Gov’t approves three highway projects in Klang Valley – PJD Link, Putrajaya-Bangi expressway and KL NODE

The government says it has approved the construction of three new highways to address congestion around the Klang Valley. In principle, approval has been given to the Petaling Jaya traffic dispersal elevated highway (PJD Link), the Bangi-Putrajaya Expressway (BPE) and the Kuala Lumpur northern dispersal expressway (KL NODE).

According to works minister Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof, the construction of these new highways would create alternative routes for road users and to ease traffic congestion due to the increase in the number of vehicles. He said that it is hoped that with these new highways, connectivity within the Klang Valley will improve.

He said that these projects were among several proposals made by the private sector, and that other proposals are still under consideration, both Utusan Malaysia and Sinar Harian report. He added that any new highway would also have to follow a development plan, based on a five-year study.

“We will continue to look into the other proposals and hope the private sector will comply with the set requirements and conditions once approval has been granted,” he said.

Fadillah however said that the government could not guarantee that the construction of these new highways would alleviate the problem of road congestion due to the increasing number of vehicles on the road. He said that if the number of vehicles increase, traffic jams would continue to persist despite the new highways, and suggested that commuters look at public transport as an option, as FMT reports.

“The government is continuing to invest in public transport – such as the MRT and LRT – to ensure alternatives are available to the people. If 60% of the people use the roads while 40% use public transport, it can offset the increase in vehicle numbers and potentially reduce traffic congestion,” he said.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Sinkie on May 24, 2022 at 11:10 am

Hopefully the safety of highway construction in Malaysia can be further improved to Zero Accidents.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Civic Turbo 2018 on May 24, 2022 at 11:39 am

Follow his theory, we should push more people to use public transport instead of building more highways!?!?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
      • Indeed you are correct, the Govt are doing a two-prong approach. While they insist KV residents should use more public transports, it is also giving people options rather than arbitrary pushing them in that direction and I believe this is the best scenario for everyone. Those who prefer public transportation will use it while those who prefer to drive can still do so at ease with the new highways but they have been warned that it is temporary with more and more cars thus such convenience will not be permanent. The long term solution for everyone is really about using maximising public transports.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
        • Dear KV residents, kindly be patient and have faith in government to enjoy benefits of near future as planned.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 24
          • Norlia on May 24, 2022 at 3:21 pm

Well… provided we maintain the same stability as 60 years Gov and not change on a whim and fancy again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 15
          • Yes this is the cleanest gov in the world..with everyone taking a slice of the cakes leaving the rakyat with burden of making the cake…stupid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
          • Amran on May 25, 2022 at 12:30 pm

Lu tak sukak makan kek, lu makanlah karipap. Xde org pon paksa lu makan kek. Buatpe marah sini. Topkek betui.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
        • Vision on May 24, 2022 at 2:07 pm

Excellent, A+.

1. Future construction must be safer than today, no debris should fall from sky, preventive to be maximized. More Authrotiy, Safety Officers and Supervision Team to closely monitor and Construction Works like Singapore.
          2. Public Transport, is much safer. Less accidents. Easy controlled.
          Big Data, Analysis and Inprovement will help.
          3. Future City Road, maybe belongs to AI regulated Level 5 Autonomous Pod/Van/Buses Ride Sharing EV. Maybe privately funded with heavy investment, maybe government funded.

We are heading there.
          But we still need more development even when it’s AI Autonomous era.
          We need to take back ASEAN TIGER Title one day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
          • @vision; good observations for your visionary points 1,2&3 in looking forward to a progressive mindset of humility & patience.

• Mr. Sotong on May 24, 2022 at 11:10 am

Problem is when tolled highways are built, suddenly the toll free roads become so jammed, which wasn’t before thus forcing motorists to take the tolled highways.

Go figure…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 9
    • Norlia on May 24, 2022 at 3:23 pm

The reason they are building these tolled highways because the toll free roads are already jam packed. See excerpt; these new highways would create alternative routes for road users and to ease traffic congestion due to the increase in the number of vehicles.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
  • Ben Yap on May 24, 2022 at 11:57 am

as long as the highways can increase property prices, I don’t mind.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
  • Cyberjaya Resident on May 24, 2022 at 12:19 pm

Putrajaya to Bangi so near one still need Expressway?
    Usually the traffic congestion is mainly contributed due to big lorries/trailers presence on roads during peak hours. Traffic congestion on roads/expressway can be reduced if we only allow big lorries/trailers on the road during non-peak hours.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • I have lived in Bangi/Kajang area since 2011. Believe me, SILK highway near UNITEN is getting more congested due to development in Semenyih, Bangi and Kajang. I remember around 2012, the highway would be clear around 8.30am. Nowadays, it is still packed around 9.30-10.00 am. New highway is needed badly to address traffic going to/coming from Semenyih/Bangi/Kajang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
      • True. Due to this as well, I use LDP-SKVE bit-Cyberjaya-Putrajaya-Desa Putra-Sg. Merab-Teras Jernang in order to go to work in Bangi from Puchong. Much further in distance but much faster and as less traffic compared to SKVE.

