target revision downwards*

In the 9 effective working months of 2021, Proton sold a monthly average of 12,600 cars so if they had the full fat 12 months to work with in 2022, they could easily break their 2022 target of 150k. Mind you, 40% will be skewed to the upper car segments with better profitability unlike P2 80% sales coming from base segments with low profits.

• Celup Queen on Feb 03, 2022 at 7:55 pm

you are too obsessed with hating P2. you can just complain on other forums you know

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
      • Dredd on Feb 04, 2022 at 2:40 pm

https://paultan.org/2022/01/04/proton-x50-x70-best-selling-suv-in-malaysia-2021/
        https://paultan.org/2022/01/04/perodua-ativa-and-aruz-26847-and-15313-units-sold-in-2021-respectively-suvs-make-up-22-of-p2-sales/
        Celup only obsession with the truth. Truth prevails. Dredd agrees.

• Albert Einstein Sr on Feb 03, 2022 at 1:25 pm

Dr.Li..I cant see how an extra 35000 units is achievable,even if u bring in X90 by mid year.The persona ,iriz and mpv are not moving fast enough.
    The Saga is selling cos it is the cheapest in its category.X50and X70 have its followers.The X90 wont be bread and butter seller cos of its premium pricing.
    Perhaps 135000 units for 2020 is more realistic,bearing in mind P2 is launching a few competitive ones.

• Dong Gor on Feb 03, 2022 at 1:50 pm

Keep the momentum going… A competitive market is always good for consumers.

• Raja Kamarul on Feb 03, 2022 at 2:55 pm

It would be a stretch – a massive stretch – but go for it, P1.

• Disappointing waiting time for their cars especially the persona premium they are saying up to six months why?

• target tinggi, tp bila time nak servis x50 sparepart xde…

• Amran on Feb 03, 2022 at 11:47 pm

Don’t be like that lah.. Everyone oso got supply chain problem..

• jusknittin on Feb 04, 2022 at 10:22 am

What is the so called spare part that is unavailable when you’re doing your service? Engine oil, oil filter (can these be considered as spare part though)? I doubt that you’re doing a major service for a car that you’ve just owned for a few months, or at most, a year. Even if you are, I’m guessing the spare parts required are just some general ones available. But if you’re saying that even the general spare parts are unavailable, that’s a problem indeed.

• X70 Buyer on Feb 04, 2022 at 2:48 pm

As an owner and X70 FB member, I can say that is fake news, personally have not experienced shortages or such and no members I knew has as well. There was a long waiting list during restart after FMCO last year but that is more due to less technicians and limiting daily number of customers. Everyone faced the same so it was understandable. But parts issues? No such thing!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
        • PlainBS on Feb 05, 2022 at 7:52 am

https://paultan.org/2021/03/02/proton-working-round-the-clock-to-revamp-aftersales/

If it was fake news, there would not be this PT article about them acknowledging that they have this problem & trying to fix it.

• Truckers on Feb 07, 2022 at 8:38 am

That was nearly a year ago lar. What parts issue TODAY?

• totoya_hodna_sukuzi on Feb 07, 2022 at 10:53 am

But that’s like almost a year ago. I presume they haven’t rectify the issue yet? Also, it’s in the midst of the whole Covid+PKP stuffs, right? Still, the bashers are always like that, aren’t they? They’ll feed on the issue as long as possible even if it’s being rectified ages ago, much like the power window issue.

• PlainBS on Feb 07, 2022 at 12:53 pm

When they say it’s fake news, it means it’s untrue because it’s not possible to have happened, or it has not happened in the past, whether it was yesterday, last week, last month, last year, or even last century.

• totoya_hodna_sukuzi on Feb 08, 2022 at 11:36 am

Ahh.. that’s a valid point.

• Not Toyota Fan on Feb 03, 2022 at 6:41 pm

Ambitious considering the current economic situation but lets see at 31 Dec 2022.

• Gabriel on Feb 03, 2022 at 7:58 pm

Settle your spare parts issue first la…

• Copy Paste on Feb 04, 2022 at 4:17 pm

Copy paste: “What is the so called spare part that is unavailable when you’re doing your service? Engine oil, oil filter (can these be considered as spare part though)? I doubt that you’re doing a major service for a car that you’ve just owned for a few months, or at most, a year. Even if you are, I’m guessing the spare parts required are just some general ones available.”

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 04, 2022 at 3:14 pm

Solve your x70 spare parts issue first

• Copy Paste on Feb 04, 2022 at 4:22 pm

Copy paste: “As an owner and X70 FB member, I can say that is fake news, personally have not experienced shortages or such and no members I knew has as well. There was a long waiting list during restart after FMCO last year but that is more due to less technicians and limiting daily number of customers. Everyone faced the same so it was understandable. But parts issues? No such thing!”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 07, 2022 at 4:14 pm

stop daydreaming brother. otherwise you’re gonna miss your rapidkl stop

• improve your sales & service first.. thats making buyer thinks twice… its either no spare parts or long delay… what the use promoting new cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4