• Notice how bus wasn’t even mentioned? But that’s the problem lah – it’s back to first and last mile connectivity.

• BSP Resident on May 24, 2022 at 1:44 pm

BSP roundabout connecting ELITE and NKVE is simply an example of failed planning and design for highway inbound / outbound. And yet government announce new highway? Bottle-neck 7 toll lanes cramped into 2 lane in less than 300 meters with 24hrs of all types of heavy prime movers, low loaders and tipper. the construction activity for new flyover is evergreen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • Government should build new highway linking Seremban and Temerloh, and another linking Kuantan and Segamat. WCE, LPT and CSR must be sped up. Traffic is getting worse year by year especially during holiday and Raya seasons.

• Dear KV residents, kindly be patient and have faith in government to enjoy benefits of near future as planned.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
  • ROTI CANAI on May 24, 2022 at 2:12 pm

The pjd link is totally unnecessary and uncalled for.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
  • Land of Tolls on May 24, 2022 at 2:13 pm

There is no city in the world that doesn’t face with traffic jams issue, if your solution is to build more highways when will it be enough? Imagine KL will be zig zagging with highways! Why follow city like Tokyo and LA ? And they still facing traffic jams! We must improve the public transport in KV and change ppl’s mindset regarding taking the public transport more.

• ROTI BAKAR on May 24, 2022 at 3:10 pm

The pjd link is totally necessary and called for.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 28
  • Malaysia Resident on May 24, 2022 at 3:12 pm

How about the construction of MORR?
    It seems the construction has stopped for the past 1 year.

• Ghofor aman on May 24, 2022 at 3:27 pm

L raya bukan selesai masalah, tapi tambah masalah,jln lorong yg tdk pernah sesak jadi sesak bila bermula pembinaan dan tambah sesak bila L Raya siap. .Sebab buat ikut sedap kepala otak jurutera tertentu dan ada kepentingan orang tertentu. Contoh byk sangat laluan keluar masuk..L Raya jadi sesak jln2 utama dan lorong jadi sesak sbb kenderaan keluar masuk dari L Raya.
    Sistem yang tidak munasabah, masih ada lagi byk trafik light dan byk kenderaan potong kiu sbb dari 4-6 lorong jadi 2 lorong,kenderaan jadi berasak asak. Bayak sistem lalulintas Lraya menyusah kan penguna.
    Tengok sistem laluan di Tol Gombak ,bercelaru.

• Anony on May 24, 2022 at 3:33 pm

I think we should have more public transport like mrt/lrt more because rather than highways, malaysia don’t have highway master plan so we could see so many highways in kl in coming yeras

• Casual reader on May 24, 2022 at 10:17 pm

We did chuck the last PM that was the Father of Public Transportation out so i guess Msians just dont agree with it.

• OhLan on May 24, 2022 at 4:03 pm

Whatever highways built the highways always enter and exit the same place. bayar to enter and jam at exit.

• Shahriah on May 24, 2022 at 4:42 pm

I dont agree to build more highways around the kelang valley. U want to reduce traffic on the road, the answer is not to build more highways!!! U shd instead spend more to build more networks of underground MRTs, build more stations, connecting more places, improve the last mile connectivity by buses by increasing their schedules n services, build more highrise carparks nearest to selected MRT stations at the fringes of the city, and provide incentive for commuters to travel by MRTs eg. seamless tktg, OKU facilities, etc. If there are more highways to better connect people, then they would rather drive everywhere bcos it is more convenient!

• Frank Cracknell on May 24, 2022 at 7:01 pm

I thought the idea was ro get rid of toll plazas.Now they are building more. Where has the technology gone?

• Ex VGM staff on May 24, 2022 at 6:19 pm

Let cars coming into the city facing traffic jams. Highways only for cars going out from.city to ease the congestion

• amako on May 24, 2022 at 6:56 pm

oh no

• Ramesh on May 24, 2022 at 7:21 pm

If the manage proper timing public transportation, people will always go for it but here it’s failed, to many highways and train ways in Klang Valley are making more congested, Don’t try to impressed with stupid idea but please invest and do good management on timing of public transportation including bus and train.

• Shaman on May 24, 2022 at 9:57 pm

No matter how many highways are built, it shall
    not solve the traffic jams in Kuala Lumpur. Strengthen your public transport system and not building highways is the better approach. Proven in major cities around the world.

• Puney on May 25, 2022 at 6:42 am

How to expect people to shift to PT if you keep building highways? These highways will clog the road during construction and these same highways will be the cause city centre clogged up even more in 5 yrs time.

Great example of lesson never learnt

• Copy Paste on May 25, 2022 at 12:32 pm

Copy paste: “Indeed you are correct, the Govt are doing a two-prong approach. While they insist KV residents should use more public transports, it is also giving people options rather than arbitrary pushing them in that direction and I believe this is the best scenario for everyone. Those who prefer public transportation will use it while those who prefer to drive can still do so at ease with the new highways but they have been warned that it is temporary with more and more cars thus such convenience will not be permanent. The long term solution for everyone is really about using maximising public transports.”

• Puney on May 25, 2022 at 4:36 pm

If we want to be a developed country, we should be more focus in developing infra for public transport rather than highways. Why do we need to waste our money and resources to build both when we can solve traffic congestion by using public transport? Current PT mode share in KV is around 20% only, while other developed countries/cities are 50% and above. We have targeted to achieve PT mode share of 40% in 2030 and it is still far away from that.

Furthermore, the Gov has set the target to achieve zero carbon emission in 2050. But with more highways built in these coming years, I dont see the target can be achieved. Everytime new highways are built, it will encourage people to drive their personal car rather than taking PT.

If this situation continues, we will never achieve the target PT mode share, we will never resolve the traffic congestion, and we can never achieve the target of zero carbon emission in 2050.

• Ex Corp warrior on Sep 11, 2022 at 8:07 pm

The PT network is a work in progress, nearing completion now and hopefully all completed by end of 2023, which will connect Kelang and Shah Alam into the KV PT rail system.

This should reduce the road traffic volume to and from West KV to KL and beyond as well as enable more users to opt for the PT rail system.

A large number of the residents in Kelang and Shah Alam work in KL/PJ but cannot afford to own property near the city, so are forced to commute by road until the MRT network is completed.

Why we stopped the MRT network some years back? … this was a huge mistake for which we are suffering now.

As for this newly proposed NODE – it is the last part of the missing link to the KV outer ring road, the ORR.

The East KV Expressway, currently in progress, was the other part of the missing link.

Google these to understand the traffic management strategy.

The ORR is meant to allow traffic from the outer areas to travel to another outer area without crossing the congested inner areas.

Will both PT and the various expressways solve the traffic problems for good?

The answer is no – because available facilities will be used to the maximum to by users for convenience (as opposed to needs).

When the need to commute is reduced, globally, then traffic volume will decrease.

How to reduce the need to commute is something employers and business people can look into – for example, work from home, flexible working hours, expanded online services including shopping, are options that can make a difference in this issue.

• Ekoves hell on May 25, 2022 at 9:04 pm

You know what? Look at the damn duke3 aka SPE highway, postpone king ekovest. The Jalan ampang Great Eastern Mall junction underpass not even done since 2012! 10 years gone. Some ppl even died halfway waiting for it to complete. My son who born in 2012 is now 10 yrs old and the project still in wtf mode. And nowhere to the end. The SPE after so many years still hanging causing the multiple KL flooding due to sewage system blocked. The wangsa maju near Zetro area pavement not even care to repair and rebuild eventhough all flyover are completed.Being ignored and become mini jungle. The Suke highway also postpone for so many years. These sacker prohect causing so many ordeal to road users and damage so many car suspension. Karma will come to the heads of these ekovest etc later I hope.

• OUG guy on May 26, 2022 at 7:34 am

I think the needed most elevated highway is old klang road. The traffic there is crazy and unbelievable. How come the govt never expand there..

• Ruben R on May 28, 2022 at 10:47 pm

So many highways but congestion is still a part of everyday life. Some were just poorly designed. Not all factors or terrain were considered. Some slipways, byways whatever are placed soo closely it’s so easy to miss the junctions.
    Ask any public transport drivers they will tell you how badly some highways are.
    Besides the toll some have to pay yet get stuck in jams is ridiculous.
    Good luck with the new approved highways but hopefully the authorities concerned will study in detail at the plans and make sure it suits the purpose ít I being built for.

• KLites on Jun 20, 2022 at 2:40 am

I give 5years to gov to finish ALL phases of these projects!
    Do it in fast track with highest safety. If needed involve some entity from Japan.

• Many eVTOL companies are undergoing type certification and few are already planning for commercialization in 2024. Battery technology is also improving by leaps and bounds.

We are entering 3D mobility era. These highways will be obsolete in a decade or two.

The future is bright. We do have a lot of options on our plate.